Yesterday his numbers curved from pink to blue back to pink. Today he is flat in the red. I'm pretty sure this is GT and a bounce but i'm not sure if i'm treating it right. I know there isnt a lot of data to go off of on his sheet. There are some days i am unable to test in the middle of the day or night. Could someone look at what i do have and let me know their thoughts.
He has been on his increased does of 1.25 units for 11 days. Am I correct to increase his dose to 1.5 units tomorrow? Maybe i should have increased it this morning. I know standrard SLGS says to increase after 7 days if their Nadir is greater than 150, but i haven't been able to test to find his Nadir until this weekend.
Sorry for the rambling. I guess what i really want to know is if you think it is a good idea to increase him to 1.5 tomorrow morning or should i wait and do more testing?
+5 was 446 now his PMPS is 404
Ill grab some more numbers tonight, but I think I will increase to 1.5 units tomorrow and closely monitor all day. If anyone thinks that's a bad idea, please let me know.
You’re getting some bouncing today because of the blues yesterday. Even with SLGS I find it’s helpful to get spot checks when you can, especially in evening cycles, since many kitties like to go lower at night. Based on what you currently have and the curve yesterday, can I ask what is the 176/144? Two tests with same pet meter? Usually with SLGS following curve data, if nadirs are under 150 you would hold the dose.
Hey Christie!
I test with both the Alpha Trak and the Relion meters at the same time and from the same drop of blood. Example: Alpha#/Relion#. If there is only one number in a cell, that means i didn't get enough blood to test with both meters. That single number is always the Alpha Trak reading since it is supposed to be the most ""accurate"" and doesn't require as much blood for a test compared to the Relion meter.
I had the same thought about the blue numbers and the 144 Relion reading from yesterday. Thats why i didn't immediately increase his dose this morning. I thought i should do some more testing to confirm that he was indeed falling below 150 with either of the meters, but then he bounced today. I'm worried about the glucose toxicity and keeping him at too low of a dose for too long. I feel like i don't have a very good understanding on how to combat GT. I've read on some forms that it requires more insulin in shorter periods and that you should shoot through bounces. And then on some I have read that it requires reductions based on your method and then working your way back up, however that sometimes turns into a vicious cycle - I feel like that may be where we are currently at. Not too long ago we were on 2 units and doing okay then he had a spell of pancreatitis that threw off his numbers and based on the SLGS method i did several reductions. I kept him on the reductions and then they were not enough so I would increase. Then he would bounce and then sometimes fall too low and i would have to reduce again. I feel like we have been rinsing and repeating that cycle since August. So i'm wondering if I should continue to hold and test more or increase his dose tomorrow. What would you do?
Thanks for clarifying, I had wondered if it might be a check with human meter. Are you limited in testing during the week days because of work? Just trying to understand a little more. The spot checks in addition to the curve data are always helpful in seeing how low the dose is taking the cat. That said, I do see you went from 1.5u to 1u and are working your way back up. That was probably too much of a reduction, and you held that 1u for quite a bit longer than SLGS would suggest. Hopefully his appy issues have resolved? And you’ve held 1.25u for 11 days. I think I would increase to 1.5u if you can continue to check more than preshots both am and pm cycles.
Yes, he is doing better! That was from a little bit of pancreatitis and is the reason why we stayed at 1 unit for so long. But after some Buprenorphine and Mirtazapine he is feeling better. Sorry, i forgot to mention that and I just noticed i didn't record it on his sheet notes either. I'll go back and add that.
I am not home during the day because of work and I am not always able to leave during my lunch to come home and get a mid day test. I use to could do that more frequently before the holiday season started... I work in Marketing. I've been considering trying the freestyle libre 3 to trak his numbers. We tried the libre 2 a long long time ago and were not fans, it always read him ridiculously low after day 2 of installing it and seemed like a waste of money. So i automatically wrote the libre 3 off but now i might reconsider. At night I am a caregiver and that makes nighttime testing difficult, but honestly that is an excuse, i know i can do better and i can at least get a test right before I go to bed. I am going to be around the house for the next couple of days because of the holidays so i should be able to get more testing in that i haven't been able to do in the last few weeks. So i think i will go ahead and increase him to 1.5 units in the morning and see what happens. Fingers crossed.