12/13/11 Choco+2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62, +4 62, +5 66, +6 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleesan71

Member Since 2011
Good Morning,

As you can see, Choco tested at amps 167. I was expecting to see high results but they are actually pretty low. I was instructed to start giving him 1.5 units but am very worried that given his numbers this morning, he will have a repeat of last night just because the amount on the syringe looks like such a minute difference from 1.5 units to 1.75. I'm going to feed him. Please advise.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36615
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

I would give the 1.5 as instructed. Libby and Sienne know what they are talking about.
Is it +12 already, from the time you shot last night? Boy how time flys.
Most likely he will continue to rise, you are giving a reduced shot, and this PS is 50 points higher than last night's PS.
You will be home today, still have plenty of strips, and can go get some more HC if you used all you had last night, right?
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

Wait. Did you shoot at +12 last night or at +13? I just want to make sure, because you should shoot 12 hours after your last shot, and my notes that I scribbled on a piece of paper say that Choco's +3.5 was 11:00pm (EST) and that would make your +12 7:30pm.
If this is true, then I would just shoot at +12 (not at +11.5) the reduced dose. So you have another 35 minutes before the shot, right? Sorry, if I'm a little foggy, yet. I need to go put the coffee on.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

Hi Dyana,

I shot him with the 1.5 units so I will check him again at 6:30. Thanks for all your help last night as well as this early Sunday morning. Yawwwwwnnnnn..... :O)
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

smiley-sleep017.gif
me too. <--although, I really don't look that grumpy.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

Good morning ladies ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

I'm glad Choco is doing better. You and I and our kitties started this "new way of life" exactly on the same day. It is just two weeks and it feels like a very long time.

Hope everything is calm today.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

marleesan71 said:
Last night I shot at +13.25 (7:15pm) and today I shot at 11.75 (6:45am).

Okay, thanks for clarifying. I was going to try to have you wait until +12 (7:15am = 12 hours since your last shot) because the PS numbers this morning were not super high, but that is okay. Since you shot 30 minutes before 7:15am then you shot the AMPS at +11.5. kwim? +11.75 would have been 15 minutes early or 7:00am.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco amps 167

Today, while you have a lull, if you are awake enough, you can start to fill in the missing pieces on your ss.
Like, besides adding all those BG numbers, I would note the non+12 shot times

either in the Units column right under the actual number

like last night:
1.75
@13.25

and this morning:
1.50
@11.5


or in the comments section.

Good luck.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

Today he's going up. I don't know. Do you have an example on your ss of how I could put last nights numbers in? How would I put this 12.5 on my ss? It wasn't my amps and there is no #12.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

You did great last night and should be proud of yourself. Choco should give you a break today so you can catch up on your sleep. Have a good day.

Pattie
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

Good Morning: Great job last night. To add the numbers to your ss, you go to the +hour and put 12 @ #, 12.5 @ #. You can put more than 1 entry in the cell just stretches it out. How are you this morning. Glad Choco seems good.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

Thank you Pattie. I sure hope he gives me a break. I need some zzzzz's. :O)
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

Dyana, I will see if I can post the numbers from last night in the comments section.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +11.5 167, +12.5 195

You can look at J.D.'s spreadsheet on 12/24/10 and 12/25/10 for an example of one way to do it.

If you shot that 167 at 11.5, then the subject line of your first condo should say
02/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195
Please let me know if you don't understand, and I'll explain.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

Looks like I got it (for now;). Thank you and after Choco's last test, it looks like it's safe for me to go back to sleep. Thank everybody for working with me so early this morning and I'll see you in a while.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

02/13/11 :smile:

I'm going to try to get an hour's sleep too.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

Hi, good morning, and GOOD JOB last night! We were following your adventure, but didn't want to get in the way. You are doing just fine. Get some sleep today and give that kitty some extra scritches.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

Good Morning! We too were following your adventure last night, and also didn't want to get in the way - AWESOME JOB!!!! :-D :-D You did really great. I am looking forward to seeing what Choco can do today.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

morning, guys!

hope you get a nap!

doing great...

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192

You have to manually change the color if you have more than one number in each cell on your SS. There's a tiny square with different colors in it that allows you to change the colors. You may also want to do the same thing with all of the tests you gave last night.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192, +5

Thanks to everyone who followed last night. Whooo, what a long night it was. Sienne, I will be working on my ss in a bit to try and update things and I did go back and fix the colors. Thanks for all of your schooling. I will get it all one day. Any advice on how to post his picture? Every time I try it says it's too big and I don't know how to make it smaller. I love seeing everyone's pictures and I would love to post Choco's.

Choco is doing just fine today. He once again is snoozing on the bed with the very tip of his tongue hanging out. He's a silly boy. :O). I feel the monster of a migraine I had yesterday trying to creep back in so I'm going to to get some medicine in me and stop it before it gets out of control. Hope everyone is enjoying their Sunday! :O)

Maria
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco AMPS 167 (at +11.5), +1 195, +1.5 192, +5

Nice day for Choco. Ditch the migraine. Hope you get some relax time like Choco is. He is resting for all the work you did.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 195, +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105

If you open the picture in the microsoft office picture manager, click on the Picture tab and choose "Compress Picture." Choose the email option, as it is the smallest. Then, crop the picture to get it within the KB and megapixel limits.

