12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356;+2.5 283;~4 227;~5 182 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener is very disappointed about not getting any breakfast this morning even after we gave him 0.5u. Poor guy. He had a little puddingpoo this morning. Poor guy. We are about to leave to take him for his dental. Poor guy. :sad:

We got about a foot of snow - very beautiful! It's a winter wonderland. Fortunately, the snowblower started right up and we got the driveway cleared out in about an hour.

Thank you for everyone's good wishes. We really appreciate it! Will let you know when we hear something. Have a great day LL. Also thinking of Claudia and Rocket, Sonia and Tom, Garland, Tawny, Jill and DH and others who are ailing. This is a great place and we are both glad to be a part of LL.
Liz, Anne, Zener and Tillie
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Wishing Zener an easy dental!! Guess everyone told you No Covenia, No Metacam, and Buprenex for pain-YES?? OK also when you bring him home, please check his bg before you shoot tonite, as SOME cats numbers can drop after anesthesia, so(in that case) you may need to shoot a smaller dose- But he may be just fine-Please Post his number before you shoot-OK? It all will be fine--Hugs & Love from us--Easy Dental vines sent to you & Zener
Believe me it's worse for us!! They get to sleep!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Sending lots of good-dental vines to you today, Zener! Rusty says not to worry. It will be OK!

Your snow sounds lovely. We are waiting and waiting for our snow, which has failed to show up this year. Safe travels to the dental and back. Check in with you later,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Good dental vines Zener! Mannie say too not too worry - it will all be fine, and that it will all be over before Zener knows a trip was in the making. I hope all goes well. And ditto on what Roni said - that has happened to us!

Wow on eh snow fall - I do believe that is is gorgeous. We just don't get snow like that, unless one ventures up into the hills. I am glad that all went well with the snowblower, etc. Safe journey for you!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Easy dental vines for poor, poor Zener today. I hope his recovery is swift and complete and he ends up in better numbers from the whole experience.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Good dental vibes for Zener!

Like Roni said, keep a close eye on those BGs! For Trix, she dropped - but waited about 36 hours post-dental before she did it, so close monitoring for a few days is a good idea!

Amy
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Roni and Moonie said:
Wishing Zener an easy dental!! Guess everyone told you No Covenia, No Metacam, and Buprenex for pain-YES?? OK also when you bring him home, please check his bg before you shoot tonite, as SOME cats numbers can drop after anesthesia, so(in that case) you may need to shoot a smaller dose- But he may be just fine-Please Post his number before you shoot-OK? It all will be fine--Hugs & Love from us--Easy Dental vines sent to you & Zener
Believe me it's worse for us!! They get to sleep!

I sent a PM but thought others could chime in or benefit from Roni's response.
Hi Roni, thank you! We will definitely test and post his number before we shoot. We know about no Metacam and yes to Buprenex but didn't know about Covenia. Covernia is an antibiotic - is that correct? Do you have any recommendation for alternatives?
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Thanks everyone! We just got back from dropping him off. The vet wanted to give him Metacam so we nixed that and requested an x-ray if there were any extractions or if they thought it was needed. Will check on the AB. He should be done by around noon MST (it's 8:50 am now) and hopefully we can pick him up around 4. It's a nailbite_smile day. Good thing we have lots of shoveling to do to burn off nervous energy. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Hi Liz, sending good dental vines for Zener. It does sound like a winter wonderland at your home. I know you both can't wait til he's home. Hugs.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Anne sent you a PM, but just FYI-Covenia is a one shot AB, that can have a negative effect on some cats--
Most used AB for dentals is Clavamox & sometimes Clindamycin--We want to keep Zener in good health & so he has an easy dental.. Dr. Lisa wrote an article on Covenia here is the link:
http://catinfo.org/?link=convenia

Just because we want Zener to be comfy & safe!!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Been there with the convenia - try to avoid it if you can. We did OK with it, but it can cause serious issues in some cats. Good too you said no to Metacam - they should not be using it all - it has been black boxed!

Keep on truckin' with all that shoveling... no doubt it will take care of all that nervous energy!

