12/12 Lucian AMPS 280, +9 237 PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Sorry, been gone all afternoon.

Vet just called, everything looks good. She spoke with someone from Axis (?) or something like that, not sure. Guess it was someone that knows something about FD. This lady thinks Lucian may be trying to go OTJ and his pancreas is sputtering, hence the spikes and lows when he was doing better for quite a while. They want me to take him back to .50 for a few days and see if he levels off. She thinks it is rebound or that S word, I can't remember the name .. symogy or something close.

Gee Mel, who does that sound like???? The same thing you said to me! Love you girl!

Anyway will drop him to .50 for a few days starting in the morning and keep the Vet posted.

As it stands, his tests look pretty good, she said. Urine was a little dilute, but he drinks more when he's high. His kidney numbers were just over the norm range, which is to be expected at his age and diabetic. Thyroid was normal. Vet's happy with the test results.

I feel a lot better knowing that everything looks good, considering, ya know? For a 15 yr old diabetic, his tests look good. :thumbup
 
Re: 12/12 Lucian AMPS 280, +9 237

I'm so not going to say I told you so. :razz:

And probably Indexx they are the folks that do most of the blood work and pancreatitis tests etc. And the S-word is somogyi rebound.

Can't wait to see how he does on the reduced dose.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/12 Lucian AMPS 280, +9 237

Yeah, Indexx. Surprised me that the vet was talking to her about it.

You can say I told you so! I didn't argue! How many times did I take him down at the beginning, just trying to make sure we didn't miss his 'good' dose? :-D

The vet and I talked about the conflict surrounding somogyi, how some think it exists and some don't. Apparently, she's open to it.

My only concern with dropping him to .50, should I NOT use the R if he's very high? Should I wait and see what the Lev does on it's own? When he's high 300's+, I know he'll be over 500 by onset. That really bothers me. Whatcha think?
 
Re: 12/12 Lucian AMPS 280, +9 237

Hon I honestly can't tell you because I have never used a bolus insulin. Gut instinct says not to use it because if he's rebounding that could be part of the problem. Because it causes a steep drop.

But that's just my 2 cents worth

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Glad the vet visit went well! I'm very interested as well to see how the reduced dose works for him.

As to Somogyi, I'm not a believer in the scientific definition of it because it's so narrowly defined and there's no real possible way to prove or disprove its existence. I do, however, believe in rebound, bounces, and flat curves due to insulin overdose. That's easy enough to prove/see every day in any number of our kitties' spreadsheets. :lol:
 
Wow - way to go Lucian... worrying your momma bean when it just may have been you trying to do something that was not thought to be possible with you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top