12/13 Samwise AMPS 339 PMPS 424

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 339 skinny .5u

A much better reading than the last few days. Sammy's back down to pink. It's not great but better. He did toss his breakfast this morning though. I should add that he gets fed at least 1 to 1.5 hours before his shot. He eats mostly FF but does get some Friskies. He likes the meat flavors and turkey the best. I do rotate foods every day. He will also get into Oliver's dry on occasion. The dry is always a high quality brand with no corn, wheat, soy, etc. Usually Nature's Balance.

PMPS 424 SKINNY .5U
 
Re: 12/13 Samwise AMPS 339

sueandsamwise said:
.....I should add that he gets fed at least 1 to 1.5 hours before his shot. ....

Are you testing before or after he eats? Spitzer can go up 200 points in an hour from eating.
 
Re: 12/13 Samwise AMPS 339

I am testing after he eats. I am going to try and change his shot times so I can get in the test before the noms. I'll have to start moving his shot times back starting tomorrow. I am shooting at 7:30am-7:30pm and I think that going to 6 to 6 would be better. I get up at six and so the cats get up and want breakfast. Sammy gets fed because all the other cats eat too.
 
Re: 12/13 Samwise AMPS 339

Tests after eating explain the high numbers, then, at least for the AM values. Your data may look much better if you can test, then feed and shoot.
 
Re: 12/13 Samwise AMPS 339

With 13 cats all screaming for breakfast I can totally understand, but around here they just have to scream until Musette gets her ear pokies. Luckily she sleeps with us, so I just roll over test her, then grab the food dishes and start feeding the Fur Gang, once the cats are fed, I start DH's breakfast, fill Musette's syringe, go shoot, come back to the kitchen finish DH's breakfast, and fed the dog. All in all it takes me about 30 minutes to test, feed 13 cats, 1 dog and 1 human, and shoot. Then once everyone is fed and DH is out the door for work it is Mom's turn to eat, before heading off to do the litter boxes and breakfast dishes.

If you can get those tests in before he eats you will probably see much better morning numbers, I know Musette can at times really spike off food.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/13 Samwise AMPS 339

I'm not sure if you've been advised about moving shot times earlier, but please remember that giving earlier shots = a dose increase. Even if you do it in 15 minute increments over a series of days that can cause BGs to go low. My method for doing earlier shots works with Levemir, but I am not sure how it works with Lantus.

An hour and a half is not much, for Samwise you could reduce to .25U and do it on a day where you can watch him and test to get an idea how it works. You would also want to test after the PM shot as well, to make sure it doesn't overflow the shed. Normally I suggest reduce by only 15%, but I still think Samwise is getting too much insulin to begin with, so the 50% drop is safer.

Just thought I would suggest it. We recently had Mookie go too low to get shot on time because of moving shot times earlier. See that thread there: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58511

I believe that reducing the dose by 15% and just jumping to the earlier time, as long as it is not earlier by more than 2 hrs, has less risk of causing lows and causes less bounces, than reducing in 15 min. increments over several days, but that is only my experience on Levemir with my cat. Others have tried similar with Levemir and it works for them. We just have not had enough people use it with Lantus to know how safe it is, but I think it's worth a try.
 
Man, I don't know if I'd be gutsy enough to just jump back and 1hour and a half with half a shot. I could try it though. I think I should see if anyone has done this on Lantus. I could do it on a Saturday or Sunday when we are home and can watch Sammy.
 
How can I be sure he's getting a quarter of a ml with my needles. It's bad enough with over halves but quarter? I just don't know.
 
sueandsamwise said:
How can I be sure he's getting a quarter of a ml with my needles.

I think you mean a quarter of a Unit, not an mL.

First, I put on magnifying reader glasses over my own glasses; its too hard for me to see it otherwise!

Then, I look at the 0 line and the 0.5 line.

I try to eye ball a halfway point between the top edges of both lines (the lines have some thickness, so use the same edge on each line)

I may need to adjust a bit and I'll do that by sort of pinching the plunger and rolling my fingers to carefully lever the plunger in or out a bit more. Some folks turn the plunger slowly while pressing in to squeeze out a tiny drop.

Note that drop sizes can vary - if you push out enough that a drop falls, its a bigger drop than if you barely make a bit of insulin show on the end of the needle and wipe it off.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top