12/13 Doodles AMPS 121 +3 145 +5 116 +9 156 PMPS 143 +4.5 166 - Failed Reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles knows I go back to sleep on Sundays so gave me a little higher preshot number...good boy!

Feeding the curve @ PM+4 (57) worked nicely and glad I didn't wait until the usual +5. There was no way he was getting a reduction that soon. These days I've been able to tell by they way he stays close to me when his cycle is going to be more "active" with these new green numbers we're lucky too be seeing. Doodles 12/12

Hope all the kitties and their beans have a good Sunday. Extra vines for Marilyn & Polly, Fuzzy and Will, Ella & Rusty, Sienne & Gabby, Bubba and all the rest who need them.
 
I'll see what happens during the daytime cycle but at this point I'm thinking the reduction from 2.25 to 2 is failing. His body really adjusted nicely to the greens and I don't want that to go away. I hadn't seen him that happy in what seems like forever. Any opinions? I will be getting a good night sleep and not setting any alarms tonight.
 
I'm not sure what's going on today, but I'd give him another day to see if tomorrow will bring greens back. If you don't see them tomorrow, then I'd go back up.
 
My guess is this is just an off cycle. I don't really think it's a failed reduction. Perhaps it's one of those days where the insulin absorption wasn't as good as normal.

In any case, since you reduced because he got to 49, yes, if you decide it's a failed reduction I'd go back up to 2.25u. If he'd dropped into the 20's or 30's. then i wouldn't go back to 2.25u, but with just a shade under 50 I think it's fine.
 
My guess is this is just an off cycle. I don't really think it's a failed reduction. Perhaps it's one of those days where the insulin absorption wasn't as good as normal.

In any case, since you reduced because he got to 49, yes, if you decide it's a failed reduction I'd go back up to 2.25u. If he'd dropped into the 20's or 30's. then i wouldn't go back to 2.25u, but with just a shade under 50 I think it's fine.

Thanks Julie. You've been with us since the beginning and sincerely appreciate your continued support. Have a good evening...
 
@julie & punkin (ga) , just trying to understand the process. I am totally confused.

I see that the read is inflating in the blues recently but with SLGS, I have the instruction is to determine the dose to STAY if the nadir between 90-149, which it is.

And, also, the nadir went below 90, (49) so that directs to a REDUCE, not stay. I can see that the reduction is questionable with the read on the climb. Are you following TR? I don't have the protocol outlined in an easy read.

And, the low is below/or 100 and preshot below 300, which would say STAY and re check.

So, I would appreciate how you are to pick which one, when there is clearly some confusing directives with SLGS, if not TR. I am sure my vet would have a fit if he saw the low of the nadirs and thought I was increasing the dose.....he would pull my insulin script.

Thanks for patience.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) , just trying to understand the process. I am totally confused.

I see that the read is inflating in the blues recently but with SLGS, I have the instruction is to determine the dose to STAY if the nadir between 90-149, which it is.

And, also, the nadir went below 90, (49) so that directs to a REDUCE, not stay. I can see that the reduction is questionable with the read on the climb. Are you following TR? I don't have the protocol outlined in an easy read.

And, the low is below/or 100 and preshot below 300, which would say STAY and re check.

So, I would appreciate how you are to pick which one, when there is clearly some confusing directives with SLGS, if not TR. I am sure my vet would have a fit if he saw the low of the nadirs and thought I was increasing the dose.....he would pull my insulin script.

Thanks for patience.

Hi Kari, maybe I can help. Doodles is now following TR and has a history of failed reductions which Julie is aware of and one reason I'm happy he is off the dry and we're able to do TR. Remember ECID which is way we "ask" questions and the mentors get to know your cat. I've chosen to be a bit more aggressive and although Doodles hit the 49 which earned him a reduction it took very little effort to bring him back up. Below area few bullets from TR that has me wondering if this is a failed reduction for him.

  1. If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
Hope that helps.
 
Hi Kari, maybe I can help. Doodles is now following TR and has a history of failed reductions which Julie is aware of and one reason I'm happy he is off the dry and we're able to do TR. Remember ECID which is way we "ask" questions and the mentors get to know your cat. I've chosen to be a bit more aggressive and although Doodles hit the 49 which earned him a reduction it took very little effort to bring him back up. Below area few bullets from TR that has me wondering if this is a failed reduction for him.

  1. If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
Hope that helps.
Thanks. Helps me to understand the logic and of course I want nothing but the very best for Doodles! I was not questioning the advice just trying to understand where it came from vs what I have in my notes. :cat:
 
Thanks. Helps me to understand the logic and of course I want nothing but the very best for Doodles! I was not questioning the advice just trying to understand where it came from vs what I have in my notes. :cat:

Glad you asked! When he first hit the greens he acted a little lethargic but that has since passed and we really want to keep the momentum for his sake. When they first achieve the lower numbers acting lethargic is normal...it's like a person who drinks coffee and they stop (I never would lol) they feel "off" for a bit until their body gets use to not having caffeine and eventually feel much better.
 
Glad you asked! When he first hit the greens he acted a little lethargic but that has since passed and we really want to keep the momentum for his sake. When they first achieve the lower numbers acting lethargic is normal...it's like a person who drinks coffee and they stop (I never would lol) they feel "off" for a bit until their body gets use to not having caffeine and eventually feel much better.

I saw that too when Mocha was low. She was just "nappy."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top