12/12 OliverAM585+3 HI +4 335 +7 177 +10 282 +12 440 +

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
I went back to 2 units this AM
There are several factors
I felt he was staying high for to long
He may have found the other cats dry food (stinker) not positive but thought this may be a factor. Now Xing the issue for both.
He has been drinking water the last 4 days A lot like first diagnosed Urinating very large amounts. Just am concerned about his organs and struggling with levels that high.
Begging again. For anything that he can get or try :) Which is a sign of high #'s for him. When more stabble thigns are calmer and he is more relaxed. He acts like he has a job all the time to get your attention and satisfy something to feel better. :(
Seems fine and alert and healthy. Been playing a little.
I just felt he needed more so we will see.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109786
 
Re: 12/12 Oliver AM 585

Good luck with the dosecrease...you are very intune with Oliver! Work that juice, Oliver!!!
 
Re: 12/12 Oliver AM 585 +3 HI

Level afte AMPS 3+ is HI on monitor meaning above 600.
?????
Call into vet, gotta go to work :( will be back around 12 and test again.
Sad for him :(
 
Re: 12/12 Oliver AM 585 +3 HI +4 335 +7 177

Yay Oliver is at a 177 hope holding strong Prayers welcome.
I do believe I will hold with the 2 units. Waiting on vet to call to give the results for the last few weeks.
Would we say this is a bounce again? and its due to the increase from 1.75 to 2,0 this AM?
 
Re: 12/12 Oliver AM 585 +3 HI +4 335 +7 177

i don't really know what it's about. i doubt it's from the dose increase, only because Lantus is a depot insulin and the way it slow releases you don't usually see an immediate reaction like this. it's not impossible, but i kinda doubt it. i think now that you're getting more mid-cycle tests in we'll be able to tell if it's bouncing or the dose of insulin is wrong.

just fyi, because of the way Lantus works, you can't "knock down" numbers like you're thinking if Oliver got into some dry food.

here's an explanation of it. Fast acting insulins will knock down numbers, but with cats, a long-acting insulin helps control their numbers better. if something happens, like the cat eats dry food or you have a fur shot (somehow you don't get the whole shot in), we just wait it out. It is important to understand how Lantus works and it will help explain some of the weird things you will see.

Lantus What is the Insulin Depot?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top