12/12, Sam,AMPS 128,+2 94, +3 64, +4 70, +5 84, +7 121, +8 135, +10 116, +11 130, PMPS 211

Nothing wrong with another reducie if he falls under 90, and that’s what our SLGS dosing method calls for. Sometimes you just have to follow what the BG patterns are telling you. When things fall into place, for some cats they go down the dosing scale quickly.
 
Nothing wrong with another reducie if he falls under 90, and that’s what our SLGS dosing method calls for. Sometimes you just have to follow what the BG patterns are telling you. When things fall into place, for some cats they go down the dosing scale quickly.
Okay, do you think remission is possible for him then? Or did we just have him an a stupid high dose? I’m hoping i can get him off of insulin, unlikely, but i’m hoping
 
Wont eat wet food, gave a bit of corn syrup due to how fast he’s dropping. Will retest in an hour; he’s had plenty of food this morning
 
Good catch today, I'm glad you were home to see it.

As Christie says, sometimes pancreatic healing can happen quickly. I think you are also seeing the effects of starting at a higher dose and then switching to all low carb food. That always impacts the dose, sometimes quite dramatically.

As for remission, it's hard to say for an individual cat. The chances of remission are always better if a cat can get regulated within 6 months of diagnosis. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission. Regulation is also a pretty good place to be, if Sam's pancreas isn't up to working 100%. It looks like he is trying to get regulated.
 
Good catch today, I'm glad you were home to see it.

As Christie says, sometimes pancreatic healing can happen quickly. I think you are also seeing the effects of starting at a higher dose and then switching to all low carb food. That always impacts the dose, sometimes quite dramatically.

As for remission, it's hard to say for an individual cat. The chances of remission are always better if a cat can get regulated within 6 months of diagnosis. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission. Regulation is also a pretty good place to be, if Sam's pancreas isn't up to working 100%. It looks like he is trying to get regulated.

He definitely is it seems. He was very diabetic at diagnosis: blood sugar of 540 despite not eating for 12 hours, lost a bunch of weight. When he started on lantus 1 unit did nothing; i tried it for 2 weeks and he kept drinking 500-800 mls a day, super hungry, not putting on any weight. So it’s weird that 1 unit now is fine for him. The diet changed from almost 100% dry to now 100% wet, that helped i imagine
 
The most extreme case I've seen of the evils of dry food was a cat named Scooter. Without his caregiver knowing it, he was jumping up on counters to get at another cats dry food. He was up to 5.5 units of insulin. The caregiver removed dry food from the house. After two really scary days of fighting hypos and that large depot, Scooter was in remission.

Most cats on insulin start at a lower dose, then we increase safely to what we call a "fitting dose". At that point, they start seeing some healing numbers (greens). When that happens, the pancreas begins to recover and do more of it's job. Meaning less injected insulin is needed, and the dose starts going down. Healing is not a linear thing, there can be ups and downs in dose. So don't be disappointed if Sam's reductions slow downs or he needs a temporary increase again to kick start the healing process. It's all perfectly normal.
 
Diet change indeed can make a difference to insulin needs and bg levels. Looks like he’s got a little surf going :cool:

img_0652-jpg.63769


With his lack of interest sometimes in eating, you might try also some of the gravy foods, just open the can and squeeze out some of the gravy to prop up the numbers. Syrup works too, I’ve never used it since I prefer the gravies given how carb sensitive my Mav is. He’d go ballistic on syrup :rolleyes:
 
Okay, sounds good. I’m just worried i’m going down too quickly. So i guess it’s kind of like a positive feedback loop? More greens leads to reduced insulin resistance/pancreatic function improving, leading to more greens and repeat.
 
Good catch today, I'm glad you were home to see it.

As Christie says, sometimes pancreatic healing can happen quickly. I think you are also seeing the effects of starting at a higher dose and then switching to all low carb food. That always impacts the dose, sometimes quite dramatically.

As for remission, it's hard to say for an individual cat. The chances of remission are always better if a cat can get regulated within 6 months of diagnosis. Regulation is a prerequisite to remission. Regulation is also a pretty good place to be, if Sam's pancreas isn't up to working 100%. It looks like he is trying to get regulated.

What do you mean by get regulated?
 
The definitions of regulated are in the New to the Group Sticky Note. I am not on my computer, so making you go and read it.
 
We have A LOT of stickies, good job getting yourself informed! I’ve seen four threads going at the same time for the same cat, so no need to be sorry, it happens more than you think. Just gets confusing (for me anyway) :p
 
We have A LOT of stickies, good job getting yourself informed! I’ve seen four threads going at the same time for the same cat, so no need to be sorry, it happens more than you think. Just gets confusing (for me anyway) :p
Yeah, gets confusing sometimes. Sam’s doing well today! Thankfully i had a surprise day off (forgot i had scheduled it as an earned time off day; i get one for every 14 days i work, best part of being in a union).

Thanks for your help by the way. ALSO; just gave sam 1 spoonful of chicken pate, he was hungry. Got about 3.5 hrs before next shot
 
Happy to help, you are very welcome :). Look at you go with the testing, it becomes second nature, and all data is good data. I’m so happy to see Sam doing well, and I think it makes a difference for you too, less stress. Just remember that until they get regulated, sometimes you’ll get some numbers that might not be what you want, so hang in there, and hang in here. I might also suggest it helps when you can put in the comments when (in the cycle) you intervened with something and what. This helps for future reference because you can go back and look at what worked or didn’t work, as well as for others who pop in to see how the cycles are going.
 
Happy to help, you are very welcome :). Look at you go with the testing, it becomes second nature, and all data is good data. I’m so happy to see Sam doing well, and I think it makes a difference for you too, less stress. Just remember that until they get regulated, sometimes you’ll get some numbers that might not be what you want, so hang in there, and hang in here. I might also suggest it helps when you can put in the comments when (in the cycle) you intervened with something and what. This helps for future reference because you can go back and look at what worked or didn’t work, as well as for others who pop in to see how the cycles are going.

Absolutely will make a note of that. As an aside; is honey or corn syrup better when hypo?
 
When cats go under 50 on human meter, we would generally say feeding high carb (over 15%) or a couple drops of syrup and test more often, to ensure the BG levels are rising. We are always mindful of watching for symptoms of hypo and certainly if there are severe or concerning symptoms, it’s always best to get immediate vet help.

Any simple sugar like karo, honey or syrup should bump up numbers quickly as should HC canned gravy food, but the trick is they also can wear off quickly which means you need to test often to be sure numbers don’t go back down in the wrong direction, since numbers can bobble around depending on where you are in the cycle and how much of the insulin effect is still in the works.

More light reading :bookworm:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
This is looking very similar to his last full curve. Realized I had messed up the testing times, had to change the title and spreadsheet.
 
Last edited:
Gave 1 unit and 1 TSP of wet food given he’s had so much today and his high levels.


PMPS 211 (edit; i think this is where it should be).
 
Last edited:
Back
Top