12/12 Bama Kitty AMPS 182 + 3 230 +9 286;PMPS 323 +3 287 +9 99

Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 12/11 Bama Kitty AMPS 183 +3 150 +9 144; PMPS 154 +2 178 +9 189

Bama is hanging out in the mid to upper 100s. May be ok for another day or two until I determine if this constitutes a bounce and he will break down into green again. May need to increase back to 5 units to get back to green.

Bama is not eating his Luvsome LC salmon wet because it is not FF which he is apparently addicted to now. Hate that FF is not low phosphorus and I am going to have to figure something out with the phosphate binder. I'm wondering if I could blend up a can of FF with the binder and syringe feed it along side whatever I can get him to eat on his own. I have this syringe I ordered from Chewy several years ago.

109365_MAIN._SS125_V1633087326_.jpg


Any tips, suggestions, Bhooma and Suzanne? @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Hi Gina, we haven't YET gotten to phos binders with Bandit. I did look up Tanya's site and found this:
http://felinecrf.org/phosphorus_binders.htm#how_to_give

Which binder are you using?
Epakitin is the one the vet gave me. I don't think I would want to be trying a half dozen different kinds. If he won't eat his food with one in it, he's likely to refuse them all. I was intrigued by the ConSeal-AIH chews. I thought I'd try various ways of getting what I already have into him before looking at something else.

On another issue that has cropped up recently. I'm having trouble getting his blood to bead properly on the top side of his ear flap without immediately leaking into the cotton round on the other side. This just started when I began using the transdermal cream. The instructions say to apply to inner ear, alternate ears and clean the ear you aren't currently using with a warm cotton pad. I've done that but still the blood spreads out and the meter errors out because I can't get enough blood or something. I'm sticking to testing the ear that did not get the transdermal cream for that day and switching the next day after I wash the ear. Very frustrating.

@Summer and Susie (GA) -- Summer, I know you were using transdermal cream [mirtazapine, I think?] on Susie. Did you ever have trouble getting blood for BG tests even if you sufficiently cleaned the ear?
 
You could try getting the blood drop on your fingernail first to make sure you have enough. That way you shouldn't waste strips.
I’ve got a little plastic spoon from Baskin Robbins where I got a sample taste of ice cream one time that may be perfect for scooping up kitty blood. We must become resourceful at all costs.
 
I am about to declare a failed reduction on the insulin. Numbers have been steadily increasing since dropping to 4.75u 5 cycles ago. Bama has eaten reasonably well today, just not as eager to eat his Luvsome LC salmon but he did finally eat most of it. That's ok. I won't be buying more of it. With numbers above 300, looks like sleep for me tonight. Then again, he has surprised me before. I'll take a +3 and +9 for sure.
 
Back
Top