12/12 Mookie's +11 89, Need advice on AM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well looking at his spreadsheet he looks like he is rising, my default with Musette when I get numbers like this at a preshot is to wait 30 minutes without feeding and test again to see where she is heading. Just my personal thing is I'm never comfortable shooting a full dose on a number less than 120, but that is just me. So I would like to see him closer to 150 before going with the full 1.5u as he is getting some pretty long hang times there. I might be tempted if he is around 120 on the next test to go with either .5u or 1u, unless he takes a really big jump up in numbers.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
If you are going to be around to monitor I would feed and shoot. I would shoot a full dose on a 174 if you are also feeding at the same time and I was going to be around to test at least a couple of times throughout the day. Lantus is going to take a couple of hours to kick in and so will the food. You should be good to go.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
No problem, lets just hope Mookie can keep up the good numbers :-D I'm just never comfortable shooting when they are in "normal' numbers I know some do shoot those low numbers but it makes me nervous..Anything over 120 I have no problem with, it is just those double digits and low 100s that makes me worry. But that is when my meter becomes my best friend. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, I got 219 at 10:25, then fed him, then shot 1.25U at 10:45. I decided to bump the dose down a little since we're off on the shooting schedule. AM shot should have been at 9:30. I hope I didn't mess things up. This is the first time I've strayed from the original dosing schedule.

I posted over on the TR board, too. Sorry if that was wrong -- I'm still learning how to do all of this.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58508&p=635492#p635492
 
You did good, decreasing a little bit will help to get him back on schedule. Just watch him tonight and to make sure you are shooting a rising number. Of course neither of my diabetics would read the stickie notes on how Lantus was suppose to work. :lol: So I'm not a lot of help with dosing a 'normal' diabetic...Maxwell decided in about 2 weeks those shots were nonsense and he would like to control his bgs himself with food, and then Musette decided that while she would like insulin she just didn't like it all at once, twice a day and would zoom up and dive way low..so I had to get creative with her. :roll: But that is what makes this board great there is enough of us around all the time to answer most questions or help you figure out what is and isn't working.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Earlier shots equate a dose increase. Even moving shots up in 15 minute increments over a series of days can cause lower preshot BGs. I recommend staying at 1.25U until you get done with the shot time changes.

Also, from the spreadsheet I see the possibility his dose needs tweaked. One of the things I think needs done more often is dose in percentage increases/decreases rather than .25U's. I know anything else is difficult to measure, but there are ways to learn to be fairly accurate at unusual doses, 1.1U, 1.6U.

From the fact you're getting lower numbers with earlier shots tells me he might need a little more than 1.5U, but maybe not as much as 1.75U.

Anyone else?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top