12/13 Yoyo AMPS 314,+2 200,+4.5 87,+5 97,+6 94,+7.5 122,PMPS 252,+2 268,+4 159,

Love all that blue and green on Yoyo's ss. Hope he earns a reduction soon!
Hope this bounce clears quickly!
God morning, Can you explain a REDUCTION. To me, I believe it means that he would get a .25 dosage reduction if he goes under 90. But if he gets the reduction, then wouldn't his numbers go up due to the lower insulin dosage?
 
I think he may have gone under 90 last night but I fed him and wanted him to go under 90 at a slow rate. Do you think I did right, or should I have not fed him and have let him drop under 90?
As long as you are not having trouble getting his numbers to come back up there is nothing wrong with feeding to keep him above 90. If you start having trouble, you'll need to reduce to keep him safe.

Can you explain a REDUCTION. To me, I believe it means that he would get a .25 dosage reduction if he goes under 90. But if he gets the reduction, then wouldn't his numbers go up due to the lower insulin dosage?
The idea with earning a reduction is the cat's body is getting used to normal numbers and hopefully producing it's own insulin. Then the cat won't need as much insulin. However, sometimes you have to go up and down in dose. That is part of the process. Not every cat will go into remission.
 
As long as you are not having trouble getting his numbers to come back up there is nothing wrong with feeding to keep him above 90. If you start having trouble, you'll need to reduce to keep him safe.


The idea with earning a reduction is the cat's body is getting used to normal numbers and hopefully producing it's own insulin. Then the cat won't need as much insulin. However, sometimes you have to go up and down in dose. That is part of the process. Not every cat will go into remission.
When Yoyo was 92@+3 I figured I better feed him because I knew he would drop more at +4. The 1/6 can brought him up at his +4 reading so I am glad to learn that he is reacting well to food at this time. Everything that you wrote makes sense with his body starting to produce insulin and the reduction. If I start to have problems getting his numbers to increase, then I understand that a reduction will happen. Thanks again:)
 
As long as you are not having trouble getting his numbers to come back up there is nothing wrong with feeding to keep him above 90. If you start having trouble, you'll need to reduce to keep him safe.


The idea with earning a reduction is the cat's body is getting used to normal numbers and hopefully producing it's own insulin. Then the cat won't need as much insulin. However, sometimes you have to go up and down in dose. That is part of the process. Not every cat will go into remission.
Hope you had a good day.....Yoyo was due for his insulin injection at 7:30pm but he is low. At 6:45 he was 180 and now at 7:30 he is 192. Do you think he needs a reduction or should I just wait until he reaches over 200?
 
He went under 90 today somearned a reduction to 0.5 units. You are probably safe to give insulin now provided you will be around to monitor. 192 is within meter variance of 200 and not much less than 213 which you have shot before.
 
He went under 90 today somearned a reduction to 0.5 units. You are probably safe to give insulin now provided you will be around to monitor. 192 is within meter variance of 200 and not much less than 213 which you have shot before.
Thank you! If I check him now and he is over 200, do you still suggest a reduction to .50 units?
 
With the 87, Yoyo earned a reduction. I'd take it if you haven't already shot.
As I wasn't sure of Yoyo's reduction because he responds well to food and his numbers increase with LC food, I gave him .62Unit- to the best of my knowledge. He responds well to food and that is why I did not give him .50Unit. If I did wrong, please correct me.
 
If you are going to take the reduction, it is best to go to 0.5 units. How are you measuring 0.62 units?
I figured .50Unit divided by 4 = 12.5Unit. I eyeballed it to .62unit.
I was just concerned about the reduction because he responds so well to food when he goes under 90. My concern is that now his numbers may go high again. But if you and Wendy both feel I should use the reduction for Yoyo and give him .50 unit, then I will listen as you both are very knowledgeable!
 
If you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction. You have to be careful so the depot doesn't get ahead of you. There is a chance if you don't take a reduction, the depot can get too full and then you'll have a hard time getting his numbers to come up. You can always to back up in dose if his numbers creep up.
 
If you are following SLGS, he earned a reduction. You have to be careful so the depot doesn't get ahead of you. There is a chance if you don't take a reduction, the depot can get too full and then you'll have a hard time getting his numbers to come up. You can always to back up in dose if his numbers creep up.
Thank you for explaining about the depot. I will start .50unit tomorrow morning. I want him safe at all times.
Thanks again for everything....have a great night!
 
Back
Top