12/11 Oli 538+7 240 PM 476 2+391 5+411+10 416

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Oliver has been high the last few days? any suggestions? Please see SS as I have not posted condo's in a day or 2. Been way busy
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538

Here's your last condo 12/7

I'm not sure how to advise you, kelly. those high numbers make it look like he might be bouncing, but there aren't enough tests to tell us if that's the case, or if he doesn't have enough insulin in him. Those are some ugly numbers there, so i can appreciate why you're wanting to increase. So many cats go lower at night than during the day, though, that I wonder what he's been doing the last 4 nights. You really need some night cycle tests, at least one, 2 would be even better, for us to have a better idea what's going on.
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538

I have to agree with Julie. On some of the PM cycles when you've been able to grab a test, Oliver demonstrated that he tends to like to go low at night. If you look at 12/2, when he did drop in the PM cycle, he had high numbers for a while afterward (i.e., he bounced). If you can get at least a before bed test every night, it would go a long way to helping us know if he is dropping and night and subsequently bouncing or if he needs a dose increase.
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538

By some chance is there something else going on with sweet Oliver? Maybe an infection of inflammation of some kind? These numbers are awfully high, I can see why you're concerned. IN MY OPINION ONLY, I can't really see a bounce, I just see ugly numbers. I'll bet he didn't eat well those times you saw those very few low numbers. If he were mine, I would raise dose per protocol until I started seeing lower numbers even if they're in the 200's.

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538

As someone with a cat who only goes low at night, I agree with Julie and Sienne. It is important to get an idea of what the night cycle is looking like before increasing the dose. If Oliver is going low at night and then bouncing during the day (my Neko's pattern), then an increase isn't what is needed. If you could get a last minute test before turning out the light at night, it would really help us figure out what is happening.

Sending huge hugs to you - those ugly numbers are really hard to see. :YMHUG: I hated the blacks when we were at that part of the FD journey. But for us at least, it meant she was finally getting into some good numbers, which was causing those bounces.
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240

I will for sure get some night numbers and be more on top of it.
I will not raise till I know more in the next couple days.
Then discuss with ya ll.
Thanks a lot guys.
Lil lower this afternoon so maybe something is going in the right direction.
Kelly
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240

I do not think there is anything else wrong actually he has been doing and acting very well.
He has had all the test needed for anything else to be the culprit. Recently had Flucosamine levels and it was moderate.
He is just a difficult case I think? We had a storm and I was low on test strips as well. Order online and the SH is backed up due to weather all over the map.
So went to get some when I could so this is why less BG draws.
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240

it's ok, kelly. we all understand running out of strips, waiting for the order or being busy. it happens to everybody. ond with the weather all across the nation being wonky right now, i'm not surprised your order is delayed. it's just hard to know what to suggest without more data - this protocol is very data-driven, so without the data we just end up scratching our heads, unsure what's going on.

YAY on that +7/240, though, because that does tell us that somewhere in here Oliver is getting lower. thanks for getting that test!
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240 PMPS 476 2+ 391

Higher on the PMPS again but going down again at 2+ will check in 2 hours when I go to bed.
Thanks all for your help, understanding and concern. Very much appreciated.
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240 PMPS 476 2+ 391

If only our cats were the only things in our lives, and we had unlimited money, we'd be able to treat them like they deserve! :-D

no worries. we'll be watching for you!
 
Re: 12/11 Oliver AMPS 538 +7 240 PMPS 476 2+ 391 +5 411

Going to bed will try to get another test this evening or early AM?

Thanks again
Kel :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top