12/14/14 Oz 38 at +6.5. Is it time for a reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian & Oz

Member Since 2014
Hello,
At 3:35 this morning I tested Oz & found that his bg level was 38. I gave him a 3 oz. can of Fancy Feast Gravy lovers. At 3:58 a.m. he tested at 61. Wondering if it's time for a dose reduction?

Ian
 
The quick answer is "Yes." A drop in numbers below 50 for a cat within a year of diagnosis means that the dose needs to be reduced so please reduce by 0.25u.

I also want to draw your attention to the post on how to handle low numbers. In a nutshell, feed a teaspoon or two of HC food and then re-test in 30 min. Repeat this process until you get at minimum, 2 back-to-back test when your cat is in safe numbers (e.g., above 60). By not testing after you got the 61, you don't low if Oz's numbed dropped back down. HC can bring numbers up relatively quickly but numbers can wobble around as the HC wears off.

(Also, check the times on your SS. It looks like the 38 was at +5.)
 
wow, ian - good catch on that 38. there really wasn't any advance notice that was coming.

Apparently we can use Oz for the poster child on how cats often have their lowest numbers at night. It can be hard to get people to grasp that concept. Some test only during the day and that's always a little concerning when we know that many cats do what Oz did last night.

hope you can get some sleep in today.
 
Thank you Julie, Sienne & Vyktors Mum
Sienne, his 38 reading was at 3:35 am, the 65 at 3:58 & then a 94 reading at 4:28 am. I put my notes on the far right side of the spread sheet instead of with the levels. I gave Oz some extra food along with the gravy lovers, after the last reading of 94 I put down extra bowls of food since it was getting close to 5 am & I needed to sleep a little. The bad thing is it didn't look like he ate any of the extra food. My thinking at that time was that the food would carry over into the +8 & +9 hours getting him past the nadir point. I know it's still possible for them to drop, late in the cycle but thought the food would cover that. I reduced his dose by .25u this morning, so we'll see how it goes from here.

Ian
 
Hi there ~O) :cool:

Good catch. As Julie pointed out, many kitties run lower on the overnights.
The How to Handle Low Numbers doc that Sienne linked to is a 'must read' for the safety of your kitty. Low numbers will come along for all sooner or later.

In a nutshell:
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)

Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.

Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.

Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.


Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

The reason for the above approach (which in the LL vernacular we refer to as 'lather, rinse, repeat') is that if the lows come early in the cycle you may have to steer them with food for the better part of the cycle. So it's important that your kitty is hungry enough to eat when you need him to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top