12/13 Blackie PMPS 120, +3 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58492&p=636096#p636096

Removed the extra 0.10 oz. of steamed chicken from her snacks, and have increased her Evo 95% C&T to 0.90 oz. 6x/day.

I thought that she needs to be between 50-120 in order to earn a reduction, no matter the amount...? She's been a bit higher than that in later mid cycles, hence I would think that she needed to come down a bit on those #s, too?
I haven't given her a reduction since November 30th because of her higher PS #s. She's been on 1u since then. I was under the impression that her PS #s would also need to be below, or up to 120 before I give her a reduction.

I'm all for shaving at this point, if it means that her PS #s will hopefully come down from these higher points. I appreciate it. Thank you.

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing (especially Tawny and Weezer) make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92

I have no idea! Come on down Blackie! That is kind of high for you pretty girl. Have a great day Angela!
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92

Blackie, mamabean would like a bit lower on the preshots. Please come down just a bit and make her happy.

Have a good day Angela.
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92

Your link to yesterday's condo isn't working and I don't have time to search for your condo.

If you look at the protocol, if numbers are mostly in the normal range for a week, you can reduce. I believe what I suggested was that for a longer term diabetic, especially when at small doses, in my mind it makes more sense to shave doses. If you were to take a full 0.25u reduction (whenever Blackie may be ready), that would be 25% of your current dose. That's a big reduction. My comments were in general, not meant to suggest that you should reduce.
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92

Angela, I'm sorry I haven't been keeping up lately so maybe this has been suggested. Have you tried feeding a snack at +8 or +9? Sometimes if the pancreas is working, that feeding can help stimulate the pancreas to bring the preshots down.
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92

No, I haven't tried that.

Right now, her meals are as follows:

AMPS - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+5 - 0.50 oz. steamed chicken
PMPS - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+4.5 - 0.50 oz. steamed chicken
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92, +5.5 63

Hi guys .. no advice here on the dosing questions .. This morning blackie started a little high but she certainly came down nicely .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92, +5.5 63

Angela, I'm thinking along the same lines as Libby...I would suggest trying a snack at +8 or +9 and see if that brings Blackie's PS numbers down. It can't hurt....just try it as an experiment and see what happens.
 
Re: Dosing Question - 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144, +2 92, +5.5 63

I think I would try the EVO...that's what I used with Mr T.

I'll be interested to see how the experiment goes! Good luck! :smile:
 
Re: Dosing Question 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144 +2 92 +5.5 63 +6.

+6.5 88

Makes me wonder if I should lower the steamed chicken snack further if her #s keep doing this.

Another question is... How much of a snack... 0.10 oz... 0.20 oz...? She's getting 0.90 oz. 6x/day as it is.
 
Re: Dosing Question 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144 +2 92 +5.5 63 +6.

Right now, I would just try the experiment....I wouldn't worry about changing the total amount of food just yet. I would try about 1/2 of a normal feeding or a bit less....maybe 0.3-0.4oz? Once you see what the effect is, then you can worry about changing the other feedings to balance the amount out if she responds well.

The idea is to spread out the food more when the pancreas starts working...small amounts spread out more over the whole cycle helps to keep the numbers more even. Feel free to look at how we adapted the schedule for Mr T. We started out front loading and not feeding at all after nadir. As he went down the ladder, I added a small snack late (+8 or +9) and then gradually shifted the food from the early part of the cycle to later to even things out.
 
Re: Dosing Question 12/13 Blackie AMPS 144 +2 92 +5.5 63 +6.

+8 - 0.40 oz. Evo 95% C&T

I've decided to try this and see what she'll do for a week. Can I give her a snack at +5, or +5.5? I'm going to have a hard time waking up or going back to bed in the middle of the night.
 
Re: 12/13 Blackie PMPS 120

PMPS 120, 1.0u, 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 77 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+4.5 - 0.50 oz. steamed chicken + 0.40 oz. Evo 95% C&T

It's a step in the right direction... Given her history, she tends to be a bit springy for a few days. :lol: We'll see how this goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top