12/13 Neko PMPS 140 +4 148 -2nd Annifursary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday, green start, check out yellow floor, then a long blue surf. cat_pet_icon

12/12 Recap:
AMPS 88 :mrgreen: +3 256 +9 136
PMPS 120 +3 135 +7 127

All systems OK in Neko land so far today. Too early for play (other than whacking). CPC as ever, she's now waiting for Otto to deliver +2. The rain seems to have stopped after melting what little snow we had, but it's still wet out so no reason a cat would want out.

Two years ago today was the day we got Neko's diabetes Dx. I knew the vet had the b/w results but she was busy and I was impatient to hear from her, so I went into the clinic and got the staff to give me the results. And there it was in black and white. And then questions started. Why would she have diabetes? She ate mostly low carb wet food - I had found Dr. Lisa's web site at the beginning of the year and was trying mostly low carb wet to get them to lose weight. And I immediately went onto the internet and started searching - I found FDMB right away. By the time the vet called a couple of hours later, I knew enough to question why they were going to prescribe Caninsulin - it's what they did. My vet was going to be away the next day, but a locum would be there to get us started on insulin and practice shooting. Some of my favorite gems from the locum "It's OK to reuse the syringes, some people use them three times, but maybe just do two times". "Watch the cat for 20 minutes after the injection, and then you are OK" - a particularly good one given we were shooting Caninsulin. :roll: He didn't explain that nadir was the time to be vigilant for hypo, or when it might be. And we were scheduled to come back in 2 weeks for another fructosamine test. The one good thing he said was "you may want to think about learning to do blood tests at home". And a two months later a better locum got us on Lantus and showed me how to blood test.

We've all been through the stress and a million questions at diagnosis time. The fun thing for us was that our main water line started leaking that week so we had to get that replaced, and then number two cat decided Neko shouldn't have all the vet fun and that's when his cystitis started. Yikes! It's amazing how much has improved since then. This holiday season is shaping up to be a lot less stressful. Neko is doing SO much better. Two years ago I was treating Neko like a delicate piece of china I didn't want to break. She was hungry all the time - on the counters, in the kitchen sink. I wasn't home blood testing yet :oops: but I knew when the Caninsulin wore off a couple hours before shot time. It made us both miserable.

But thanks to FDMB I finally got a better insulin and 5 months after that I finally got the answer to the question "why did Neko get diabetes". I thank everyone here who provided advice, support and humor to keep me (mostly) sane. Special thanks to Julie, Marje and Sienne for their support while I had to keep on increasing the dose. On their advice, I booked Neko into SRT (stereostatic ratiation therapy) at CSU (Colorado State University). I think we were cat #33 to do this. As the cover of the high dose/acro cat calendar says - these SRT cats really are pioneers. But it was so worth it. I have my sweet tempered, soft furred, lap loving kitty back. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

Happy Annifusary Neko and Wendy! I'm so glad that everything worked out for you and that we all get to know you. Use the syringes three times?? :shock: I had the same sort of vet, although she did show me how to blood test...then when I found FDMB and started following TR she told me I was doing too much :lol: And told me to feed her dry, and more food instead of changing the dose. So glad for this board and all of you special people to support me and others :-D Looks like I'll be back daily starting tonight nailbite_smile But THIS time, I know to use a good insulin, test...and have help.

Anyhoo, hope you and Neko have a great day! Not a bad start to it number wise :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

Happy Annifusary! I'm glad things have gotten much more stressful over time so that Neko is still a wonderful snuggly lap-catty part of your life :-D
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

Congratulations that is great, glad every thing going ok
Don't get by enough these days
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

Hey Neko, I want to wish you and your mamabean a HAPPY ANNIFURSARY!! Let's celebrate! I'm baking cimmamum cookies this afternoon. Wanna come sit on my radiators and munch?
~ Rusty


Hi Wendy, Wishing you and the "cover girl" a great day with lots of nice treats and scritches!

dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

HAPPY ANNIFURSARY!!!​

Amazing to look back and see how much healthier and happier Neko is. You are a great bean.
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

What a wonderful story about Neko, and how lucky for Neko to have such loving beans!

And how lucky for us all we found this place no one ever wants to be!
 

Attachments

  • happy anniversary singing.jpeg
    happy anniversary singing.jpeg
    44.7 KB · Views: 349
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

It is bittersweet to say Happy Anniversary. I'm so glad Neko is doing so much better. I don't think I'd still have Furball with me if we hadn't found FDMB. I hope Neko helped celebrate by surfing for you today.
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 - 2nd Annifursary

Happy Annifursary,Neko! We are sure glad you and your bean found this place. :-D :-D :-D Like Zener says, "More petting, less worry."
Liz
 
Re: 12/13 Neko AMPS 122 PMPS 140 -2nd Annifursary

Happy Annifursary Wendy and Neko! And thank you for sharing that story! :-D This has been one heck of a journey for you two (for all of us), and to think; what you had to trust in the vets to teach you, and how much more you could educate 'them' now! It must be pretty exciting to be a part of the Acrocats. I honestly didn't know it was such a new discovery.
Yes, as much as noone ever wanted to have to be here, there is no denying " There's no place like LantusLand"!
Hugs and scritches to you and Neko! (scritches are for her) :lol:
 
PMPS 140 +4 148
Thanks all for visiting Neko while I was out and about. I finally delivered the baby sleep sack I made to the new mom. And got to a Christmas party after dinner. I do love how flat Neko can be on Levemir. :-D

@Rachel, Amy, Linda, Ella, Melissa, Nancy, Anne, Carla, Liz, Kim - Two years seems like a long time to some of you and not so much to others, but we all share the common bond of the family that is Lantus Land. It's been a saviour to me and Neko. She is so much healthier and I am so much less stressed. I can so relate to Zener's saying, "more petting, less worry".

@Kim - Acrocats are not so new a discovery - but vets were taught they are very rare (not so true anymore). SRT is what is new. It does involve traveling to either CSU in Fort Collins or Yonkers in New York for 4-5 days, so it a commitment not all can make, and I'd bet most vets don't know about it.
 
Happy Annifursery Neko! Aren't you glad that you've such loving beans taking care of you! Be good & stay in the lagoon.
Hi Wendy, it's me visiting Neko's condo. Happy that both of you are doing great. Reminds me of Rosy coming to her 2nd Annifursery in Dec too! I've been busy with preparing to move next mth. Without a com, I was not able to come to LL often. Hope DH can fix that after we move. Rosy's and the gang are doing ok.
Wish you & family a peaceful &merry Christmas!
Helen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top