12/11 Tiki AMPS 297, +3 235, +4 281, +5 284, Dosing Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
So I've upped his does this week, twice, and the numbers aren't budging. Could this mean my insulin has crapped out? It appears clear and has been refrigerated the whole time, but I have had the same vial since I started shooting him on 11/05. He is eating all low carb FF's and he's getting freeze dried chicken or salmon treats. I can't think of anything that could be "de-railing" his numbers.
 
Re: 12/11 Tiki AMPS 297, +3 235, +4 281, +5 284, Dosing Ques

WOW...NO INPUT FOR YOU...BUT BUMPING YOUR POST FOR BETTER EYES...
 
Re: 12/11 Tiki AMPS 297, +3 235, +4 281, +5 284, Dosing Ques

I don't know that I would agree that you've seen no movement. I don't see any pink you Tiki's SS since you increased the dose to 1.75u. If there's no dramatic change, you will want to hold this dose for 2 more cycles before considering an increase.
 
Re: 12/11 Tiki AMPS 297, +3 235, +4 281, +5 284, Dosing Ques

Ya know, you are right....I just keep thinking more means I should see some miraculous change I guess and that just never happens. But you're right, it hasn't gotten worse, which is actually an improvement. I had planned to inch him up to 2 units after three days at 1.75 unless some huge changes start to happen. I get really nervous about changing his dose during the week when I am working and can't get home to check on him during the day. I would prefer to increase his dose on the weekends when I am around but what I understand, keeping him at the same dose for too long is also bad. How worried should I be to increase his dose if I am not home.
 
Re: 12/11 Tiki AMPS 297, +3 235, +4 281, +5 284, Dosing Ques

i can't remember how much time you have after you give him a shot in the morning until you have to leave? if you have at least 2 hours, you can get a +2. a +2 is supposed to be about the same as the preshot number. if it's significantly less, then you can guess that tiki might move lower that cycle than normal.

with punkin, i can check him at +5 during my lunch break, so if he looks like he's going to be lower, i leave some high carb canned food out for him.

do you have a timed feeder? if not, you can freeze canned cat food (mix with water) and leave food ice cubes out for him to eat throughout the day.

i don't have an exact answer to your question. i adjust doses during the week, but sometimes my son is here to check BG. i think it would be extra important in this situation that you check evening BGs before you go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top