Zener!! No writes, OK? You will be just fine. My bean said I can log on her so I can check on when you are home. The KTSS will be by to help get rid of that vetty smell... See you then - you will be A-OK! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

The vet tech said they give Polyflex which is ampicillin and it's in his system for 12 hours. Does anyone know anything about it? It seems to be for respiratory infections. It is injectable which is maybe because he hasn't eaten and he'll be under anesthesia? So they don't want to give Clavamox?
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

Hi Anne, Liz and Zener!

Sorry I can't help on the AB question. I just wanted to stop by and wish Zener good luck with his dental. So stressful for the beans isn't it?

Nice on the snowfall! :o
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

OK But once something is injected if the cat has a adverse reaction, there is no turning it around-- I have never heard of Polyflex --Did anyone else???
While he is out, he doesnt need to eat, I meant when YOU give AB's it is necessary to give a little food as ab's can make one nauseous-
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

I'm not familiar with Polyflex. Gabby was given a shot of clindamycin after her dental. I suspect that an ampicillen derivative is just fine.

Just as an FYI, the issue isn't with an injectable vs. a pill form of a med. Convenia lasts for 2 weeks vs. the 12-hours or so that most antibiotics last. So, once you give an injection of Convenia, you're stuck with it and if your cat has a bad reaction, there's not much you can do for 2 weeks. In addition, Convenia was developed for skin infections. That's its only indication. Because it was easy to administer and made life easier for owners of cats that are hard to pill, many vets started using it for other forms of infection.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

Thanks, Sienne and Roni! We've decided to stick with the Polyflex. Paws crossed. Thanks to everyone for stopping by. We surely do appreciate your thoughts and concerns. Will let you know.
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

Sending Good Dental Vines to Zener, today.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

Hi guys .. sending tons of easy dental thoughts zener's way! I know how nervous you are but he'll be ok :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - Polyflex Q?

Hi Ladies - sending tons of good dental vines for the Z-Man today. Muffin is ready to go with the KTSS when he gets home!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

We've seen KTSS on here often and have not been able to figure this one out? What does it mean? :oops:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Lol Anne, I'm glad you asked because I have been trying to figure it out too! Hoping all is well with Zener today, the poor guy!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Thank you, Sienne! I wouldn't have thought of that in a million years. :lol: :lol: :lol: Who came up with it?
Thanks, Melissa. We should be hearing from the vet soon.
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

We also have the sisterhood of the traveling Patience Pants for those who are stressing :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today

Just want to add my good wishes for an easy recovery from the dental with good results.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - all good!

The vet tech just called and Zener is awake from the anesthesia. They pulled two teeth and one came out during the cleaning. We'll go to pick him up at 4 pm. Thanks everyone!
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - all good!

Hooray for lil Zener!! I'm glad to hear everything went well.

Zener's dental sounds like Leo's, a tooth came out on its own during cleaning. Do you know yet what you are going to do for tonights dose? I was chicken about dosing Leo after his dental because i didn't know if he would eat for me or not, i ended up not giving him any insulin after he came home and good thing i didn't because he didn't eat a darn thing that night.

I hope you all have a good night with your boy and his mouth feels better ASAP!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - all good!

ZENER IS ALL GOOD---HAPPY HAPPY DAY!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344 A Trak Dental Today - all good!

We LOVE good dental news!

And not just because our dental is coming up Friday. Although if you have any dental vines you didn't use, feel free to send them to us. :-D

Glad you had a successful day. Hope the evening is uneventful and all sleep well tonight!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

Hello all and thank you for stopping by with all your good wishes and support. Here's the report:

Zener had 2 teeth removed, and lost one incisor that was already loose during the cleaning for a total of 3 less teeth. There was one resorptive lesion on one of the teeth that was removed and he has three sutures on one side and two on the other. We have clamavox ABs to start tomorrow and bupe for pain to start tonight. He had some at the vet around 2 pm. His eyes are pretty dilated post anesthesia, but he wanted something to eat right away - we gave him freeze dried chicken with lots of water - and he is sitting on his back porch at his picnic table. He seems pretty alert and VERY happy to be home. His beans are VERY happy to have him home.

We tested him as soon as we got home and he was 456 @+10.5. We gave him 0.5u insulin this morning, about 1/3 of his usual dose. He is very interested in eating so we're happy about that. We will test again at PMPS and would like advice on his dose. If the numbers remain this high and he is eating, should we go with his regular s1.5 or do we reduce the dose since he had general anesthesia?

