12/12 Rhubarb +11.75 83, AMPS =95, +1 140, +8 103, +10 108, no PMPS, +2.25 85, +3.5 43, +5 50

majandra

Member Since 2018
Yesterday

Despite MC and HC food last night, Rhubarb still is sitting at only 83@AMPS. Think she earned her reduction with her low numbers last night along with still good bg.
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Good idea for lowering dose now as a trial. I'm not comfortable giving a full dose this morning anyway with having to leave for work in an hour, and no idea when I will be back near civilization.
 
I'd leave food out for Rhubarb so that she can nibble if need be since you have no idea when or if you will be able to monitor. Maybe a bit of MC just to be safe. She looks to possibly be on a mission! :joyful:
 
Gave something between 0.1U and a drop. Pushed plunger almost to the soft stop, and made sure to fully depress when administering the shot. Ended up giving it 5 min late so I could get that second test in.

EDIT FOR DOSE CORRECTION!
 
Last edited:
You mean something between 0.1u and a drop right? It's been a while since Rhubarb was on 1unit. Will you be able to get a test in before you leave?
 
I'd leave food out for Rhubarb so that she can nibble if need be since you have no idea when or if you will be able to monitor
I always leave food out- she grazes. And yup will be leaving some 8% out too.
DH asked why I gave the shot at all, and I said because she came up between tests, I'm giving a reduced amount, and giving her a bit higher carb food. That makes sense right? He's still learning, mainly from me.
 
Last edited:
I said because she came up between tests, I'm giving a reduced amount, and giving her a bit higher carb food. That makes sense right? He's still learning, mainly from me.

You are now shooting lower numbers and it takes some getting used to for most folks so I can understand DH's question. You've never shot that low before but doing so gets them surfing along in great numbers for longer periods. With a rising BG, a bit higher carb food left out and the reduced dose, you've taken the next step toward helping Rhubarb maintain those healing BGs.
 
That +1 was up so I don't think you need to be concerned (I know easier said than done! :rolleyes:;)). She has food and got very little juice today. She's just going to surf along and chill till you get home.
 
That +1 was up so I don't think you need to be concerned (I know easier said than done! :rolleyes:;)). She has food and got very little juice today. She's just going to surf along and chill till you get home.

Oh I hope so! I have seriously thought of asking for a detour to the house for a washroom rather than a biffy lol
 
So DH wasnt feeling well and took my instructions literally when I left for my lesson. I said to give Rhubarb her shot at 7 ... and he did, and that's all. ugh. I should have been more specific given not feeling well.
 
I just peeked at your SS. You mean he didn't take a pre-shot test?! :banghead: UGH is right. It looks like she might have been 6 or slightly higher but that's just a guess. Given you don't know where Rhubarb started this cycle and she's at 4.7 at +2.25, she may need a bit of monitoring and possibly some steering tonight. I can stay up with you for awhile till we see what she is up to.

I'd check her again at +3 and see if she is still dropping. What time is it there now?
 
Ok you said you're feeling under the weather so I'd pull out the big guns as in HC food and give her some gravy from it and a tsp or so of the food. Don't want to fill her up in case she needs any more steering tonight. Let her eat and test again 30 minutes post food.
 
Sure that test schedule works. You may need to test a bit but don't take your frustration out on Rhubarb and start using her like a voodoo doll! :woot: I only suggested the HC to try to slow her down a little faster. Let's see what the MC does for her.
 
For a buck from a vending machine at a gas station when we drive through Saskatoon ... we collected a bunc
 

Attachments

  • 20181212_230122.jpg
    20181212_230122.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 55
She is up a bit but you need to get her up more before you can put your guard down. She looks like she usually hits nadir around +4 to +5. Test again in 15 minutes.
 
Yes!
I'm not entirely sure how to get much less insulin than I am getting now in a syringe. The only thing left is literally the auto-draw from sticking the needle into the pen cartridge with plunger depressed and releasing, although I dont know how to get bubbles out with that.
 
A bit off topic, but this evening I did my last riding lesson of the calendar year, and I jumped a full course (smaller cross rails). That's the first I have done any jumping since July. I was thoroughly ecstatic! after the instructor said, btw, that taller crossrail, I told you the center was 18" high, which is correct, but due to the steep sides, you actually jumped 2'3" !!!! She didnt tell me while doing the course because I may have faltered needlessly.
 
Well theoretically she earned another reduction BUT she got no food at shot time. If she had food, would she have achieved that 2.4? HMMMM! That's definitely a new dilemma. See where she is in the morning. You can always try the reduction and if she goes up, take her back up a smidge.
 
I feel so bad yanking Rhubarb off the couch for testing, but with hubby sleeping, I can't do it where she lays like normal.
Brb, testing.
 
Last edited:
I told you the center was 18" high, which is correct, but due to the steep sides, you actually jumped 2'3" !!!! She didnt tell me while doing the course because I may have faltered needlessly.
Wow! That is impressive. Congratulations! You must be over the moon! Do you have your own horse?
 
Well theoretically she earned another reduction BUT she got no food at shot time. If she had food, would she have achieved that 2.4? HMMMM! That's definitely a new dilemma. See where she is in the morning. You can always try the reduction and if she goes up, take her back up a smidge.
She did have 1 oz lc in the auto feeder that opened 15 min after shot- it was gone when I came home. So it was maybe 0.5 oz less than she normally eats in that time frame. and usually that first 0.5 oz is only achieved by repeatedly placing dish at her feet.
 
I do, but he is 28, and no longer rideable due to a heart murmur that came as a complication from pneumonia ... that happened a day after Rhubarb was dx'd.
 
If Rhubarb had food then I say go for the reduction. And with that low a number at this point, I'd say definitely go for it.
I think it's time to give her some more food to get her up a bit so you can get some rest. Maybe a bit of MC and then check again 30 minutes later.
I'm sorry to hear about your horse and having it happen right when Rhubarb was diagnosed must have been devastating. It's so hard when our animals are not well we certainly don't need a double whammy. I had my middle child get sick while my diabetic was in the ER because she stopped eating. Turned out he was just pining for his girlfriend but man I was freaking out for a few days.
 
She's not being very interested in food right now :/
I brought her into the comp room with me so I don't disturb dh's sleep any more, and she's hiding under the desk.
 
She is at a totally normal reading but ideally given the evenings events, it would be nice to get her up a bit higher. Will she lap up some gravy from the food?
 
Back
Top