12/14 Mallie: AMPS 135-140 below do not shoot level ?Update-ive made a spreadsheet

mom23seniors

Member Since 2019
Hi,

I am new here. My girl Mallie (14 yrs, 5.3kg) had her first dose of lantus- 1u -last night at 6:30pm MST.

I’ve only tested her bg 4 times-I haven’t set up a spreadsheet yet (I’ve only been writing down the bg results)
I’m in Canada, so my numbers are in mmol/L

The first 3 readings:
Dec.12-1843hrs-21.5
Dec.13-0518hrs-21.6
Dec.13-1817hrs-24.6

She then had dinner (FF) and I gave her her first shot of lantus.
I did not do any more testing after the first dose.

I just did her AMPS and at
6:11am I got 7.8 6:37am I got 7.5.

I was not expecting this.
This is below the “do not shoot” level, yes?
Is the first dose of lantus lasting longer then 12 hours here?
Do I feed her breakfast (her and her brothers are all sitting starring at me as I type this) and then retest?
At what interval?

My vet yesterday did not discuss anything about what to do if the numbers were anything but high. He only said that I was to do a 12 hour curve after 7 days.
 
We generally advise new members to post and ask for help if numbers are below 8.3 (which is 150 since we primarily use US measures). This is still a safe zone for Maille and if you were more experienced with managing your kitty's diabetes it would be find to give an injection. In fact, some cats do have a marked response to insulin and that's likely what you're seeing.

First things first -- I'd suggest reducing your dose. It's easier on the human's nerves to start a little lower and work your way us as you gain confidence. We have 2 dosing methods here -- Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). With TR, the dose your vet started Maille at is very appropriate. With SLGS, the method suggests a starting dose of 0.5u if your kitty is already on a low carb, canned food diet, which from your signature I'm assuming is the case. So, if you want to reduce the dose, that's fine.

You did a good job of not feeding you're kitty. Can you retest to see if numbers are going up?
 
If you haven't been officially welcomed, then WELCOME! You've joined a great group of people. There's a lot of compassion,knowledge and experience here. Nice job on your first condo and congrats setting your signature up! You're ahead of the game already. One of the experienced members should be along shortly to help get you set up with a spreadsheet. Spreadsheets are going to be just about the most valuable tool in your "kit". It allows you to see trends and etc. Anywho, I'm glad you found the FDMB. I can't wait to see your daily condos and watch Mallie progress. GL and again WELCOME!:bighug::)
 
This is a continuation since I wanted to get some basic information posted for you.

Please work on getting a spreadsheet set up. We are very numbers dependent! You will want to use the World version of the template which will automatically convert the numbers into US format on a separate tab.

You will need to test more than once a day. It's vitally important to test at each shot time (i.e., AMPS and PMPS -- AM or PM Pre-Shot times). Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (the lowest point in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot numbers. Thus, it's important to get spot checks as well as a "before bed" test every day.

You will want to read through the sticky notes at the top of the board. Despite there being an overwhelming amount of information in those notes, they will help orient you to using Lantus. One bit of information that is also important -- please make sure you put together an "emergency" kit -- you will want high carbohydrate (over 15% carb) food, preferably something like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers food and either corn syrup or honey on hand. This is in case Maille's numbers drop into a lower range. You also want to be sure to have a good supply to strips for your meter should you need to be testing often.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
We generally advise new members to post and ask for help if numbers are below 8.3 (which is 150 since we primarily use US measures). This is still a safe zone for Maille and if you were more experienced with managing your kitty's diabetes it would be find to give an injection. In fact, some cats do have a marked response to insulin and that's likely what you're seeing.

First things first -- I'd suggest reducing your dose. It's easier on the human's nerves to start a little lower and work your way us as you gain confidence. We have 2 dosing methods here -- Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). With TR, the dose your vet started Maille at is very appropriate. With SLGS, the method suggests a starting dose of 0.5u if your kitty is already on a low carb, canned food diet, which from your signature I'm assuming is the case. So, if you want to reduce the dose, that's fine.

You did a good job of not feeding you're kitty. Can you retest to see if numbers are going up?

Thank you for the reply.
I just wanted to confirm that I’m understanding you correctly.

I should feed Mallie and give her a reduced dose and continue to retest?
It’s been 13 hours since I gave her the first dose of lantus.

I am only going to be home for another 3.5 hours and then I’m out for the afternoon at my daughter’s gymnastics meet.
 
As long as you can monitor this AM, I would reduce the dose to 0.5u and shoot. Keep in mind that you're now off schedule for your PM shot. We can figure that out later.
 
I’ve made a spreadsheet but I don’t know if I’m entering the data correctly. I hope the link works! I’ve never used google sheets before.

I’m thinking that I should use one line per day??
Once I have confirmation I will adjust the cells as needed.
Thank you.
 
Great to see you posting already in the Lantus forum!! Looks like Mallie is ready to get to work, what awesome numbers right off the bat :joyful: can’t wait to see how Mallie does on her new dose :D
 
@Marje and Gracie - Marje, could you take a look at the SS. the PMPS numbers didn't transfer from the World page to the US. Thanks.
She’s deleted the formatting on the US SS so numbers won’t convert.

@mom23seniors can you please send me a private message so I can get editing rights and reformat Mallie’s SS? Click on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation” to send me a PM.

Thank you!
 
Back
Top