KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
Last night, his PMPS number was 79. It was like he never came back up from his morning nadir yesterday. I tested him every 15 minutes or so and it held steady, even dropping a little. An hour later, when it was at 72, I decided to skip the PM shot and feed the poor bugger because he hadn't eaten in almost 8 hours and it didn't look like his numbers would be climbing any time soon.
After four days of pinks and yellows, to now see him holding steady at blues and greens without a dose increase is such a beautiful sight that I'm terrified it might be a sign of something else going on.
Re: the carb convo from yesterday
Basically, what I'm trying to get at is that with the Atkins diet for people, it's the total grams of carbs consumed throughout the entire day. So, even if something only has 9 grams, you can't eat it if you've already consumed your allotted amount for the day. In the same manner, even if a food has 3% carbs, how many actual grams it has is a different story. So, what I'm trying to figure out with Mikey is what his limit of physical grams of carbs is vs. the low carb percentage.
For example, if we look at a 3oz can of Fancy Feast's Chicken Feast, it contains 91 calories with 4% coming from carbs. 4% of 91 is 3.64 calories from carbs. Basically, each gram of carbs is equal to 4 calories, so divide that by 4 and you have .91 grams of carbs per 3oz can. If Mikey eats four 3oz cans, he's consumed 3.64 grams of carbs.
Now, if we look at a 5.5oz can of Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets, it contains 166 calories with 5% coming from carbs. 5% of 166 is 8.3 calories from carbs. Divide by 4 and you have 2.075 grams per can. Mikey eats about two cans a day, meaning he's consuming 4.15 grams of carbs for the day. HUGE DIFFERENCE...for a cat. To put that in perspective, on the Atkins diet, the human limit is 20 grams of carbs a day.
And if I did any math wrong or missed any steps, please feel free to point it out because I hate math and never double-check my work.
But, what I ultimately want to see is what's the difference between me feeding him FF classics and his numbers remaining in the pinks and yellows to me switching to Friskies Special Diet and we're now hitting blues and greens. Maybe it's just timing, but I won't know that till Friday, when I'm working from home again. If he's still running blues and greens, I'll switch him to FF classics for the whole day and see if he shows up with pinks and yellows again. Then, I'll finally be able to put the grams vs. % carb theory to bed and move on to fat/protein ratios and ingredients lists.
Last night, his PMPS number was 79. It was like he never came back up from his morning nadir yesterday. I tested him every 15 minutes or so and it held steady, even dropping a little. An hour later, when it was at 72, I decided to skip the PM shot and feed the poor bugger because he hadn't eaten in almost 8 hours and it didn't look like his numbers would be climbing any time soon.
After four days of pinks and yellows, to now see him holding steady at blues and greens without a dose increase is such a beautiful sight that I'm terrified it might be a sign of something else going on.
Re: the carb convo from yesterday
Basically, what I'm trying to get at is that with the Atkins diet for people, it's the total grams of carbs consumed throughout the entire day. So, even if something only has 9 grams, you can't eat it if you've already consumed your allotted amount for the day. In the same manner, even if a food has 3% carbs, how many actual grams it has is a different story. So, what I'm trying to figure out with Mikey is what his limit of physical grams of carbs is vs. the low carb percentage.
For example, if we look at a 3oz can of Fancy Feast's Chicken Feast, it contains 91 calories with 4% coming from carbs. 4% of 91 is 3.64 calories from carbs. Basically, each gram of carbs is equal to 4 calories, so divide that by 4 and you have .91 grams of carbs per 3oz can. If Mikey eats four 3oz cans, he's consumed 3.64 grams of carbs.
Now, if we look at a 5.5oz can of Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Giblets, it contains 166 calories with 5% coming from carbs. 5% of 166 is 8.3 calories from carbs. Divide by 4 and you have 2.075 grams per can. Mikey eats about two cans a day, meaning he's consuming 4.15 grams of carbs for the day. HUGE DIFFERENCE...for a cat. To put that in perspective, on the Atkins diet, the human limit is 20 grams of carbs a day.
And if I did any math wrong or missed any steps, please feel free to point it out because I hate math and never double-check my work.
But, what I ultimately want to see is what's the difference between me feeding him FF classics and his numbers remaining in the pinks and yellows to me switching to Friskies Special Diet and we're now hitting blues and greens. Maybe it's just timing, but I won't know that till Friday, when I'm working from home again. If he's still running blues and greens, I'll switch him to FF classics for the whole day and see if he shows up with pinks and yellows again. Then, I'll finally be able to put the grams vs. % carb theory to bed and move on to fat/protein ratios and ingredients lists.