Thanks again for everyone's support. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

YAY!!!! A successful dental - I am glad all went well, and only two extractions. Good job Zener!

OK: I'm up: KTSS: Kittenhood of Traveling Soup and Spa... meet the creator, along wit Ella, Ann (of Ann and Tess), And Marje ... It's been a few years since KTSS was born - back in 2010. Stu, of Ella and Rusty, before Rusty, was sick one day - so Mannie, being a rookie chef at the time, decided that the best remedy would be chicken soup. So he made a batch and carried it, without spilling a drop, to NY to help Stu feel better... So of course as all things work in LL, Stu was all better. A few days Later Muffin wasn't feeling well, so Stu and Mannie decided that Muffin could use some of this miracle soup, so they made a batch and off to Muffins they went. About this time Tess joined. It was Ann that named the group: KTS - before the Spa was added. Tess decided, being the girl that she is, that a spa treatment would be very beneficial to the groups work, so she added a spa line. By this time Gracie was part of the group, along with Tobey, the head masseuse. It was Marje that added Spa to the Name. So - KTSS was born - back in 2010, and has been serving LL kitties ever since: when they are sick, when they cross to the bridge, when they have been to the vetty, when they just need LL love. So.. in a nutshell that is KTSS. ~~ So expect a knock on your door tonight as the group comes to see Zener, tor remove the vetty smell, to comfort Zener, to offer soup, and massage away all the aches. :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

Michelle and Mannie, thank you. That is the sweetest story that we have ever heard! Zener is so looking forward to a visit from everyone to help with his recovery. He is getting his picnic table ready for everyone. His beans really appreciate all the support from everyone too.
Liz & Anne
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

I'm so glad all went well for Zener! And I'm also glad to get the ack story of KTSS. Enjoy the treatment tonight Zener!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

Given the high numbers I'm tempted to suggest you shoot a full dose. HOWEVER, Zener's appetite can be iffy. I would definitely not decide on a dose until you get your PMPS -- it could be a dropping number. I'd also put down food and see if Zener is eating. If he's eating well, then you're probably OK to shoot the full dose. If his mouth hurts and he's not wanting to eat, I'd give a BCS dose. Take a look at Gabby's SS from her dental day (11/25). I shot 0.5u in the AM pre-dental and the same amount at PMPS given that she wasn't terribly interested in food. I increased to 1.0u the next morning and she was back to her usual dose in the PM.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

Thank you, Sienne. He is very interested in eating, having eaten 3 big pieces of freeze dried chicken, broken up with water. He wanted to eat as soon as he got home. We've just given him a little bit so as to not fill him up before his shot. He'd probably eat more. We will test again in 30 mins and see where he is.
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 456 Home Dose? A Trak

Hi - I had meant to address the dose too when I posted - but uh..... forgot. Mannie's dental was in 9/2011 - I shot reduced in the morning, and reduced in eh evening, even though by then he was back on track eating, doing all Mannie type things. We had a rough time with his dental back in January - very long story there, where the anesthesia really affected him - two days of dealing with that, mainly because he was so nauseous etc... anyways - not meaning to scare you, but just to point out that it would be a good idea to watch the numbers carefully - we were in the 30's for sometime the next day, with his January dental. this the one in September - no issues. I agree with what Sienne wrote about checking BG just before, like a +11, and in comparison, along with how well Zener is eating, decide on a dose. You can always get back on track tomorrow if need be. Hope all is well tonight. :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 465;PMPS 466 Home Dose? A Tra

Thanks Sienne and Michelle!

We just got his BG again, about 20 minutes before shot time and it was 466, no change really from +10.5 465. We put down his regular 8% foods, a bit mushier and with more water plus fortiflora and it was major nom, nom, nom. We decided to pick it up when he had eaten half ~0.55oz because we were afraid of scarf and barf! Then he went out on the back porch and sat by his picnic table wondering why we weren't bringing him more! :smile:

We thought shooting a reduce dose tonight of 1.0u, instead of his regular s1.5u, and we will test often. If all goes well we could increase back to his normal dose in the morning. Does this seem reasonable?
 
