12/14 Jack amps 96 - new vet visit today

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
last condo

Jack has been a handful the past few days, par for the course for my boy. I have been having "fun" trying to find an IM vet. I called one a week or so ago, one of the only ones I could find in the area. They would not give ANY pricing info, including even an initial consult cost. I understand if he needs further tests, but to not even be able to give a cost to walk in the door really rubbed me wrong, especially since online reviews were not positive.

I was calling a local cats only clinic to see if they had any recommendations and they have a mobile IM vet who visits their practice a few times a week. I need to be an established patient to see her, so today we have our first visit with the cat hospital to get established. The vet I am seeing specializes in geriatric kitties which is great. Hopefully we can get some answers without breaking the bank.

I think I need to break out the calipers and try to figure out how to dose .125U. Even .25u is sending him lower then I would like. Normally I would celebrate, but this low of a dose concerns me with him and his weight loss.

Hope all the beans and kitties are doing good and staying warm.
 
I agree, not even telling you their initial consult fee? That would put me off. The cat hospital with the visiting IM vet sounds promising. We are seeing a new vet at an all cat practice today too.

I hope they can figure out what is going on with the weight loss, vetty vines to you!
 
Good luck with the vetty visit. I might try that drop dose again Wes, Jack is really off the hook these days. Just push the plunger in firmly, insert and release. Give him extra scritches for me and :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you.
 
Good luck with the vetty visit. I might try that drop dose again Wes, Jack is really off the hook these days
We did a drop last night and it kept him in the blues which I am fine with. I should have done it again this morning, but was a bit foggy after the last few nights and two 14 hour work days.

This crazy drop in dose just confirms his title of Mr. Unpredictable. Either way, .25 looks like too much now and either .125u or just a drop will be the new dose moving forward. I have an uneasy feeling it is a side effect of him just not processing food very well. Hopefully the vet today can offer some options.
 
I have no idea where I have been because the last time I checked the SS, he was in the 30's for his dose. Now a drop dose?! :eek::eek::eek: There is no cabergoline in play, is there?

:bighug::bighug: on the vet appt! :bighug::bighug:
 
Back from the vet. I wish I would have found her sooner! She was super knowledgeable about diabetes and even Acromegaly. No big aha moments or answers, but I expected that since this was to establish Jack as a patient and gain access to the IM vet.

Jack got both of them laughing when she wanted to see how well he walked with a treat and he scooted and attacked the treats with gusto. She mentioned diabetes insipidus as a possible cause for the dilute and excess urine production.

She loved the SS and all the work I've put into making sure he was taken care of. The IM vet was busy at the time so I am just waiting to hear on a time to schedule a visit with her to see if there is anything we can do for the boy. Looks like next wednesday we will meet with the IM vet to see what can be done.

She was interested in FDMB and took notes for some of her other diabetic cats after hearing how much I had learned here. I got a great compliment, in her 24 years she said she has not met a bean who researched and knew so much about the various conditions he is facing and the realistic outlook that when his QOL gets there, it will be his time to head to the bridge. They also do housecalls which is great so I can make sure he is comfortable when it is time. Once again, I love this group for all the knowledge and support that is spread around! I would have been lost without it.
 
Hey Wes! I am so glad you like the new vet group. That is worth it's weight in gold! And glad she gave you kudos for all the great time and attention and knowledge learned for your boy.

I hope you get some answers soon and until then, I hope the drop dose works for you. Just an idea: If one drop only gets him into the blues, how about doing the suck up method twice in a row? It might be less than .25 and keep him in higher greens?
 
Thank goodness you found a good vet. :bighug: It's great you found someone knowledgable and that you get along with. That's worth a lot. I hope they'll start really looking at what is causing Jack's weight loss. What I'm worried about too is that what is causing the weight loss is causing the greens. If true, I'd be very conservative with the dose. The drop dose should be enough for now. It's a tradeoff, but as long as he's mostly under renal threshold I'd call that a good dose.
 
If one drop only gets him into the blues, how about doing the suck up method twice in a row? It might be less than .25 and keep him in higher greens?
I'm not sure how to do that... I'm a rookie to the low dose club:D. Would that be doing the drop, but with 2 syringes? That would probably be a good dose for him now. "a drop" didn't seem like quite enough, but it was only for 1 cycle so probably a bit premature to claim much. I was planning on doing .1u but gave a little too much tonight not paying attention, even .1u might be a tad aggressive. These tiny doses feel so foreign to me after getting up to 38u.

It felt great to talk with a vet who really knew about diabetes and some of the more rare conditions that can come with it like IAA or Acro. The fact she wanted to get his charts from the other vet and reviewed my link to the SS/labs was a sign to me that she wanted to know about the cat and be prepared. She knew about a few of the sites we refer to like catinfo.org and Dr. Lisa.

The drop dose should be enough for now. It's a tradeoff, but as long as he's mostly under renal threshold I'd call that a good dose.
My thoughts as well. It was a nice long visit and they really knew their stuff in a nice personable way. She is my new vet now:) and fingers crossed the IM vet visit on Wednesday will be informative.
A drop, geesh :confused: :smuggrin:
I would have called BS if future Wes said Jack would only need a drop:rolleyes:

Reading up on Diabetes Insipidus is interesting. One cause in humans is damage to the pituitary gland... with an acro cat that perked my ears up. I'll have to do a little surfing to find some info on DI in felines.
 
Reading up on Diabetes Insipidus is interesting. One cause in humans is damage to the pituitary gland... with an acro cat that perked my ears up. I'll have to do a little surfing to find some info on DI in felines.
That is triggering a memory in me from something I once read on acromegaly, wish I could remember what it was. :rolleyes: Let us know what you find.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top