12/11 Quintus PMPS 596, which +n best to test if I do only one? +2 644 done

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph & Quintus & L & O

Member Since 2017
condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-10-quintus-amps-232-2ui-4-544.187801/

Did a bunch of measures today and they were reasonably good, until the PMPS gave me "HI" on the glucometer twice, and then 596 upon third try. Shot him up as planned a bit less than an hour ago (+1 coming up, therefore).

Assuming I'm going to be able to do only ONE PMPS+n test, what would you suggest? +1, +2, +3? (Later than that I will be sleeping to try and get over my illness so I can work the rest of the week.)

Thanks for your ideas and suggestions!
 
O thank goodness you are going to eventually remove .. you will give him a much better chance to successfully treat his Diabetes. Yes, on +3.
 
Either +2 or +3 will be fine. With Rex, +1 never told me anything because it was food influenced.

However, if the +2 or +3 is the same or lower than the PS number, you will need to monitor longer because that is an active cycle.
 
I just looked at your SS. You are bouncing back and forth with the dosages. Lantus needs consistency. We stay with one dosage for 6-10 cycles to see how it is working before changing unless a reduction is earned with a lime green number.

I'm tagging some pros to give opinions on which dosage you should give and stick to for a while. With the numbers all over, I am not comfortable giving you that advice.

@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
@Doodles & Karen
 
I agree that you are changing the dose too much. Lantus is a depot insulin so the shots are cumulative. It is not an in/out insulin like Caninsulin. You have to give the depot (click on the dark blue for link) a chance to adjust to each new dose.

I would stay at 3u for six cycles and let the depot stabilize unless he drops below 68. In that case, you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u.

You are doing an excellent job of testing. I would highly suggest that, at night, you always get a +2, not wait until +3. If the +2 (not +3) is similar to or less than the preshot, then you do need to test again to see where he’s headed. If the +2 is more than 20% higher than the preshot, you could just grab one more test before you go to sleep.
 
Assuming I'm going to be able to do only ONE PMPS+n test, what would you suggest? +1, +2, +3? (Later than that I will be sleeping to try and get over my illness so I can work the rest of the week.)
Knowing when to test depends on knowing how your cat handles insulin. ECID. From the New to the Group Sticky Note, the following concepts will help you decide when to test:
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Ideally you'd like your before bed test at night to show you what is happening at onset. For most people on Lantus, the +2 is a good indicator. But my Neko onset later than most, so the +2 didn't tell me much on Lantus, so I changed it to a later test. Then I used that +3 or +4 to tell me if I need to do something different at night to keep her safe.


 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top