Re: 12/13 Zener AMPS 344;+10.5 465;PMPS 466 Home Dose? A Tra

Sweet Zener, sitting by his picnic table waiting for fuds! :lol: Anesthesia makes most people (and kitties) nauseated but not all. When my husband had surgery, the instant he woke up he was asking for food, making the nurses nervous, but he kept it down fine - he does not like to miss any meals. :lol: No advice on the dose but I think your plan sounds reasonable. And glad everything went well!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466 Home Reduced dose A Trak

Today - Dental day
12/13/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 344, 0.5u, no food and off to dental
2 extractions and 1 loose incisor fell out during cleaning
Home @ +10.4 465, FDCK
PMPS 466, 1.0u reduced dose, 1.6oz 8%

All went about as well as it could possibly go! Zener was a little agitated when he got home but has settled down nicely and ate normally. He was very excited about getting to eat and we were delighted! After his dinner, he went outside and did his business in the yard, despite our foot of snow (I had shoveled paths for him).

We went with the reduced dose this evening (1.0u in place of s1.5) just to be on the safe side. If all goes well tonight, we'll go back to his regular dose in the AM. We have bupe for pain as needed and clamavox ABs to start in the morning. We didn't give his Zobaline or pepcid tonight. We will check him often for the next few cycles and watch for any post anesthesia low numbers.

Thank you all so very much for your support, healing energy and kind thoughts for our boy. We are ever so grateful! :YMHUG:

Tomorrow, Anne bean goes to the dentist. :roll:
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466 Home Reduced dose A Trak

Sounds good to me! And wise to feed ion small amounts, just to be sure you don't end up with scarf and barf. never fun, that one! have a great night. It sure sounds like Zener is!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

Today - Dental day
12/13/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 344, 0.5u, no food and off to dental
2 extractions and 1 loose incisor fell out during cleaning
Home @ +10.4 465, FDCK
PMPS 466, 1.0u reduced dose, 1.6oz 8%
+1 356, 0.95oz 11%

We are pretty glad we shot the 1.0u tonight, seeing this 100 point drop @+1! :shock: And we are happy to see pink in place of grr_red
Zener is eating very well, and seems to be feeling pretty darn good considering his day. cat_pet_icon

Thanks Michelle - we are feeding him about 1/2 of his meal, then picking it up for about 10 minutes and putting it back - we want NO scarf and barf tonight! :lol:

Hey Mannie - thanks for the secret text when I was in jail. I snuck my phone in my carrier. Thanks for the get well wishes, and the essence of mouse oil to put on my leg where my jailers shaved it to torture me. I feel better already. -Zener
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

Things are sounding very good, considering the day Zener had. Many positive thoughts for a speedy recovery now!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

Hi Anne, so glad all went well with Zener today. I had to chuckle with Zener doing his business outside even with the snow. :lol: I am glad you did a reduced dose. I had a problem with Maggie dropping after her last dental. I think all went well with Zener today. Have a good night.
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

Good news about the dental. Zener, you did fine! As Chef Mannie says, the KTSS will be along later with soup and the spa treatment to get the vetty smell off.

Anne, sending good dental vines to you for your dental tomorrow!!

Have a good evening, guys. No scarf 'n barf. Numbers coming down.

Good job!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

Zener.....Tobes and me and Mannie and Rusty and Tess are all headed to your house wif KTSS!!! Tobes has got his paws all warm and flexed for a good massage since da vetty had you on dat table so long. Chef Mannie's special
soup will make you feel lots better!!!!


Glad everything went well. On the ABs, if there was any bone involvement in the extractions, clindamycin is a better choice. Sure hope this will help with numbers and surely eating!!!

Sending big hugs and hope the kittens don't spill soup!!
 
Re: 12/13 Zener PMPS 466;+1 356 Home A Trak

I am so sorry that I am late with the well wishes for Zener's dental today. I'm glad everything turned out well and Zener doesn't sound like he feels too bad after the ordeal. Simon also wanted to eat immediately after he got home and wasn't nauseated at all. I think you were wise to reduce the dose tonight just in case, and that big drop shows that you made the right decision. 3 toothie extractions isn't too bad!

Many healing vines to you tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top