12/12 Chanel AMPS 368 PMPS 413

Laura & Chanel

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-11-chanel-amps-374.222791/#post-2491538

Question: if Chanel is not supposed to eat 2 hours before the test, how do I manage the eating part in a blood curve? Since she is grazing, she will not have fixed hours and this baby can take her sweet time and that means more than a few minutes to eat. My goal now is to make sure she is eating almost the entire can, so hopefully she will eat less of the dry food. I guess I need to monitor when she is eating and then put everything up, right?
Just confirmed the vet appointment at Tufts Univ for Tuesday, December 17.
Thank you.
 
Last edited:
The only time you want to make sure Chanel doesn't eat is 2 hours before preshot. Why? You want to be able to see a preshot test that is not influenced by carbs in the food and possibly artificially inflating the BG numbers, since you are giving insulin at that time. You may end up having a very busy cycle if you shoot a carb influenced number. This is particularly important until you have a really good idea of how your cat responds to insulin, and how carb sensitive (ie how food influences your cat's numbers).

Don't worry about timing of feeding during the rest of the cycle and when you are getting those BG tests.
 
The only time you want to make sure Chanel doesn't eat is 2 hours before preshot. Why? You want to be able to see a preshot test that is not influenced by carbs in the food and possibly artificially inflating the BG numbers, since you are giving insulin at that time. You may end up having a very busy cycle if you shoot a carb influenced number. This is particularly important until you have a really good idea of how your cat responds to insulin, and how carb sensitive (ie how food influences your cat's numbers).

Don't worry about timing of feeding during the rest of the cycle and when you are getting those BG tests.
Oh, that is great. I hope to be able to get home before 4.30 pm so I can get the food up. Last night I left the bowls up on the counter intentionally and Chanel came to the place usually she has her dry food and looking at me like: hello stupid?! Usually she has 4 small bowls with the same mix of dry food. I put two down (hey, I have two hands) and she kept staring. I put the other two down and she came, sniffed each of them and then walked away. I did not know cats can count LOL. She came a little later to re-check, just making sure I am not playing games.

Unfortunately, today I came at home at 5 pm (the audit ended later than thought) and I hope Chanel was in the closet since before 4 pm. However, the value may be a little inaccurate if she ate after 4 pm. Still, I do not envision big changes in her BG values and I will test a +2 and a bedtime value +4. We will see how the values align. She seems hungry, but that may be just the reflex of seeing me back home :)

413 PMPS - 1U, that dry food is bugging me :(
 
Last edited:
Yep...need that auto feeder - so once it spins the last time, hopefully she ate all the food in the first bowl earlier and now it's empty...or you can make sure that the last time it turns, the last feeder to display is the empty one...

I'll be glad when you can transition her off the dry food...

Have a great evening Laura!
 
Why don't you get a feeder then?
Oh, I did. Today, it was the sniffing phase and walking around it. I think she did that because I borrowed it from a colleague and Chanel probably can smell the other cat. I ordered my own online, but with all the online shopping these day, might come later than estimated. I got the Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein Chicken Formula dry food that is definitely better than the junk she eats now and trying to convince her to change her taste by getting it in her bowl gradually. I see you use Dr. Elsey's too. Did Mačka like it from the first time or it was also a process of getting acquainted?
 
Yep...need that auto feeder - so once it spins the last time, hopefully she ate all the food in the first bowl earlier and now it's empty...or you can make sure that the last time it turns, the last feeder to display is the empty one...

I'll be glad when you can transition her off the dry food...

Have a great evening Laura!
Getting her completely off the dry food is the ultimate goal. I think I would be able to do that if I can find a remote job, at least for a few months or a year until she gets the hang of things. Reading the introductory articles on the website, I realized that those things were and are happening to us. Chanel seems more inclined for affection and even more patient when I am not successful in pricking her ear from the first time, pricking yes but no blood sometimes. Since we signed up for FDMB, we actually can sleep at night (still not more than 4 hours but that became a habit), and we feel more confident knowing that we have more knowledgeable people to look over our shoulder and advice. Even Chanel appears to trust us more and in spite of her high BG values, she got some of her spark back. We look forward to do the BG curve, but we have a couple of questions. After the 7 days of holding the dose, how many BG curves we need to do in order to establish the new dose? Also, the 7th day is on Monday, so if we need to do several BG curves, I assume we should do in weekend too, right? Also, how do you decide when to change the insulin?
As for the exercise part, we put together a long list of gifts for the baby's Christmas, including toys (we got the idea watching other posts and seeing Freckles' mom so happy about her baby shooting a blue after playing). Also, I think Chris is the one who suggested Da Bird, thank you for that.
This website is an amazing resource of advice and hey, who knew the life can get easier having the pills hidden in a capsule?
She is still sleeping, so no BG for now.

Have a great evening too Sue. I hope Luci is doing excellent, I see lots and tons of greens :)
 
If doing a curve on a weekend will be easier for your schedule, it is not that big of a deal to do the curve a day or two earlier. However, once Chanel starts earning dose reductions, she may not make the curve day quite so convenient.

SLGS requires that you do a curve once a week. If you want to test more, that's not an issue. Getting tests at times other than pre-shot is encouraged. With SLGS, you base whether you increase the dose on the data from the curve coupled with any other data you've collected.

From the SLGS instructions:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
If doing a curve on a weekend will be easier for your schedule, it is not that big of a deal to do the curve a day or two earlier. However, once Chanel starts earning dose reductions, she may not make the curve day quite so convenient.

SLGS requires that you do a curve once a week. If you want to test more, that's not an issue. Getting tests at times other than pre-shot is encouraged. With SLGS, you base whether you increase the dose on the data from the curve coupled with any other data you've collected.

From the SLGS instructions:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Thank you Sienne. It is quite a relief that I can do the BG curve in weekend, at least for now. You guys just let me know when I need to take the day off and I will do it. Just tested PM+3.5 and she was 344. I will try another test in approx 2 hours, if she does not fall asleep again :)
 
Oh, I did. Today, it was the sniffing phase and walking around it. I think she did that because I borrowed it from a colleague and Chanel probably can smell the other cat. I ordered my own online, but with all the online shopping these day, might come later than estimated. I got the Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein Chicken Formula dry food that is definitely better than the junk she eats now and trying to convince her to change her taste by getting it in her bowl gradually. I see you use Dr. Elsey's too. Did Mačka like it from the first time or it was also a process of getting acquainted?
He was a dry addict before. He liked Dr Elsey right away, a little too much. I had stopped completely for months, but then he got sick for a week and that’s the only food he would accept, so recently, I was weaning him off again. He actually now only gets a few kibbles (like 10 or so) during his shot, to be distracted and rewarded. Obviously that does not keep him from seeing blues and greens recently, although not recommended. I am trying to replace it with freeze dried treats, but they do not do the trick as well!!
 
Back
Top