You guys did great last night! I hope that you were able to get some rest. Nice to see that Choco thus far doesn't seem to be bouncing much at all... fingers and crossed for both continued good numbers, and a good night's sleep for you!
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 195, +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154

Thank you Christie. I will try that. I was having a problem with my ss earlier because it kept coming up as an unknown error. I got it fixed and am trying to update it form last night. Choco is in there trying a new food and it's not looking like he's loving it too much. ;O/ It's all about trial and error.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 195, +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154

Will do Barbara. Choco has definitely had a pretty good day and so have I. I want to ask everybody how they go about their daily routine when it comes to testing, eating and shooting. I just want to make sure I'm doing what I'm supposed to be doing. I've kind of mentioned my schedule in past condo's but I just want to make sure. My normal schedule is to test him at 6:00am/pm, feed him and then by 6:15-6:20 he has finished eating and I shoot him. Also, to get back on my normal schedule for when I go back to work on Tuesday, I just want to double check that it will be okay for me to test him at +11.5 tomorrow which will put us back on the 6:00 schedule. Thanks!
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 195, +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154

Your schedule sounds fine. You can shoot him while he is eating. That is what I used to do. How much off schedule are you now? What time do you leave for work? How is Choco eating? Does he like the new food? I know, questions, questions.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 195, +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154

I love questions! :O) I usually start everyday at 6:00. In the mornings I leave the house at 6:30 and then don't get home that evening until right before 6:00. I tested this morning at +11.5 which was 6:30 so I was thinking it would be okay to do +11.5 again to bring me back to 6:00. I had to help him eat tonight but it was only because he didn't like the food. I bought four cans of the food he DID like the other night so I shouldn't have a problem tomorrow. Time to test him again.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157

I would get a +2 also. Do you get up before 6:00? If you could get up a little earlier and test, feed and shoot and then get an out the door test before you leave for work that would be good. You have tomorrow to adjust the shot time so that should not be a problem. You can feed him a little food now so he does not drop. I'm sure we will have more quetions for you. Do you have catsickles of the food he likes made? See you in 1 hour. Nice job.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157

I do not have catsickles made. I need to go and buy some ice trays. If I started earlier (say 5:00 or 5:30) then he wouldn't be getting his next test and shot until +13 everyday because I don't get home until right before 6:00 and then in the morning, he would be getting everything at +11 or +11.5. Did I make sense?
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1.5 192, +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157

Yes, that makes sense. I don't know about shooting at 12.5 on a regular basis in fact I don't know that a +5 would tell us much. Good luck making your catsickles. Also, you can remove some of the numbers (+1.5 192, +5, etc) from the subject line to add tonights numbers.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101

He has dropped to +2 101. I gave him a couple bites of his LC food. I will check him again in a half hour.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101

That's right, give him a little food to keep him from dropping too much and surfing. Good Job.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +5 92, +7 105, pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101

I shoot Binks while he's eating and he's so busy scarfing that he doesn't even notice..
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84

Here we go again. I don't understand why this is happening for a second night. Anybody got any ideas? I gave him a little HC (Fancy Feast/Gravy).
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84

This is a safe number. We just don't want him to drop too low or too fast. Feed a small amount and check in an hour. You are doing fine.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84

didnt want to clutter up your condo yesterday, but to get the smilies into your post, you just click on the one you want wherever you want it in your text.

:-D
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5

Is he eating small amounts of food? That will keep numbers up and surfing.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5

I just gave him some more food and a drop of karo. Barbara, do you know why this would be happening again?
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco pmps 154, +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5

These are nice numbers. We just don't want him to go too low. His liver is evidently not panicking - not high bounce. Hang in there his nadir looks to be around +5. See you in an hour. You are doing fine and so is Choco. Have you checked ketones today? THanks.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62, +4 62

I did a keytone check earlier today and the test was negative. I was too scared to wait an hour so I did it a half hour later. Looks like the HC and karo helped to keep him holding. I will stop freaking out and wait an hour to do the next check.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +1 157, +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62

You're doing good, and you are in safe hands. I hope you get Choco on a nice surf board and get some sleep.

I just wanted to mention something about the benefits of getting up early and testing at +11 (at 5:00am or 5:30am whichever your +11 is), and then testing again and shooting at +12.

I mostly do +11 tests on work days. It gives me some comfort and time to think if J.D. is low at +11, and it also gives me time to post for help if I am concerned about shooting his regular dose.

For instance:
If I get a +11 of 160 (J.D. has been fairly high lately :roll: ) and a +12 (PS test) of 190, then I feel safe in giving his shot and leaving for work.

If I get a +11 of 160 and a +12 (PS test) of 110, then I think he may be dropping, and may leave out higher carb food for him, before I leave.

I also try to get an out the door test the second before I leave.

Just thought I'd share that with you, in case it's something you want to try.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62, +4 62

Drop has stopped. Small amounts of food will keep Choco surfing. Nice cycle. You are doing great.
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62, +4 62

Hi Dyana,

Yes, that does make sense to test him around 5:00 so that I can get a feel for his numbers between +11 and amps. I would still always have to shoot him around 6:15 to stay on schedule though. Do you know if this drop in numbers for the second night could be because he's getting too much insulin? I think I might go crazy if I have to go through this every night. :o
 
Re: 12/13/11 Choco +2 101, +2.75 84, +3.5 62, +4 62, +5 66

Choco is holding. Do you have food out for her? Nice day. How are you holding up?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top