12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +11.75 137, PMPS 153, +2 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58590

Morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O) ,

Bailey dropped to 39 (!) at +11 (!) last night, I gave her HC and we skipped the shot. My question is, do we reduce to 0.25 units from 0.5, or do I start trying to shave the dose? Which I obviously need to practice. I was planning to shoot a skinny 0.5 today since she is so high after our skipped shot but it ended up looking more like 0.25. Anyone have advice on getting skinny/fat doses? I have read to squeeze out a "drop" but my drop ended up being really big. ohmygod_smile

Bailey was feeling really frisky after that 39 & HC - chasing the other cats around the house, playing with a hair elastic she found... I dunno if it's the low numbers or the yummy gravy but she was feeling good!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329 dose?

Hi guys .. well I bet that 39 opened your eyes! Congrats on the dose reduction! I can't really help with the dosing question .. all I know is that with mocha we had to shave her doses down, cause she did not hold reductions well, but every cat is different .. have a great day!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340 dose?

Thanks Devon and Linda for stopping by! As dosing problems go, this is a good one to have, I know... Just a little above my skill level! So far she has held her reductions well, my worry is that we will be cutting her dose in half at this point. Just not sure if that is the right thing to do.

Off to tbp, have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340 dose?

This is a hard call. You don't know how low Bailey's numbers were between +5 and +9. Ordinarily, a drop below 40 warrants a 0.25u reduction. However, you just cut Bailey's dose in half -- which is a BIG reduction. I often encourage shaving the dose when you are down to this low of a dose. The rationale is that you want to give Bailey's pancreas as much support as you possibly can for as long as you can. At this point, I would hold the dose where you have it and see how Bailey does. When the next decrease happens, start thinking in terms of 0.1u.
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340 dose?

Hi Melissa, we read here somewhere to twist and gently push the plunger up to squeeze out drops. We think there are 3 smallish drops for every 0.25u. Thus if you go to 0.5u and squeeze out a drop, that is a s0.5u. Squeeze out another drop and that is a f0.25u. Squeeze out another drop and you are at 0.25u. That's our theory anyway. We use a magnifying lamp and wear a magnifying visor (available at amazon) and turn on every light in the kitchen. :lol: :lol: Good luck!
Liz
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340 dose?

we did the "Twisty Plunger Dance" with binks :-D

Congrats on the reducie!!!!!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340, +6 236

Hi guys,

+6 was 236 (several hours ago) so she has come down a bit. Thanks for the advice, I will stick with 0.25 for a few days and see how she settles into that. Should give me a chance to practice my plunger-twisting :smile: and to get a magnifier!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340, +6 236

Hi, guys!!! Can't believe I missed a fellow KC'er!!! :-D :-D :-D Well, then on that 39 of yours!! That's an eye opener!! hopefully the bounce will clear soon... I'm sure you'll be back to pretty numbers in no time!!

We're doing the drops right now too... I'd suggest filling your syringe to 0.5u and twisting one drop at a time until you have no drops left. Up until our shot time dramatics tonight, we were at a s0.5u, which I just think of as 0.5u minus 1 drop. Next up will be 0.5u minus 2 drops, and so on.

I see you all have been here for awhile now (it's been a crazy couple months for me!), but if there's ever anything you need, please feel free to get in touch! :?: :-D :-D

Have a great night!
 
Re: 12/14 Bailey AMPS 329, +1.5 340, +6 236, +11.75 137

Wondering if she is still dropping... glad I tested a few minutes early tonight. I will check again before i shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top