12-14 Small Kitty - amps 374 pmps 400 +3 547 +7 434 - Staying up high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning,

Small Kitty has become the good old high zone resident since the beginning
of the week :(. His visit in the blue is strange, might have forgot something
he had go grab before getting back to the 37th floor. The food madness taking
him over is another thing that is new, he's not bad this morning because he, or
hid brother (or both) were able to bypass a home made luck for the garbage can.
They must have been attracted by the smell of blood from meat package thrown
over. It must have been very late at night because I performed a test at
+5 (11pm). He was at 337.

It doesn't make sens, he's right back from inspection and nothing wrong was
found apart from teeth (this will be fixed next week) and the 4 months old
Lantus stick has always been treated well. Although there is just a fifth
of it's content left it's transparency is still there.

Has 5 days made it's proof that 1.75 is to little insulin, with current testing
made ? Thinking sticking on it until next shot then increase to see the
result in a curve this week-end.

What to the experts think ?

Wish you a good day.

Sébastien
Yesterday
 
Last edited:
I think SK was meowing so much last night because he was in high numbers and his body was craving food. Do you have any freeze dried treats you can give him in cases like that? Or maybe some boiled chicken?

It looks like SK is being very bouncy right now and is coming down from the bounce from the blue yesterday. Technically with SLGS you are supposed to wait 7 days before you adjust the dose. However, if you don't see any green today or tonight, I'd call it a failed reduction and increase back to 2.0 units.
 
Technically with SLGS you are supposed to wait 7 days before you adjust the dose. However, if you don't see any green today or tonight, I'd call it a failed reduction and increase back to 2.0 units.
I had suggested last night to take SK back up because the reduction was not a warranted reduction technically in the first place. ( He didn't go below 90) And with failed reductions the dose doesn't have to be held for 7 day with TR. Is it different with SLGS?
 
I think SK was meowing so much last night because he was in high numbers and his body was craving food. Do you have any freeze dried treats you can give him in cases like that? Or maybe some boiled chicken?

It looks like SK is being very bouncy right now and is coming down from the bounce from the blue yesterday. Technically with SLGS you are supposed to wait 7 days before you adjust the dose. However, if you don't see any green today or tonight, I'd call it a failed reduction and increase back to 2.0 units.

I think it would be a good idea, hormones are completely unbalanced.
I tried to give him chicken treat yesterday and it calmed him down.
He was more quiet this morning. Concern I have is weight gain, might
buy chicken breast without skin or anything else and grind it for little
calming portions.

Always do a nap on the couch before leaving for the office and he slept on me until it was time to go, very quietly.
.
 
Last edited:
the reduction was not a warranted reduction technically in the first place. ( He didn't go below 90)
That's debatable since he's using an AT meter

I also wonder if he went much lower on the evening of 12/12 and is bouncing again. Looking at SK's SS he likes to have some dramatic curves with surprise visits to low blue or green at unexpected times in the cycle that would not be detected based on the preshots.

Sebastien, I think you can go back up to 2u but as always monitor as much as possible. It's ok to increase if they are bouncing but if it's done when they might break a bounce it can add extra momentum to that bounce clearing cycle.
 
That's debatable since he's using an AT meter
Karen, I forgot about him using AT and for some reason I thought Sebastien had switched to a human meter but, I looked at his SS and it doesn't indicate that. Looks like he is using Free Style Lite strips and I guess I though it was in the Freestyle meter. Thanks for catching that.
 
I hope Small Kitty comes down for you soon.

The nap with him before you head to the office sounds like a nice way to start the day. :cat:
 
Could not come home on time for the shot this pmps so Small Kitty got his shot
35min past the usual time. I fed him and his brother right after complain started
(like yesterday) with cube of raw chicken. It calmed him down but with the late
dose he's a disaster tonight. This last call that made me finish after regular shift
made the situation come worst.

Think an increase is not questionable now. Not since DKA has he come that high.
Quite discouraging, time to go sleep :(
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top