12/13 Tawny - 1st & 2nd E-tube Feedings a Success!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Tawny is eating pretty well on her own today. When I got up early this a.m. she was hungry, so even though there were only a couple of hrs til shot time I let her eat. She nibbled a little at the canned Wellness Chicken, then turned her beautiful little nose up at it. So I put the dry s/o in front of her and she ate some of that. This of course spiked her BGs and her amps was an awful 425. The vet wants to control her BGs w/insulin and let her eat what she wants, she absolutely has to eat, but I have mixed feelings about this:

(1) they don't want me to adjust her BGs on my own & I am afraid that if I do they will refuse to see her;

(2) every time I have tried to transition her to the wet food since her first hospital stay she has turned her beautiful nose up at anything wet or dry mixed w/wet and she absolutely has to eat right now, even a hot fudge sundae if that's all she'll eat;

she is here w/me at THS today back in the office, just scarfed down a good amt of the S/O, is drinking a lot of water.

The e-tube was clogged, Dr. Amanda wanted to look at it so I took her back down there yesterday and Dr. Amanda got it unclogged by "pulsing" a little water thru it, then showed me how to do that.

Dr. Amanda also checked the consistency of what I was trying to feed thru the tube and said it was fine, and tested it in the practice tube.

I have mixed up a batch of Recovery w/CliniCare and strained it twice. It appears to be the right consistency and goes thru the practice tube just fine.

I am a little hesitant however to supplement her feeding on her own if she is eating her prescribed amount of the s/o (2/3rds c./day-200 cal) b/c i don't want her to throw up. however is this 2/3rds c./day-200 calorie business what she normally would need in a day? Doesn't she need 2.5 times the normal amt right now?

See, I am listening.... :smile:
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

I would trust the group on here. They know diabetics. Your vet doesn't or they wouldn't suggest not feeding for 24 hours for a cat with a history of DKA. Garland made a complete recovery listening to the group here. She had a vet that listened to her though, even prescribing the insulin R on her request.

So we need to get an action plan together.
1. Managing her BG - you have to do this. I will leave this to the insulin experts. Can you call them in your subject line?

2. Food. We have to get calories into her. They say to feed what ever she will eat. What will she eat consistently. Since she has a feeding tube you do not have to be scared = if she doesn't eat enough you can tube feed. We will figure out calories. So can you list what you think she eats well and what she will eat. If you think she is on a kibble kick maybe we can switch to high calorie Innova, Evo or Wellness Core - a lower carb kibble. List the wet foods also.

You have Recovery and Clinicare and wellness Chicken which is 200 calories for 156 grams.

3. Huge question for you guys. What is your best guess for the calorie count we are aiming for? Desi may have to feed a couple times over night. The FAF group needs to know also. They are helping just with tube feeding and getting enough calories - nothing around the diabetes.

They have recommended an accurate scale. But I understand that with DKA its not just about maintaining weight like it is with FHL. Can you guys give me a crash course here and I will share it with FAF?

We will work out a plan around insulin, calories, how much to supplement via the tube.

The tube is intimidating. I tell you my hands were shaking like I was on a vibration platform when I did it my first time. Remember what your first insulin shot and test was like? Mavericks tube blocked like ten times his first week before I started syringing. I was a wreck. But with the help on FAF he had his tube for ten weeks. When he got his tube out, I was lost LOL. It was like he had his tube forever and now he didn't have one.

Karrie
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

Happy to hear she's eating a bit and the tube is unclogged :smile:

As far as the insulin and foods.... I wish I had the "right" answer for you. I will tell you my experience: the reason Garland went into DKA in the first place was because my vet had her on a very low dose of 1u. And i was not home testing very much. Her numbers never fell below 300. You can tell by her SS, Garland needed much much more than 1u. If I hadn't raised her dose based on her numbers, I can almost guarantee she would have been right back in the hospital. DKA is tricky. To beat it you need fluids, insulin and food. Garland has had high ketones 2 more times since her original ER stay that I was lucky to catch early. (granted, she is a ketone prone cat) I agree that Tawny needs to eat. That's what is most important. But if it were me and Garland and I knew she was eating dry, I would want to find the right dose of insulin to counteract that.. I also fed her 2 times every night during the overnight hours until she was recovered.

