12/12 Jenks AMBG 68 +3 63 PMPS 350 +7 273

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
12/11

Down a smidge from less than an hour ago. Got some food in him, and now he's resting in a patch of sun. Skipped the shot. We'll regroup for the PM cycle.
 
You've shot full dose on lower. I presume the skip is to drain the depot from last night's drama? :eek: You can also do something like a half dose if you can monitor.
 
Ouch, that's an ugly PMPS.

While @Wendy&Neko is correct that we have shot lower AMPS numbers, we've never shot a carb-influenced 36 before. Based on his AM cycle behavior, I think that he theoretically would've tolerated a full dose just fine. Maybe if it had happened on my watch instead of OH's, I'd be more inclined to consider it. but that's too much of a responsibility to put off onto somebody else. For those same reasons, I opted to forgo a BCS dose. Jenks tends to do things when we least expect it, and today it wasn't worth the risk of the carbs wearing off, the insulin kicking in, and having to worry about him going too low.

There are probably better ways to handle it than we did. I certainly agree that some insulin is better than none, especially looking at this PMPS number. But I don't know what we're supposed to do with such late, and sometimes drastic, nadirs. I know we're not supposed to do anything during the fasting period, but lately that's where all the action is. It's either carb him up and hope for the best, or deal with potentially having to stall, which has its own set of problems like the fact that sometimes he doesn't hit a target number for 3 or 4 hours.

I guess we have some thinking to do.

For now we've dropped down a unit to 9. Hopefully Jenks has shifted gears and needs less insulin now. It'd be nice to be in single digit units again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top