12/12 Ailish (Curve Day!) AMPS:214, +2 199 +4 130, +6 113 +8 139, +10 190, PMPS: 284

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Ailish’s Brother, Dec 12, 2024.

  1. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    upload_2024-12-12_8-16-58.png

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...41-6-221-question-about-new-food-test.296495/

    Going for a curve with Ailish today before a vet appointment tomorrow. My vet’s method is similar to SLGS: hold a dose for a week, do a curve, then increase if dose not working yet.

    He wants to do .50 at a time. I’m gonna bring in calipers, show him that and argue that using them makes .25 changes possible, and also will let me and my wife consistently give the exact same dose, even on the .5’s and .0’s

    I’m also gonna ask about doing token doses instead of skipping completely, to feed the depot.

    Happy surfing y’all!
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2024
  2. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
    Good luck today. Love the curve kitty graphic :bighug:

    You are well armed to make your case with your vet. I hope they cooperate.
    You are doing great with Ailish! :bighug::cat::bighug:
     
  3. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Wow - nice +4!
     
  4. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    Just got a nice +6! I see you with a good +4 and +5. Wonder what in the air told our cats today was the day lol.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  5. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Congrats! Those are your lowest yet right? In your case, she heard you threatening an increase.
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  6. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
  7. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    And it is!
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You picked a great (non bounce) day for a curve. :cool:
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Regarding yesterdays question, if you know you are switching to a lower carb food, I would do that change before increasing the insulin dose.
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  10. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    For real, this is the cleanest day I’ve seen in a while.

    She’s eating less but maybe that’s cause she’s regulating better? It’s still more than the one and a half big cans the doctor wants so I’m feeling ok.

    That works out cause my appointment got moved to Tuesday, not lower carb, just trying YA dry.
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If she's eating YA now, it takes less to fill them up. The fact that she's seeing good numbers will also help her feel more full.
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  12. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    Thanks! It seems like she might just been bored of the DM, as she wolfed down the tiki cat I found in the back of the cabinet and gave her as a snack.

    We start the YA tomorrow, so I’ll let you know how that goes!
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Many cats get tired of the DM, so not surprising.
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018

Share This Page