But you also need to be comfortable because no matter what, she's your baby :)

For a FHL liver and DKA, she does need more calories than a healthy cat to heal . Karrie is very knowledgable and I trust her completely with FHL/etube advice . My vet was very understanding through our experiences though. I would consult with him often, and more times than not, he would agree with the advice given here. this board saved garlands life and has since kept her from another hospitalization.

I am praying so hard for you and Tawny. (((hugs))) Good luck :)
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

I don't have any answers or advice for you .. but wanted to tell you continued thoughts and prayers are being sent your way!
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

I'm glad that she's eating more on her own. I'm sending tons of healing vines and positive thoughts, and am continuing to wish for her to make a full and speedy recovery. You're doing a great job, Desi. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

Sending vines, white light, positive thoughts and eat Tawny. Hope things settle down somewhat for you Desi. We should nickname you EXHAUSTED, yur plate has certainly been full. Please tell Ms. Tink to get back to the falls.
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

((((Desi & Tawny))))
Thinking of you tonight. Please follow Karrie's advice, Desi. She really knows what to do in circumstances like yours. She's been there, and so has Violet, who really benefitted from Karrie's experience. Your vets are well meaning, but they have to deal with so many different illnesses. Here, on the board, we deal almost exclusively with FD and issues related to it. The sheer wealth of experience here is awesome. Don't be afraid of offending your vets. They want Tawny to be well again, too.
Sending Tawny lots and lots of eating vines, and lots of hugs to you both,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny Today...

OK, everybody's fed, medicated, e-tube food is prepared and strained twice & here is is almost midnight and I am just getting back online...

This morning I mixed a 5.5oz can of Recovery w/some CliniCare. Took it and Tawny & s/o to THS w/me. Tawny ate some s/o this morning, about 1/8th can of Wellness, and a couple bites of s/o mixed with Wellness, she does not like this at all.

Karrie and Maverick said:
...So we need to get an action plan together.
1. Managing her BG - you have to do this. I will leave this to the insulin experts. Can you call them in your subject line?

Will do tonite, & tomorrow 12/14, since it's so late tonite. Also I will ask the vet tomorrow when Tawny gets her ckup on her wound infection. I would like to go to 3.5u. She did well on this b4. Depending on the feedback here, I will do this regardless of what the vet says if it is advised. [/quote]

Karrie and Maverick said:
2. Food. We have to get calories into her. They say to feed what ever she will eat. What will she eat consistently. Since she has a feeding tube you do not have to be scared = if she doesn't eat enough you can tube feed. We will figure out calories. So can you list what you think she eats well and what she will eat. If you think she is on a kibble kick maybe we can switch to high calorie Innova, Evo or Wellness Core - a lower carb kibble. List the wet foods also.

You have Recovery and Clinicare and wellness Chicken which is 200 calories for 156 grams.

Vet prescribed 2/3 c of s/o dry per day (24 hrs). I am concerned that:

(1) Is this her normal healthy cat amount or is this her recovery amount? Isn't a recovering DKA kitty supposed to have 2.5 times her normal amount; i will ask tomorrow also.

(2) Should I supplement her eating on her own, if she is eating the full 2/3rd c s/o, with tube feedings & how much?

Today she ate 1/2 c s/o and the entire batch of e-tube-ready food by lapping it out of the bowl, off a spoon or off Danielle's finger. (Danielle is the ex-vet tech girl who owns the diner at THS). Tawny has been "grazing" on s/o again tonight. i mixed up a batch of wellness w/clinicare but she does not like it as well as what she ate earlier. so she ate some more s/o about an hr ago. I did not have to tube feed the recovery w/CC b/c she ate this on her own. She acts "full" tonight.

Karrie and Maverick said:
We will work out a plan around insulin, calories, how much to supplement via the tube.

Yes, please, we need a good regimented plan.

Karrie and Maverick said:
The tube is intimidating. I tell you my hands were shaking like I was on a vibration platform when I did it my first time. Remember what your first insulin shot and test was like? Mavericks tube blocked like ten times his first week before I started syringing. I was a wreck. But with the help on FAF he had his tube for ten weeks. When he got his tube out, I was lost LOL. It was like he had his tube forever and now he didn't have one.

It certainly is. That and knowing what to do and how.

