12/13/20 Squeaky! +6=106 AMPS =340 +5=162 PMPS=93 +3=145

Going by the testing today, looks like Squeaky is in a bounce breaking cycle, Jan!:cool: He is on the beach and might go lower. I'd recommend getting a +7.

Thanks for your message! Ideally I would have gotten a +7. However last time we tested hourly Squeaky had such a terrible reaction. He became kind of neurotic. He was twitching, shaking (quivering), and running.

I think if I can test every 3 hours when he's surfing, that's about the best I can do. Instead of testing in between those 3 hours, I'm just feeding. I will have less data, but my cat won't end up with some kind of panic attack. Not ideal I know. But I have to be realistic. I need to do the absolute minimum.

So I just tested him at +9, and he wasn't happy about it. I can easily get away with 4 tests a day, but more than that...... well I gotta be careful.

So he was 171 at +9. Still pretty good, hopefully he won't bounce high by PS.

Thanks for checking in!!!!!
 
Seeing your note in your SS about trying the gabapentin, I think that may be worth doing. If the buprenorphine isn't quite controlling his pain, the small boost from the gabapentin may be enough to get it under control. Hopefully that will make his appetite better.

Start with the lowest dose your vet has recommended for the gabapentin first and see how he tolerates it. Most cats do fine on it, but some are sensitive (I have one who can barely walk on 50mg... and another who's taken 300mg with no noticeable side effects). It usually takes 2-4 hours to kick in fully.

Hope it helps :cat:
 
Seeing your note in your SS about trying the gabapentin, I think that may be worth doing. If the buprenorphine isn't quite controlling his pain, the small boost from the gabapentin may be enough to get it under control. Hopefully that will make his appetite better.

Start with the lowest dose your vet has recommended for the gabapentin first and see how he tolerates it. Most cats do fine on it, but some are sensitive (I have one who can barely walk on 50mg... and another who's taken 300mg with no noticeable side effects). It usually takes 2-4 hours to kick in fully.

Hope it helps :cat:

Hi THH, Thank you for checking in! I didn't know anyone was reading the comments!!! :):bighug::D:kiss:

The vet prescribed 50 mg dose. However I'm wondering, given that Squeaky probably is very sensitive, about starting with 25 mg instead and see how he reacts. I can always give him another 25 mg later if nothing seems to change.

What do you think? Thanks a bunch.
 
Last edited:
Wondering how I can do this with a minimum of BG tests......

Planning on feeding every hour, then testing again at +3.
 
Last edited:
I think he's headed up. His nadir was probably 93 or somewhere in the second half of the AM cycle.

How do you feel about an increase to 4 units?

Because if he was stable his numbers would still be green or much lower, right?

Well, he has been getting more greens on 3.75, but he's still bouncing. Part of that bouncing could be attributed to pancreatitis pain. I just gave him a first small dose of gabapentin tonight, and he immediately went green. So I'm not sure about increasing. Should I post a dosing question? In the morning, that is. Have a good night and many many thanks.
 
Because if he was stable his numbers would still be green or much lower, right?

Well, he has been getting more greens on 3.75, but he's still bouncing. Part of that bouncing could be attributed to pancreatitis pain. I just gave him a first small dose of gabapentin tonight, and he immediately went green. So I'm not sure about increasing. Should I post a dosing question? In the morning, that is. Have a good night and many many thanks.

If his numbers are high because of pain, gabapentin should drop them pretty quickly. If he's tolerating it well, try giving it twice daily (assuming that's how your vet prescribed it); it usually lasts 8-12 hours.

Very curious what today's AMPS was :cat:
 
If his numbers are high because of pain, gabapentin should drop them pretty quickly. If he's tolerating it well, try giving it twice daily (assuming that's how your vet prescribed it); it usually lasts 8-12 hours.

Very curious what today's AMPS was :cat:

365
 
Back
Top