12.14 Ovie +3:49,+3.25:65,+3.75:58,+4.25:56,+4.75:65,+5.25:74,+5.75:75

Status
Not open for further replies.
The last three weeks or so of Ovie's spreadsheet are a vision of awesome blues and greens! Now you join us on the hunt for the elusive green AMPS. Bet you get one before we do! :p;) Hope you have a great day!
 
So close on that green PS number. We did have several cycles of higher blue numbers and I was like what is going on?! I was happy to see him back on the verge of green.

We shall see. :p I think Ovie just wants to be like Maggie.
 
Ovie's +2 is 69. He's eating his +2 LC mini meal and I'm going to check him again at +2.5. He's enjoying his morning. He is plotting against my parent's Christmas tree.:joyful:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2705.JPG
    IMG_2705.JPG
    67 KB · Views: 106
Things are getting interesting. At +2.5 Ov was at 74. At +3 he's at 50. I gave him a LC mini meal. He's normally pretty receptive to the LC food so we will see at +3.5.
 
Ovie has been surfing the 70s much of the day it seems. At +10 he is at 78. I have a feeling we will be shooting green tonight. If he is still this low... what would you guys do? Stall? Shoot the number?
 
+2:43

Yikes! I wasn't expecting that. I gave him 2 teaspoon of HC food. Should I feed him more? Should I be checking again in 15 minutes?
 
It's okay. A couple teaspoons is fine, but no more food just yet. Check again in 20-30 (that's how long it can take to get in his system)
 
Here's from the sticky for easy reference:

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoonor less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Thank you Stacy. It's about 30 minutes now since I've fed him last. But about 15 since the +2.25 reading. Should I poke him again now? Or wait another 10-15?
 
You can test him again now, it says 15-20 mins, I do 20-30 because Asia doesn't do anything sooner than that, but Ovie is pretty responsive.
 
So you know you can bump him up easy, now you need to learn if he stays up or tries to go back down. You should note the food brand/variety and carb content you bumped him up with in your SS (and what times and how much you gave him) and that way you can learn what foods are a good go to for hypo and what percentage of carbs does what to him
 
He's back down to 49 at +3

I'm trying a low carb snack to see if it'll bring him back up a bit. It worked in the AM when he tested at 50.

I'm trying to find the carb count FF gravy lovers turkey feast.
 
You might try a little of the 15% since he keeps bobbing up, down, up, down like that around the 50. He's earned a reduction, no need to keep teasing the sharks! :p
 
You might try a little of the 15% since he keeps bobbing up, down, up, down like that around the 50. He's earned a reduction, no need to keep teasing the sharks! :p
Will do. Hopefully he'll eat it without a fuss. He was like what is this?! When I gave it to him earlier. :joyful:

Yes. We don't want to swim with the sharks anymore lol
 
Will do. Hopefully he'll eat it without a fuss. He was like what is this?! When I gave it to him earlier. :joyful:

Yes. We don't want to swim with the sharks anymore lol
If he turns his nose up, you can always add some honey/karo/maple syrup to his food that he does like, just a drop or two should do and he probably won't even notice it. Asia notices the honey in her Rad cat food, but the FF gravy kind is so stinky, if I add it to that, she's oblivious :joyful:
 
If he turns his nose up, you can always add some honey/karo/maple syrup to his food that he does like, just a drop or two should do and he probably won't even notice it. Asia notices the honey in her Rad cat food, but the FF gravy kind is so stinky, if I add it to that, she's oblivious :joyful:
He ate the 2 tsp I gave him. Earlier when I gave him the HC he was like what is this? And mostly ate the gravy.

That's a good idea with the honey and mask it. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top