Re: 12/12 Mookie AMPS 219, +1 250
Welcome to Lantus Land!
Lots of people land on this doorstep far less prepared than you and Mookie! You'll do just fine. There are a lot of us here with varying levels of expertise and lots of experience with different parts of this process. We learn from each other. You've been collecting volumes of data!! (You may want to look at Gabby's SS for how I stack info if I'm testing within a particular hour. At least for me, the way you have your AMPS from today, it's a little confusing. Remember, you can use the comments section for all of the pre-shot tests, as well.)
Just so you have it handy, there is a post on
what to do if you have a low pre-shot. It's helpful to bookmark the information or print it out, especially if there's no one around at the moment you need help.
As a rule, we don't adjust the insulin dose based on when we're shooting. There are times when it's appropriate to give a reduced dose (e.g., a low pre-shot and you're not going to be around to monitor) but we tend to try to minimize tinkering with the dose because it usually results in wonky numbers. Some of the people who are posting in the Lev forum or on the Relaxed Lantus forum will used a method for altering the dose based on what time your shooting.
If you've not yet had a chance to look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the board, they will act as an introduction. There's a good amount of information to absorb. The good news is that you've got home testing mastered, you're spreadsheet is up and running, and you're transitioning Mookie to a LC (low carb), canned food diet.
One last point for this evening. Since you shot an hour late, your PMPS is 12 hours from your AM shot. Depending on what Mookie's numbers look like today, you can start moving your shot time back. You can either shoot 15 min. early twice a day or 30 min. early once a day until you're back on schedule.
Please don't hesitate to ask questions. The people here are extremely generous with their time and their knowledge.