? 12/12 Ducky +11 156 - Should I have given insulin?

fenderrae

Member Since 2021
I gave Ducky .25 tonight but then panicked thinking this was too low to shoot since I'm using an Alphatrak and didn't realise there was such a difference between human & animal meters and 156 is so close to normal. Is there a possibility of hypo at this level? When should I check her to make sure?
 
I see you tested an hour before you shot. It’s possible he could have been higher right before you gave insulin. On theAT, if his bg was under 68 you would feed high carb food. With a human meter it’s under 50. So different but not by a lot. We do suggest new to insulin cats not shoot under 200.
Looks like testing has not gotten easier. Feed a little low carb food at +1 and see if you can get a test at +2. I think you need to decrease the dose to .10 as the bg numbers have been pretty good skipping shots.

Here’s what .10 looks like.

upload_2021-12-12_18-44-37.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-12_18-44-37.jpeg
    upload_2021-12-12_18-44-37.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 61
Back
Top