12/11 Noodle AMPS 270 +4 273 +8 234 Dose question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone,
I'm looking for a little advice just to be prepared. A couple of nights ago Noodle was 194 at PMPS. I know that newbies are advised not to shoot without quite a bit of data and Noodle has only been on Lev. for 2 1/2 weeks. He was rising when I tested him shortly after the 194 and I knew I would be up to monitor him so I gave him his shot. I was nervous all night, afraid I did the wrong thing but he didn't drop much. My question is, on those "borderline" PMPS readings, say between 180-200, is it ok to shoot and/or should I reduce the nighttime dose till I have more Lev. readings on him? So far his numbers are fairly flat but I feel like we're kind of starting all over with the switch to Lev. so would appreciate advice. Thanks so much and hope all kitties and beans are doing well.

Christi
 
As flat as he is which is exactly what you want on Levemir, yes as long as he is rising on the those borderline readings I would go ahead and shoot. In fact I would shoot anything over a 120 at this point. That 200 no shoot is for a true newbie that isn't real secure on home testing yet and not confident that they can even get blood when they need to. You are an old pro at testing so no fears there, you know you can test and check in on him whenever you need to.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks so much, Mel. You really put my mind at ease and I appreciate your expertise.
I have been thinking of you constantly since your sad, sad loss and it is my prayer that you will somehow find peace as you struggle to process all that's happened. What a terrible shock for you. The fact that you are on here everyday helping all of us after suffering such a devastating blow speaks to what a strong and generous person you are. I wish I knew the right words to say to make a difference but I know that words don't take away the pain when you're hurting so much. