Andy & Pimp
Member Since 2015
Good morning hope everyone had a decent sleep. Pimp's numbers have been a mystery all this week and I have been driving myself bonkers trying to get a handle on this.
continuing from yesterday's condo
It was explained shortly after this to me, that those reductions came too fast.
As far as I have read, both SLGS and TR call for immediate reductions when a certain number is met. There are no provisions for "if there was a reduction w/in last 48 hrs" that I have seen.
He's never had one. Vet said his mouth was in pristine shape last time he was in. I guess that's the ONE advantage of dry food.
continuing from yesterday's condo
I agree the reductions came too close together. I think that was made obvious by his numbers. I was still trying to follow SLGS at that point. I dropped .25u for every time he went under 90. 11/7 he hit 50's. -.25=2.0. 11/8- 50's again. -.5 because I wanted to make sure he stopped going that low. After a bounce we had decent preshots, but I was still scared of shooting low numbers. He hit 80's on the reduced dose 11/12. After a skip and another one-time reduction, under 80 again. So -.25. Nadir @ 80 on 11/15. SLGS would call for another -.25 but I was starting to understand how a larger depot can affect for a few days so I only dropped .15. That dose (1.1) got him to 50 so we took the rest of 11/15's reduction and the one he had just earned. Then on 11/21 he hit 50's again and was harder to bring back up, so I took .5 reduction.I look back at where you reduced from 1.25 to .15 within the space of ten days and think that was too much too fast
It was explained shortly after this to me, that those reductions came too fast.
As far as I have read, both SLGS and TR call for immediate reductions when a certain number is met. There are no provisions for "if there was a reduction w/in last 48 hrs" that I have seen.
I'm going to pick up some more wellness grain free today and see if it makes a difference. I just liked the wilderness because it's so high in protein. He had been eating both brands alternating days before his numbers got out of control this week.I do have to wonder if his latest losing it is something to do with that food you've been giving him. Even if it is LC is there a possibility that there's something in there he's allergic to? Is whatever meat is in it something he's had in other food types regularly before or is there something novel in there?
When was Pimp's last dental and did it include X-rays?
I was thinking going up in smaller increments may help him not to bounce so much and possibly hold a dose better.you're not going to kill him by going up in smaller amounts it's probably just going to cost you some time so no real harm in experimenting a little there.
No worries. If he sees 60's he will get a full .25 reduction.However, I definitely would not recommend both dropping Pimp's reduction level and reducing by a smaller amount that would be adding two extra aggressive factors at once which could be quite dangerous.
