12/12 Makoto +8(268) PMps(225) +2(66)....what ?

hmm... yes, that +1 was a good drop from preshot! He might have had an early nadir that cycle, and come back up by your +8. I was wondering if you used some higher carb food in his feeder, or just his normal LC food? I have had some success with keeping numbers flatter with my kitty by feeding some higher LC food when I see early drops like that.

He might be starting a little bounce today. It will be interesting to see where he is at tonight.

Here is a link to yesterday
 
hmm... yes, that +1 was a good drop from preshot! He might have had an early nadir that cycle, and come back up by your +8. I was wondering if you used some higher carb food in his feeder, or just his normal LC food? I have had some success with keeping numbers flatter with my kitty by feeding some higher LC food when I see early drops like that.

He might be starting a little bounce today. It will be interesting to see where he is at tonight.

Here is a link to yesterday

That's a good idea. Thanks! I generally have been doing his no carb food and using the LC to Med for overnights or when I won't be around. He also ate lunch much later today...I'll try the higher LC tomorrow if he trends like he did today. Ideally, I should have gotten a +3 but I was exhausted after going back and forth between my home and my pet sitting job overnight with those baby blue numbers he had. Thanks for the tip!
 
AMps(147) +1(130)+4(220) earlier in the day...

His +2.5 a few minutes ago was (66) ...we are still on the reduced dose of 0.5 units but I don't know what I am doing wrong here. I feel like I have ruined his numbers since I attempted that increase on 12/1. All of this bouncing can not be good for him - going from almost the 300s down to 66 in like 6 hours. I feel like I am failing him. I'm not catching low numbers in time. I am not feeding higher low carb at the right time. I am not testing often enough. I'm feel like I am always behind these numbers and trying to do damage control after the fact
 
Last edited:
Oh no, you aren't failing him and you aren't doing anything wrong! It happens to all of us. Mav has caught me by surprise a few times :). The flat yellows are often a good indication of a more active cycle. So with the AT2 that 66 does earn a reduction. Can you retest again in another 30 mins to see where he is at?
 
Oh no, you aren't failing him and you aren't doing anything wrong! It happens to all of us. Mav has caught me by surprise a few times :). The flat yellows are often a good indication of a more active cycle. So with the AT2 that 66 does earn a reduction. Can you retest again in another 30 mins to see where he is at?

yes. I just don't understand....he was so flat on the 1 unit and ever since the 1st it's been a rollercoaster of numbers. Numbers that I can't even track because I am gone overnight sometimes. I really don't understand these reductions either :( Each one has just widened the range that he's bouncing and making it harder for me to feel like I can keep him safe.
Checking another one now
Got (48) on his ear, but that sample was mostly fluid from a small scab then a small amount of blood.
Rechecked a rear paw pad and got (102) with frank blood. I am unsure of my (66) earlier now ... I might have to go back to doing rear paws or double checking the ears all the time now.
 
Well the good news is that the numbers he is bouncing to aren't so bad :). I find with the AT2 it does need a good drop, when the blood stays flat or seeps into the fur, it doesn't read as well, if that makes any sense. It can happen that you just reached a breakthrough, and numbers are reflecting that. Don't worry too much about what he was doing a few weeks ago on 1u. He really is looking much better, while he was flatter before, he was high flat. I've never poked the pad and compared with the ear, but that is interesting that they are that different. Remember we look for patterns, so yes if a number seems out of place, it might be a wonky strip, or not enough blood for the test, it's worth getting a retest but you don't need to double check every one. How is Makato acting otherwise?
 
Yea, the second ear test after the PMPS looked different, probably more fluid than blood so it makes sense it was off. I will have to pay attention and maybe use one ear for AM and the other for PM if I am going to alternate his ear sticks with the paw pads. I was just trying to give his paws a break and make sure he could tolerate an ear stick if I were to get a sitter and that was all they could do.
He's been like his blood levels today....higher and hyper and lower and sleepy. Between his allergies,the testing and me being in and out all day/night yesterday I am sure he is a bit tired.
Thank you !
 
I often find Mav gets hyper when he is under 100 on AT2, but super hyper when he's flirting with the 60-70 range. Vocal, almost won't sit still for the pokey he wants his food. But...super playful in the 200s. I was asking because 48 on AT2 would be getting down there to where I'd be worried.

There is a range on the ear, I try and move the poke around a bit, I'll try and link the photo of the sweet spot, but I'm on my Ipad, so not sure if it will work,
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m267/chupie_2006/testingear/sweetspot.jpg

You're welcome, I'm not sure I really helped that much.

ETA you might want to try some polysporin on the ear before the blood test, it helps to get the blood to form a drop, instead of being more fluid-like.
 
Last edited:
I often find Mav gets hyper when he is under 100 on AT2, but super hyper when he's flirting with the 60-70 range. Vocal, almost won't sit still for the pokey he wants his food. But...super playful in the 200s. I was asking because 48 on AT2 would be getting down there to where I'd be worried.

There is a range on the ear, I try and move the poke around a bit, I'll try and link the photo of the sweet spot, but I'm on my Ipad, so not sure if it will work,
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m267/chupie_2006/testingear/sweetspot.jpg

You're welcome, I'm not sure I really helped that much.

ETA you might want to try some polysporin on the ear before the blood test, it helps to get the blood to form a drop, instead of being more fluid-like.

you were helpful...just having someone else to bounce info off of to keep me from spiraling helps
I can easily talk myself into feeling like I am doing more harm than good and then any lower number just feeds that
Looks like from the picture I was a bit too low with the ear sticks. I will keep trying :)
 
Back
Top