Melanie and Smokey
Member Since 2010
Night numbers were crappy, but today is coming down again. May not get any more before PMPS. I've got to get some time in at work.
Went to the Vet with one of the other cats today and talked to her about Smokey's puking. She would like try withholding food (and therefore insulin) for 24 hours to see if that helps right the stomache situation. Obvious concerns about withholding food from a 14 yo cat who has already gotten skinny and is always hungry and withholding insulin for 24 hours when those last skipped shots caused problems enough. She hasn't puked since yesterday AMPS +4 (so 24 hrs), so I am thinking we wait at least until we see the puking return? Any opinions?
She is diagnosed with chronic (not acute) pancreatitis, liver disease, possibly triatitis with those two present. Before the first round of diabetes she weighed 14.8 pounds (in her pic in my avatar). She dropped down under 11 and we got her back up to just over 12 when we got her regulated. The pancreatitis took her down to the mid 11s and now she has slipped back under 11 again. The only meds she gets for the P and liver issues is Ursodiol. It is for the liver, but it seems to keep them both in check. She's never presented with ketones, but I don't check that diligently either because she's never shown signs of them.
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=58438
Went to the Vet with one of the other cats today and talked to her about Smokey's puking. She would like try withholding food (and therefore insulin) for 24 hours to see if that helps right the stomache situation. Obvious concerns about withholding food from a 14 yo cat who has already gotten skinny and is always hungry and withholding insulin for 24 hours when those last skipped shots caused problems enough. She hasn't puked since yesterday AMPS +4 (so 24 hrs), so I am thinking we wait at least until we see the puking return? Any opinions?
She is diagnosed with chronic (not acute) pancreatitis, liver disease, possibly triatitis with those two present. Before the first round of diabetes she weighed 14.8 pounds (in her pic in my avatar). She dropped down under 11 and we got her back up to just over 12 when we got her regulated. The pancreatitis took her down to the mid 11s and now she has slipped back under 11 again. The only meds she gets for the P and liver issues is Ursodiol. It is for the liver, but it seems to keep them both in check. She's never presented with ketones, but I don't check that diligently either because she's never shown signs of them.
yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=58438