12/14 Max PMPS 169, +4 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollyall

Member Since 2011
I was happy with the PMPS, especially since Max had been higher at +8 (188), but that +4 set my nerves on edge because it was so early in the cycle. I know PZI is a totally different insulin, but, on that one, Max seemed to be a bit of an early nadir kitty. It seems like he may be a little early nadir on Lantus, but I don't have much data yet. Anyway, with the 53, I stayed up late to closely monitor Max and make sure he didn't dip any lower.

12/14 PMPS -169 (gave .5 unit)
+4 - 53 (fed LC)
+5 - 66
+6 - 97
+9 - 105

12/15 AMPS - 236 (gave .5 unit)
+2 - 186
+4 - 137
+6 - 123
+8 - 154
+10 - 165

Not sure what the AMPS will be yet. Any thoughts on dose? I don't know if I'm comfortable with Max dipping that low without me around during the week days. I've been reading and re-reading the protocol. I know it's important to hold the dose on Lantus, but I think I have a couple more doses before the shed is filled. Maybe I'm worrying about nothing cause I'm not used to Lantus.
 
Hi Hon, sorry I haven't welcomed you before now.

Usually with Lantus, you don't reduce until 50 or below. His Nadir should be somewhere around +6, give or take an hour. I haven't looked at his spread sheet, I don't know how long he's been on Lantus or what his dose is. So this is basic info on Lantus.

You did well with feeding. Some freak out and stuff with high card food and that sets up for a roller coaster ride. IF he drops to 50 and you want to try to hold him and not let him go much further, feed 1 teaspoon of medium carb, test in 30 minutes and repeat as needed. Don't feed more than 1-2 teaspoons at a time. The last thing you want is for him to NOT be hungry when you need him to eat. He did well on his regular food, you may not need med or high card, but I would have some of each, especially high carb in his hypo kit. You have that right? That is absolutely necessary with a diabetic cat. Some cats that eat on a regular schedule, mine doesn't, respond well to their normal LC food and don't need a higher card to keep them up.

As for a dose decrease, might want to wait till he hits 50 or 49. You might want to run a curve at some point when you're home to decide on dosing.

Weekends are the slowest on this forum. You can always post on the TR forum if you need help and there isn't anyone around. Lot of traffic over there. They will help! There have been times I needed it and I've always posted here. They'll help you no matter what forum you are usually on. You always have help available.
 
Just looked at his SS, he's only been on Lantus for 3 cycles? He's doing beautifully!! It does take 2-3 days for the Lantus to fill it's shed/depot. He's responding well, quickly.

If he continues this same path, you may need to reduce him, but if it was my boy, I'd hold it until he hit 50 then reduce to .25, which is a lot of fun to measure. :-D Because he wasn't that high to start with, you may have to do some micro dosing for a while. Ask Mel about that, she's the Queen of micro dosing. :lol:

If you are home today and could run a curve, keeping his same .50 dose, that would really help Mel and others that can help you with dosing advice. I'll try to check on you, gonna be a busy day for me.

Because my Lucian is not the typical FD kitty, you need advice from someone that has a somewhat NORMAL cat. :lol: Lucian is far from it! :-D But I know 'mountain climbing' and 'deep sea diving', because Lucian likes to do those. I can always help on a hypo watch, been up all night long many times. Even recently and it had been a while. It's always nice to have someone to talk to when you're up all night, even when you know what you're doing, it helps keep you awake.
 
Thanks so much Debbie for the welcome and helpful info and advice! Even though this isn't our first rodeo, I'm feelin' like a newbie with the new insulin. My main concern with the 53 last night was that it hit at +4. I was worried that I had a couple of hours where he could go lower, but he didn't (thank goodness!), just an early nadir. I know it's going to take me a while to get used to how Lantus works and how it works on Max. I do have high carb gravy food on hand and caro syrup if needed (fingers, toes crossed won't), and I have read the "what to do for low #'s" sticky. After last night, I think I'll read it again. If you can tell, I'm a chicken. AMPS this morning was 236. That surprised me after hanging out in the 100 and below range for so long. Anyway, I gave him .5 unit and will try to run a proper curve today, during the daylight hours.
 
He was a higher this morning because his body wasn't used to such low numbers. That's a bounce and it will get better, it takes time.

As for nadir, he may settle into a normal time for him at some point. Some cats go early or later. He is still very new to Lantus, so don't be too surprised by anything the first few days/weeks.

Normally, it takes 3-5 days, 6-10 cycles for a cat to settle into a dose. Some cats take 2 weeks or more, others a couple days. Just hang in there, you'll see how he responds in time.
 
Ran a curve today. Max's daytime #'s seem to run somewhat higher than is nighttime #'s, but I've only got 2 days of data. Just lookin' like. PMPS was 177. I went ahead and shot the .5 unit. Hope tonight is a good night!
 
How about putting a thread up each day or whenever you can, so we can see how he's doing. If you have time, you know.

We do care and are interested in what's happening with you and Max.
 
Thanks so much Debbie! It really makes all the difference in the world to know Max and I are not alone, and that there are experienced people who care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top