12/12 hasn’t needed insulin, but was 46 AMPS

Joyce and Kallie

Member Since 2019
There were a few other times she was in the 40s, but unlike today, when I rechecked with a bigger pool of blood her blood sugar went to 50.

I mixed a higher carb food with her regular food. She has been in the low normals for four days. I don’t want to give her too high of carbs and derail what looks to be the start of remission.

Like calorie counting, is there a safe % of carbs?

I’ve been feeding her canned food with 4% carbs.

any advice?
Thanks
 
Yes, this would be a total of 10 no shots. But, doesn’t she have to have normal numbers for 14 days before she is considered to be in remission?
 
Normal BG numbers for cats got down to 40. No need to feed HC. We just don't want cats on insulin to go down that low, as it leaves no room for error. I'd say Kallie is on day 5 of her OTJ trial. :D Here are the instructions - ignore the first step.

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Back
Top