12/12 Emmett AMPS 88 +4 61 (AT3)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by KLD, Dec 12, 2024.

  1. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
  2. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Emmett you little stinker :D:D. Let me check with a few others, based on how Emmett has been over achieving :smuggrin:
     
    KLD likes this.
  3. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Since Emmett has had some no shots in the mix again, and dropped today with 0.1u, it would be worth trying to see how Emmett does on a food trial, where you give LC food at +9 each cycle, and no insulin, since he’s been keeping in the normal range on the pet meter. It would be good to see if he goes down on his own by preshot.

    With cats who have a working pancreas, a little snack at +9 will get the pancreas going to release its own insulin to bring down the numbers, and as in this case already on a very very small dose.

    Do you think that’s something you could try for the next few days to see how he does? If his numbers come down with the food trial, that’s a really good sign, anti jinx.

    tagging @Wendy&Neko and @Marje and Gracie to see what they think with this approach and perhaps add some clarification if needed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2024
    Madeline528, Suzanne & Darcy and KLD like this.
  4. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    I can definitely try! He did get a little snack today at +9 after the last test I did.

    I’m not sure how to manage that over night (+9 would be 4am). I do have an automatic wet food feeder I can try. I’ve had it a while but never ended up using it because literally days after I bought it my other cat decided to get urinary crystals and require a specialized diet lol. With Emmett needing low carb, and being allergic to chicken, and most of the appropriate foods for my other cat being chicken, I didn’t want to start using the automatic feeder if I couldn’t be sure who was eating what. That being said, I think the crystals were caused by stress and it’s not really an issue anymore, and I’ve more or less given up on my other cat’s specialized diet because he won’t eat most of it anyway.

    All of this to say I could try the feeder.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  5. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Perfect timing then :). The autofeeder would be the easiest on you over night, hopefully Emmett will be happy to have a snack at that time without you having to wake up.
     
    KLD likes this.
  6. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    I mean, looking at the spreadsheet, I keep getting up throughout the night to test him anyway lol. If it comes down to it I can sacrifice my sleep a little longer haha
     
  7. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Lol well… I wasn’t gonna say it, but good point, plus we’re coming up on weekend so you can always catch a cat nap if the autofeeder doesn’t work lol
     
    KLD likes this.
  8. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Very true!
     
  9. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Does anyone know the carb content of Stella and Chewy’s freeze dried food? I thought it was low carb and then I saw conflicting information online. Emmett gets it as a treat but I’ve never noticed it have an effect on his BG.

    I ask because my mom will need to watch the cats again tomorrow while I’m at work, and apparently Emmett will only eat freeze dried food for her consistently. Stella and Chewy’s is one, and the other brand is Primal, but that one has more info online about carb content.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  10. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Hmm 5.5 or 99 at PMBG. I realize that is still green but maybe the part of me that is now used to seeing numbers in the 4’s wonder if he actually should be getting insulin tonight.
     
  11. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    That’s still normal with pet meter, what did he snack on at +9?
     
  12. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Yeah, you’re right. I guess because it’s a larger rise from +9 to PMBG than I’m used to seeing. He got Snappy Tom ocean fish with salmon which is low carb according to the back of the pouch.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  13. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I think I would still try the food trial for a couple of days, he did drop earlier today under 68. Oh I’m not familiar with that food, but I wouldn’t count on the Guaranteed Analysis on the pouch since it is based on min amounts of protein and fats and max fibre, ash and moisture.
     
  14. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    I checked their website and they have the carb content listed. That particular flavour is listed as 1.01g per 100g for carbs. All the other flavours from that brand I give him are listed as 0g. Hopefully what they have listed online js accurate at least lol
     
  15. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    It’s got tapioca starch, which is high carb content. Not sure how they come up with 1.01g.
     
  16. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    That’s a shame. It’s basically all he’s been willing to eat for weeks. I haven’t noticed it affecting his blood sugar but maybe now that he’s getting such small amounts of insulin a truer effect is showing.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  17. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Remember he doesn’t know the difference between 60 and 99. If you miss a +9 meal at night, it’s not the end of the world.

    This is one of our methods to see if a kitty is ready for a trial. We will hope but don’t worry if he needs a bit more support. He seems like he’s on a mission.
     
    KLD and Christie & Maverick like this.
  18. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    If it hasn’t made much difference in the past, let’s not fuss it. It is primarily meat.
     
    KLD likes this.
  19. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Yeah I’m fine with whatever ends up happening. I think I’m mostly just scared of going backwards with all our good progress.
     
  20. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Honestly, I’m trying to get him back on Fancy Feast anyway. I don’t think the Snappy Tom is sitting well with his stomach. He keeps, uhh, needing baths after using the litter box and I’ve got the scars to prove it. Fancy Feast is the only food that doesn’t seem to upset his stomach.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  21. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Oh Emmett, poor fella. And poor you for the bath encounters!
     
    KLD likes this.
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    We've had other people here feed Stella & Chewy's freeze dried. Of course, hard to say if they've changed the formula lately.

    Good luck with the food trial. If Emmitt is still green after the S&C tomorrow, that might answer you question on it as a food.
     
    KLD likes this.
  23. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    I’ll keep going with the Stella and Chewy’s because I haven’t noticed it raise his BG ever. He gets different brands of freeze dried more often anyway.

    Thank you! All good points.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  24. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Sorry I missed that part in your post, I give Stella and Chewy’s and don’t notice any issues with BG. Unless Cindy has changed food recently, I believe she primarily feeds Tansi Stella and Chewy’s freeze dried. @Cindy loves Tansi
     
    KLD likes this.
  25. KLD

    KLD Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2024
    Good to know, thanks!
     

Share This Page