Bed...falling alsleep... address this Wedinesday...desi
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny 1st etube feeding a success!

I'm back...

So I'm typing that last post & i was literally falling asleep w/computer in my lap so signed off, dug under the covers w/Tinkerbell & the other 6 cats on the bed, turned off the tv, closed my eyes...

And thought...

I don't like the amount of food Tawny ate, or rather didn't eat, tonight, at shot time, about 4 hrs ago. When she that Recovery that Danielle fed her at THS that was a good 7 or 8 hrs ago.

So I'm thinking (not sleeping) that I got this great batch of Wellness Chicken and CliniCare mixed up in the fridge just sitting there...

And if s/thg goes wrong w/the tube, well, we gotta go to the vet in the morning anyway...

So...

Click! (went my feeble little brain)

I did it! I actually did it!

Tube works good! Nuthin' to it. Got 40 mls of good stuff into her. Flushed it out w/5mls of water, was gonna do 7 but she kind of hiccuped so I quit.

She seems to eat better in the mornings on her own than she does in the evenings. She has been kind of grazing during the days, at the clinic on that awful s/o and then at the store, and I don't like the idea of her going all night w/out eating. Can't leave food out for her cuz of everybody else (they would steal it) and can't shut her up in a room cuz then she can't come out and be with us.

So I did it! I actually did it! It was easy. Now that the tube worked right.

I am actually going to sleep now. I have to get up in 5...no, make that 4-1/2...hrs to be able to get to our vetty appt on time.

We do need an action plan, as Karrie says. 40mls tube feeding every 4 hrs in addition to her eating on her own or...?
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny - 1st E-tube Feeding a Success!

No advice... just congrats on your e-tube success! I would imagine the first time is by far the hardest. Sending Tawny healing vines.
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny - 1st E-tube Feeding a Success!

Sending good vetty visit vines for today. I hope the infection is clearing up.
Congratulations on your first e tube feeding :-D
What does s/o mean?
 
Re: 12/13 Tawny - 1st E-tube Feeding a Success!

Dyana said:
What does s/o mean?

That's that awful dry food they got her to eat at the clinic - S/O dry, I think it's Royal Canin.

I'll open a today condo for her later. Just gave her another 40mls of etube fuds. I have not set out the s/o, i want to see what her BGs are b4 she gets any s/o, if she gets any. chances are at the vet they will set a bowl in front of her no matter what i say, and i don't want to switch her too fast and create too drastic of a drop, either.
 
When you open your condo today can you call DKA dosing advisors in your subject line?

Can you also repost my questions? Some still need to be answered by you ;)

So we need to get an action plan together.
1. Managing her BG - you have to do this. I will leave this to the insulin experts. Can you call them in your subject line?

2. Food. We have to get calories into her. They say to feed what ever she will eat. What will she eat consistently. Since she has a feeding tube you do not have to be scared = if she doesn't eat enough you can tube feed. We will figure out calories. So can you list what you think she eats well (and enjoys eating)? brand and flavours. If you think she is on a kibble kick maybe we can switch to high calorie Innova, Evo or Wellness Core - a lower carb kibble. List the wet foods also.

You have Recovery and Clinicare and wellness Chicken which is 200 calories for 156 grams.

3. Huge question for you guys. What is your best guess for the calorie count we are aiming for?
Desi may have to feed a couple times over night. The FAF group needs to know also. They are helping just with tube feeding and getting enough calories - nothing around the diabetes.

They have recommended an accurate scale. But I understand that with DKA its not just about maintaining weight like it is with FHL. Can you guys give me a crash course here and I will share it with FAF?

We will work out a plan around insulin, calories, how much to supplement via the tube.
 
Congratulations on the tube feeding!!! I'm continuing to send tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts for her and am also continuing to wish her to make a full and speedy recovery. Desi, you're doing an awesome job. :YMHUG: :-D
 
This is so wonderful to hear!

great job, Desi!

and tawny...make the most of this! :lol:

funny-pictures-cat-rings-bell.jpg
 
Hi there!

For a kitty recovering from DKA, you want to feed at least 1.5 times the calories required under normal circumstances.
The feeding tube will be a great help with getting enough calories into Tawny.

Is Tawny getting any SQs?

Keep the following in mind-
Not enough insulin + not enough calories + infection leads to ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top