12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 PMBG 47!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Last night, when I got home from work around 6 pm, I saw that Mikey hadn't yet discovered his afternoon batch of food had opened so I reset the timer on it for 7:30 pm, when his next shot was due. I had my brother do his PMPS in preparation for my business trip next week and Mikey was at 181 on the ReliOn Prime, which runs ~10-20 points lower than the Micro and Accuchek Nano. I figured this would be a perfect trial run for him on what to do if Mikey was under 200 at shot time. That is, if he wanted to do it properly instead of just skipping the shot entirely, which is another option I've given him.

We continued testing Mikey and at around +12.5, Mikey found his leftover food from the afternoon had opened up that I had forgotten about. :oops: Even still, I wasn't too worried about the effect of food on his BG numbers because his PMPS was already borderline 200 on the Prime and the spot-check tests we got in before he ate the food showed he was still on his way up.

When my brother finally gave Mikey his shot at +13, he said he felt wetness and smelled insulin so it might have been a fur shot. I checked, and also smelled/felt that the insulin didn't go in. Another perfect chance to train my brother on this scenario as well: DON'T give another shot. So, I think that's why his numbers ran high last night (and this morning).

I also weighed him yesterday and this morning and I think it's safe to bump up his "official" weight from the ~7.8 pounds he's been carrying since the beginning of the month to a solid 8 pounds! :thumbup

Question: I've only ever free-fed dry kibble in the past (I didn't know any better! :oops: ) so I've never paid attention to any of my previous kittens' calorie consumption besides making sure their food bowl was full. Now, dealing with a diabetically ravenous kitten, what is the general recommendation for feeding kittens? Do you wait till a year or till a certain weight or size before switching them to regular adult food/regular calorie consumption? Or do you wait till they stop growing? Mikey's a Maine Coon...so five years? :lol:
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 - Kitten feeding ?

He's coming down nicely already and it was a good experience to explain furshots. It happens to all of us.

Kittens don't need special food, just more of it. As they get older they need fewer calories per pound. This site has a good chart on calorie needs of cats at different ages, about 1/4 of the way down the page. Max's House
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 - Kitten feeding ?

Good to hear that you are training your brother and getting issues out the way now. I would feed Mickey as much as he wants, given he is diabetic and not as regulated as we would like, we don't want him starving and it impacting his development. But it sounds like you can move him to adult food at any time. I never bothered feeding kitten food to any of my cats.. And at 8 months he is now a teen anyway right?
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 - Kitten feeding ?

Gizmo was about 6 mos. old when Gabby was diagnosed. I tried giving them separate food. I gave up. It was making me crazy and Gabby was very creative about eating Gizmo's food -- and vice versa. Gizmo has been eating adult food from about the age of 6 or 7 mos. on. He's very healthy!
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 - Kitten feeding ?

I've been feeding him adult food for the most part because all of the stores I've been to so far either don't have kitten food or they don't have the low carb varieties of kitten food or they only have the low carb beef or seafood versions (which Mikey is allergic to beef and I only give him seafood once a week). So, I've just been basically doubling his calories for his size:

[url=http://www.catinfo.org:2jdl5v5k]catinfo.org[/url] said:
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
times 2

What I was mostly wondering is when I should stop doubling it.
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 PMPS 47!!!

Yet again, Michelangelo has left me speechless. It seems his nadir was offset by several hours today and is occurring 12 hours late? Second time in 3 days I'm skipping his PMS and first time he's dropped below 50. Time to lower his dose to 1u tomorrow....

Maybe the insulin has finally kick-started his pancreas into working! Too early to hope, but the thought has re-entered my mind that he might be able to go into remission.

ETA: I fed him, of course, because I don't think he'll be getting up to 200 any time soon, so this is going to be a skipped PMS. Gonna keep my eye on him and test him in an hour to see how he's doing and maybe feed him again.

I also tested him twice more on the Prime(44 and 41) and on the Micro (24 and 28!) to make sure it wasn't a bad test.
 
Re: 12/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +6/254 PMPS 47!!!

Kay

Wow on the 47. Could you please change the subject line to PMBG 47? PMPS indicates you shot it and I did a double take. I'm glad you skipped. Please be sure you reduce his dose to 1u tomorrow morning unless he's really high. You can shoot through the bounce once, if he bounces. Then take him down tomorrow night. :-D
 
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

PLEASE!!! Look at the context for that formula! It is from Dr Lisa's Feline Obesity page. It is the starting point for figuring out how much to feed an OVERWEIGHT CAT for a weight loss plan!!! Look at the chart I linked you to on Max's House. A kitten between 30 and 40 weeks needs between 36 and 45 calories per pound per day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top