12/12 Sammy bouncy

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
previous :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109795

Sammy started yesterday in the mid 300's due to a bounce. She slid down nicely to 241 so I gave usual dose and headed to bed. She stayed with me the entire night, which is weird, so I got up at +7 (3am) to test her. She was down to 63, but quite happy, purring and snuggling. Fed her some FF low carb. We napped again (me sitting up on the couch, snoozing) and then got up at +9.5 to test. She was then 77. We are not quite 2 hours to her AMPS, will check in again soon.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7-63, +9.5 - 77, +11 is 151

one hour before preshot test and she now jumped up from her greens into blue at 151.

Dosing thoughts confused_cat
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

Let's see what AMPS is, but there are basically three choices:-)

Just want to be sure, but these numbers are from a "human meter" and not a pet specific one?

1 - if you are trying to follow the TR protocol, the numbers would indicate that you hold the dose at .5u, provided you are going to be able to test today, and that AMPS isn't a lot lower than 151.

2 - if you aren't comfortable with that dose, you can reduce to .25u at AMPS. The protocol sets guidelines. They aren't hard and fast "rules".

3_ if you aren't good with those two options, you can skip the shot.

What are your thoughts?
Carl
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Let's see what AMPS is, but there are basically three choices:-)

Just want to be sure, but these numbers are from a "human meter" and not a pet specific one?

1 - if you are trying to follow the TR protocol, the numbers would indicate that you hold the dose at .5u, provided you are going to be able to test today, and that AMPS isn't a lot lower than 151.

2 - if you aren't comfortable with that dose, you can reduce to .25u at AMPS. The protocol sets guidelines. They aren't hard and fast "rules".

3_ if you aren't good with those two options, you can skip the shot.

What are your thoughts?
Carl

I am thinking that I am going to give her some insulin, for sure. I will wait to see the AMPS to make a decision on how much. Testing might be difficult today, although I should be home by about +7 or so.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

If she's higher at AMPS, it might mean the greens last night caused a bounce, in which case the .5 should be good.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
If she's higher at AMPS, it might mean the greens last night caused a bounce, in which case the .5 should be good.

AMPS is 140. So she is dropping again, what do you all think confused_cat . I tested twice at AMPS to be sure.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

That probably qualifies as "flat" rather than dropping. But it doesn't show a bounce for sure yet.

You said you would be home by +7? How soon do you have to leave?
I think I would probably err on the side of caution and go with .25u?
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
That probably qualifies as "flat" rather than dropping. But it doesn't show a bounce for sure yet.

You said you would be home by +7? How soon do you have to leave?
I think I would probably err on the side of caution and go with .25u?

I went with my gut and shot a .25 unit. I just have a feeling she is up to something. Will swing back past the house at about +2 or a little later for a quick test, then off until at least +7.
Thanks for your help
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

You're welcome, and I'm a huge fan of "going with your gut" too. :-)
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

what's Sammy's eating pattern - ie, does she suck up all the food the moment it's put down, or is it possible to leave food out for her? are there other cats/dogs at home that would eat food if you left it out?

the ideal scenario when you're going to be in and out, would be to have food available to her until she was past her nadir. that way you could shoot the full dose and feed her, then come home and check her at +2 and see where she's "pointed." I used punkin's +3 as my pointer because he never dove, and +3 was the earliest he ever might need carbs. we always fed him then anyway.

our timed feeder (PetSafe 5 compartment) was always set to go off at +3. then either my husband or I came home and checked him at +4. If it looked from his tests that he might need more carbs before he got safely through, we reset the timed feeder for +4.5, +5 and +5.5 or +6 to dole out low carb or high carb food, depending on what we thought he might need

many people use timed feeders. Some who don't have them freeze cat food (mixed with some water) in ice cube trays or muffin tins to leave out so the cat can nibble on them as they thaw. Cats that don't eat everything at once can just have regular canned food left out for them. I sometimes left one ice cube in the food to keep it fresher until punkin ate it. but mostly he ate everything the second he saw it, so we couldn't just leave out food.

Just want to toss this out there as an option. Food (carbs) is the tool we use to keep our cats safe.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

So to recap, she was 140 AMPS and is now 229 at +5. This little girl is living up to her name that the SPCA gave her before i got her ... Spunky.

I feed her small meals as often as possible. She will eat most of a half can of FF Pate if its been awhile since she ate. Oddly, she likes her food piled back up for her.. if it spreads too much on the plate, it will sit there and go crunchy. If I use a shallow bowl, she eats the middle, leaves the edges. Do you get the same feeling that I do.... I am an indentured slave to 9 pounds of Cat.

The two cats generally keep to their own cat dishes. And of the two, Sammy is the most likely to polish off all or most of what I put in front of her (assuming its a small meal day). On those days when i am going to be out of the house for an extended period of time, i have put food on a plate with a light plastic bowl turned over it... when they get hungry enough, they push the bowl out of the way. How do I know, you ask..... well, I have a kitty cam of course!
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

I'm guessing the +5 is the bounce off last night's greens.

Too funny on the kitty can, but I imagine you've gotten some great videos.:-)

Yep, we're pretty much all slaves to the kitters, lol.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

I have added a picture of her as my avatar. Might as well see who you are so kindly helping care for.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1

Bouncy bouncy! Up to 23.6 at +9. Goofy girl. She also flinched away from me when i was poking her and tore her ear a bit, I finally got it to stop bleeding and slathered it with polysporin with pain relief. Poor kitty.
 
Re: 12/12 Sammy PS of 241 to +7 of 63, +9.5 of 77, +11 is 1



oh we have twins! Sammy looks just like my McGee! i got him in August when he was 5 months old. this pic was taken within a month of that, so he's bigger now. he was hanging for dear life onto the end of a feather "bird" wand! it's one of my fav pics of him so far.

you're probably seeing a combination of a bounce (definitely) and possibly just less insulin because of the dose reduction. I would go back to your 0.5u tonight. we usually would hold a dose until she goes below 50. dosing decisions are made primarily by nadirs, not by preshots, although sometimes ya gotta do what you need to do.
 

Attachments

  • phpJU9xctPM.jpg
    phpJU9xctPM.jpg
    16.3 KB · Views: 160
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top