12/13 - Pip - AMPS 351, +2 286, +6 254, PMPS 185,+2 79, +2.75 77, +3.25 92, +4 119, +5.5 225

20251210_165147.jpg
 
Mr Pip is at 185 PMPS, it's his lowest reading since starting Lantus all together.

Do I shoot the usual 2.25 in 2 minutes?
Let him eat and test again in 10?

Thank you!
 
194 after food... so close to 200

I am here with him all evening and have my hypo kit ready so I guess I should shoot?

I'll wait another 10 minutes if I hear nothing I will shoot
 
I know this is almost the first time you're seeing him in the blues, but this is the range you want him in.
So you want to help keep him in this range for as long as possible.

Likely he'll bounce after being in this range, but just test him at +2 and give him a bit of food (not too much).
Same for +4.

But let's first see where the +2 takes him. This is good stuff. He's working his increase. He's at the high end of the blues, which is great.
Tell him he's a champ, and so are you. I know it's scary at first, but you're a fast learner!

How's your health today?
 
I know this is almost the first time you're seeing him in the blues, but this is the range you want him in.
So you want to help keep him in this range for as long as possible.

Likely he'll bounce after being in this range, but just test him at +2 and give him a bit of food (not too much).
Same for +4.

But let's first see where the +2 takes him. This is good stuff. He's working his increase. He's at the high end of the blues, which is great.
Tell him he's a champ, and so are you. I know it's scary at first, but you're a fast learner!

How's your health today?
I just told him how proud I am of him and that he's the pippiest Pip who ever did pip in the whole world!

I am still pretty sick, but my partner brought me a humidifier and a costco portion of dayquil and nyquil as well as homemade soup :)
I just woke up from a nap so I will be up past +4 with my My Pippip πŸ’•
 
Last edited:
I was told (after I did it), to never feed them in order to bring up their numbers in order to shoot. You will be shooting a false number, as the food will raise him artificially and you need to know where he will be. That it's better to wait and test again than do that. Hope someone can learn from my mess up. πŸ˜…
 
Well, it's up to the Pipmaster General now. Let's wait for the +2.

In your hypo kit, make sure to get some medium carb food, like around 12-15%, I believe is the range. This is great for whenever you might need to nudge your cat up. Just as an FYI.
 
I was told (after I did it), to never feed them in order to bring up their numbers in order to shoot. You will be shooting a false number, as the food will raise him artificially and you need to know where he will be. That it's better to wait and test again than do that. Hope someone can learn from my mess up. πŸ˜…
Ok so I should have witheld food and tested 15 minutes later? Just so I do it right next time :)
 
No, you should not. His #s are in a perfectly good range. You did exactly the right thing.

What Tyleete is referring to is if your cat is very low at the preshot time. Then you can stall, and test again in a while.
Have a look at the article about shooting low #s.

Pip was in a normal range. You're just not used to seeing that - at least not yet. You just go ahead and test/feed/shoot.
True, sorry. My version of low and others seem to be a bit different.
 
He's decided this is going to be an active cycle.

It's a good idea to give him a small amount of medium carb food, like two tablespoons, to keep him from diving down, and then test him at +3.
 
You can definitely give him some more medium carb food. You want to gently steer his BG numbers with food, so some medium carb food will help keep him from going lower. He's a big boy so I'm guessing he has a healthy appetite.

It's actually not a bad idea to test him 20ish minutes after you gave him the medium carb food, just to see how it's affecting his numbers.
 
You can definitely give him some more medium carb food. You want to gently steer his BG numbers with food, so some medium carb food will help keep him from going lower. He's a big boy so I'm guessing he has a healthy appetite.

It's actually not a bad idea to test him 20ish minutes after you gave him the medium carb food, just to see how it's affecting his numbers.
He's at 77 20 minutes after the medium carb so I will give him the rest of the can and check again in 30 minutes :)
 
You probably won't have to, but getting a newly-diagnosed diabetic cat regulated can involve some evenings just like this! (Speaking from experience 😸 back in 2013-14. I was fortunate to get a lot of very caring hand-holding.)

And the good thing is, you'll have people to be here with you. You aren't alone in all of this.

So, let's see what your next reading will be, Pipperoni!
 
That's great. Please give him a bit more food, a small serving, and it can be low carb, or a low carb-medium mix.
Just to keep him surfing along. πŸ„β€β™€οΈ
Gave him a bit more fancy feast at +3.5 and he is now at 119 at +4 :)

Should I test again at +5 to be sure he's going up and then call it a night?
 
I would suggest that you set an alarm for his +6, test, and depending on his number give him a bit more food if necessary.
Then, depending on whether his number has gone up or down, set an alarm and test him again at +9.

It isn't going to always be like this, I promise you 😺
Just the first few times, for a cat getting used to insulin can be like a late-night feline tapas bar!

Pip will likely bounce for a couple days, and you'll get plenty of rest. But we never know what tricks our beloved felines have up their sleeves.

If you have any questions later, tag Wendy who's on the West coast.

This was your first really active cycle for the both of you, and you get a gold star on the fridge.
You're doing an amazing job.

Bonne nuit !

Gold star on the fridge.png
 
A couple notes on tonight, first - congrats on that first green! That definitely means you hold the dose longer.

Second, it looks like it took him more like 30 minutes to see the impacts of carbs, good you tested at both 20 and 30 minutes after. It can take 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream. You've just learned something more about Pip!

When feeding early in the cycle to slow him down, try not to feed too much. You do want him to be hungry later on, if you should need him to eat more. That 119 could be influenced by the medium carbs you gave him previously. A test at +5.5, if you are going to be up already would be fine. Higher carbs can last a couple hours, so ideally test 2 hours after the last carby meal, which looks like it was +3.5.
 
A couple notes on tonight, first - congrats on that first green! That definitely means you hold the dose longer.

Second, it looks like it took him more like 30 minutes to see the impacts of carbs, good you tested at both 20 and 30 minutes after. It can take 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream. You've just learned something more about Pip!

When feeding early in the cycle to slow him down, try not to feed too much. You do want him to be hungry later on, if you should need him to eat more. That 119 could be influenced by the medium carbs you gave him previously. A test at +5.5, if you are going to be up already would be fine. Higher carbs can last a couple hours, so ideally test 2 hours after the last carby meal, which looks like it was +3.5.
Thank you Wendy for all the info it means a lot :)

I can definitely stay up and test at 5.5 :)
 
He's back up to 225 at +5.5 that was quite the dip!

Am I good to go to sleep now should I check again at +9?

thank you all so much
 
Back
Top