12/12 Gracie PMPS 56 +1 83 +2 83 +4 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

12/11 Recap:
AMPS: 262 12th cycle f1u lev
+3: 288
+6: 313
+10: 328
PMPS: 265 NEW DOSE sk1.25u lev
+3: 253
+5: 254
+9.5: 196


Good morning LL!!! It's fantastic to be home!!! We send lots of prayers and healing vines out to Tawny, Tom, and Garland and any others who need them.

Gracie got a dosecrease last night when I got home. Mike told me about the suggestions to hold her dose because the numbers could be due to stress but I don't think Gracie was stressed. She seemed quite the happy little girl while I was gone, Mike said. She wasn't doing that great on this dose before I left so we decided to take her up to see if she could flatten back out in something other than pink and yellow. I know she and Tobey were happy to see me....shortly after I went to bed, she hopped up on me, gave a little chirped and snuggled down in my arms with her nose pressed under my chin and her paws around my neck purring up a storm. Gosh how I missed that soft, cuddly, warm little brown baby curled up with me at night.

Mike did a fabulous job with everything while I was gone. I knew he would. I certainly missed all four of them after having not been away for so long. I was so exhausted when I got home that I just crashed only to get up, get a quick bite to eat, and settle in my recliner by the fireplace with Tobey in my lap and snooze some more. Mike made a great dinner and I went to bed shortly after that.

We worked so hard getting DM moved but it wasn't just that. We were up late at night and up early in the a.m. But what really affected my sleep is I was so freezing cold I could hardly stand it. My DS and her DH are retired and live on a fixed income. It was pretty chilly in TX at night and I don't recall the heater ever coming on. I had on flannel jammies, socks, and a big heavy sweatshirt with 3 blankets on me in bed and I still was so cold I was numb. The last night was the worst and I got up about 2:30 and got in my older DS's bed because she spent the night with DM. There were two more blankets in there and I finally slept for 3-1/2 hours before I had to get up to go to the airport. I couldn't wait to get home to our warm bed and fireplace in our room. :-D :-D :-D I feel so much more rested today thanks to Mike.

DM is doing ok.....she seemed to get much better while she was at the skilled nursing facility and she seemed happy as a clam when we took her to her new apartment. The AL facility looks like a very fancy hotel and the staff are like concierges. Mom has a little wristband with a button and if she needs ANYTHING at all...she presses it and someone is there in a few minutes to do whatever she needs. The decor in the place is beautiful...done in soft blues and browns with touches of silver so I went and bought her a beautiful silver Christmas wreath and had a turquoise shimmery bow with silver trim added to it for her front door and I also bought her a flat screen TV for her office so she would have one in each room (they hang them on the walls for her). We decorated her apt. as best we could with Christmas decos. The place has a private dining room that seats about 12 at a large table and we reserved it for Sat night; on move-in night, the facility brings the entire family free dinner and we had such a great time. But later that night, DM just went off the deep end crying and was just inconsolable because Sunday was the 8th anniversary of my dad passing away.

I plan to go back in a couple weeks....either between Christmas and NY's or right after NY's. I didn't get to spend much time just sitting and talking to DM and she was sobbing her heart out about that so now that Mikey feels comfy with everything, I need to go back and just spend time with her.

Thank you all SO very much for checking in on Mike and Gracie and giving him your wonderful support. I know it meant a lot to him and it absolutely meant the world to me....I did not worry at all knowing he was BIC and you all were here to support him.

Now to catch up with you all!!!! Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142

Welcome home! It sounds like the move in went smoothly, but it is still an emotional drain. I'm sure DM will settle in well, it sounds like a beautiful facility.

Gracie and Tess were keeping each other on the upper floors, I hope they both like their extra juice.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142

Welcome home Marje! I'm glad everyone survived the trip. Mike did great with the kitties. Trying to sleep when cold is miserable. Just being cold is miserable. I hope DM likes the new place as well as she can. It sounds great but it's got to be hard. You are a good daughter to help out. We are glad you are back!
Liz
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142

Welcome home!! Gracie is welcoming you with great numbers this morning.

That sounds like an excellent facility. I'm sure your DM will settle in and be fine. It's great you will be able to visit her for some one on one time, with the stressors of her health issues or the move. You're a good daughter!
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142

So glad you are home! :YMHUG: Mike had it all under control, but I know you are relieved to be back. Good luck ont he dosecrease. I'm sure Gracie will come right around and give you lots of blues and greens.

