12/14 Cleo PMPS 283 +5 290

Angela & Cleo

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-223-pmps-309-6-225-8-5-184-11-25-155.271796/
Really :woot: that she stayed yellow after +19 hours since last insulin shot. Yesterday's thread explains my babbling saga and decision to skip the AM dose.
My fear was that my meeting would run long and I would not be able to monitor - and it did.
I probably lost momentum with her progress but if I think of it as a fur shot instead of a skip then I don't feel so selfish :facepalm:.
 
Don't know if this following nerdy info might be misleading. :oops:
So, some BG datas I collected from 10/01/2022 to 10/10/2022 (see my spreadsheet), I have about 30 data points that show the BG difference took from FreeStyle Lite and ReliOn Premier Classic. The numbers were obtained mostly taking from the same blood drop, only a couple that were not, but still within minutes. So the numbers on the cells are FreeStyle Lite's, the numbers in the comments are ReliOn's. For me, I felt less stressed after switching to another meter. :p

Also this is the numbers comparison spreadsheet.

Hi @Elaine Lai - I LOVE data and information! I do know that the freestlye lite meter tends to read on the lower side especially in greens. Its one of the reasons I don't immediately reach for HC when she gives BGs in the 45-50+s. I will usually give higher end LC or MC (depending on where she is in the cycle) and check again in 30 mins.
However, I always double check the FSL readings under 44 with the AT2. It has been my experience FSL readings under 44 will read lower 60s on the AT2. For example, the 12/13 AM 34 read 61 on the AT2. The 12/10 FSL 42 was 64 on the AT2.
I don't record the AT2 readings in the SS so as not to complicate matters when getting assistance on FDMB. As its been said, its best to stick with one meter.
I do appreciate the numbers comparison spreadsheet - more than you know! I am a data nerd junky myself ;). And, being completely honest, in the beginning considered changing meters to the relion. I never followed through with the switch. I had a lot of test strips for FSL and I got/get them fairly cheap (or cheap enough that it fits in my budget) but most importantly, the test strips only required .3ml blood drop and the location of the suction tips are on the side of the strips. Testing Cleo is not easy and it took me 3 months to be able to test her consistently. Having the "suction tips" on the side makes it easier to test.
Thank you so much for taking the time to keep up with us on FDMB, especially since you guys are enjoying the "falls".
 
Hi @Elaine Lai - I LOVE data and information! I do know that the freestlye lite meter tends to read on the lower side especially in greens. Its one of the reasons I don't immediately reach for HC when she gives BGs in the 45-50+s. I will usually give higher end LC or MC (depending on where she is in the cycle) and check again in 30 mins.

That totally makes sense! And I'm glad that it works best for you. It's not that I'm against any meter or try to convince you to switch, and I very much appreciate you spent the time thoroughly replying my post. :) I do love how tiny amount the blood needed for FreeStyle Lite and AT2. Especially both the test strips (basically are same test strips with different code it seems?) are more forgiving—allowing users to keep sucking up more blood within a short time instead of forfeiting the test strip right away if blood not enough. And the best part is you can get the test strips for a cheap price! I often think if we can only have a test strip that needs tiny blood like FSL, has accuracy like Contour, and with affordable price like ReliOn, then it will be perfect!! LOL :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top