12/12 Simon AMPS 178!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Member Since 2013
As always, giving insulin to Simon sets him up for higher numbers for a spell and then his pancreas takes over. I decided NOT to give him a shot today as at +1, he was coming down a bit after eating. His gums are not infected per the vet but "inflamed" much like a human with periodontial disease so that is why it is ok to wait until January for his cleaning. Vet did not think any extractions are needed at this time but they will see when he is under as his teeth did not look decayed.

Will see what PMPS time brings. Hubby is going to get a +6 also if possible as he will be in and out and so it might be a +7. Either way, no shot as an experiment as I always see the numbers increase when he is doing well and I shoot him on one higher number. Has been the pattern several times after he has gone OTJ. We shall see....
 
Good idea to see from how high a number he can bring himself down. Misty's line in the sand in 150. Then Rumpel can surf for several cycles on her own. I'd find a number and when he reaches it, shoot. You don't want to lose your gains.
 
AMPS 178
+1 167
+7 128~~ without insulin!!

We shall see what pmps brings...he did fine without a shot...not as low as I would like but Mr. P is obviously still hanging around. I worry more about higher numbers when he GETS insulin lately than when we skip it. I almost shot him this morning, but decided to see if he would come down on his own and he did. Hmmmmm, wonder what tonight will bring?
 
AMPS 178
+1 167
+7 128~~ without insulin!!
PMPS 133 - no shot and falling numbers from the morning.

Food is his drug of choice, not insulin. Strange but true.

The vet told me that I can shoot low (as low as 140) since I have so much data and know how to shoot smaller amounts according to his pre shot numbers and so I opted to use 140 as the cutoff for insulin. BUT, I gave him insulin yesterday on a 151 and he spiked higher than he had been in almost a month so decided to skip the shot on a much higher pre shot this morning of 178 (which I believe was caused by GIVING him that shot yesterday which I know is counter-intuitive) because evidence has shown me that Simon's pancreas works better without juice on numbers under 200 or so.

We will see if our luck holds out. His numbers today, while not ideal, show that his pancreas is working with food. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top