Glad the move went well. You definitely need to go back and spend time just sitting and talking. Sounds like it was whirlwind.

Thank you so much for the advice on T's condo. I think you are right and I need to take him on up to 2.5. He will be on prednisone long term now, so I need to just adjust the insulin to where his BG's are under control and it has been a buggar. Sounds simple enough. ;-)

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159

Welcome home Marje! Glad your trip was successful, but it sounds like it was exhausting. I hope your mom will be happy at the new facility, sounds really nice. Mike did a great job while you were gone but I know he is glad to have you back. Good luck with the new dose, her numbers are already looking better.

Thanks for your nice comment in our condo, it means a lot to me! :-D
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159

Welcome home, and I am glad that all went well with the move -in. It does indeed sound like a very nice facility. I hope she is happy there.

Good luck with the new dose - I hope Gracie does well wit it. Right Gracie? no diving now...
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159

Welcome home Marje! I am so glad you were able to get your mom settled into her new place. The cold nights sound brrrrrrr and uncomfy. Hopefully our lovely Tucson weather will return to warm your bones but meanwhile the rain is good for us and I'm glad you have heat!!!!

Gracie is looking very good today. That is a nice way to get yourself back into the routine.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159

Hi Marje, big welcome home to you, You were missed here, and Mike did a great job with Gracie and the boys. It looks like Gracie likes this dosecrease. Glad you got DM all settled in, and her apartment sounds lovely and decorated beautifully. Your DS's house with the cold sounds like my Mom's house in the winter. She has the heat on the lowest setting. I hope they were able to get your DM's pain under control. I remember that was one of the issues. I bet your DM would love it if you could spend more time with her as this trip was so busy getting her settled. Thanks for stopping by Maggies condo and glad you're getting rested. I love the pic of the "Guard Cat on Duty." :-D Hugs.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159 +6 159 +10 84 +11 65

DH here - I think the bounce is broken. Fed her a little low carb.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159 +6 159 +10 84 +11 65

WOOT!!! Gracie is back in GREEN! She just wanted her mom home (and an extra drop of juice! :lol: )

Maybe a good Christmas present for you DS would be a down comforter, and an extra one for the guest room! :lol: Especially if you are going to go back to visit in January.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159 +6 159 +10 84 +11 65

Wahooooo!!! All is right in Gracieland! It's good to have everyone back to together again, and a little extra juice doesn't hurt either! :lol:
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie AMPS 141 +2 142 +4 159 +6 159 +10 84 +11 65

Hi guys,
Welcome home, Marje! Mike did an awesome job while you were away; I know that you are very proud of him. He even survived a "murder plot"!! :lol:

It sure does look like Gracie cleared her bounce. Good luck with the dosecrease.
Tobey will be very welcome to come help with the "cimmamum" cookies later this week. Today, however, the cookies I made are "cimmamum-free".

It's a wonderful idea to go back to visit your mom after the holidays. You will have time to talk, and the holidays--with all their memories and higher stress level--will be over. The residence sounds fantastic. I'm sure she will be very happy there once she gets adjusted. When you go back for your visit, be sure to take warm clothes (fleece or wool)!!! (and a wool hat to wear in bed, since 95% of the body's heat is lost through the head--well, maybe not quite 95%, but a lot!).

Enjoy a relaxing evening with your crew,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 56 +1 83

Welcome back, Marje!! Being cold is not fun. I always prefer really hot weather than being cold. I guess that is why I live in the South!

Glad to hear that the ALF that your DM moved into is nice. Hope the staff is really nice, too. It must have been an emotional few days, especially with your mom upset.

Mike did such an unbelievable job. He is definitely a keeper!

Gracie sure is doing a nice job tonight but no more dropping please. Let your bean get a good nights sleep.
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 56 +1 83

Welcome back!! I'm glad your DM is situated and you like where she's living.

As for Mike... He attributes ulterior motives to your sweet kitties. He thought Gracie and Tobey were plotting against him! I dunno.........
 
Re: 12/12 Gracie PMPS 56 +1 83 +2 83

Thank you all very much for your warm welcome home. I"m so glad to be here!!! And was so warm last night :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Baby Gigi girl is doing awesome!!! She just needed a tiny bit more juice.

Yes Sienne....I heard the cats were plotting Mike's demise!

Wrapping Christmas gifts tonight but just took a quick break to post. Hope all of you are having a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top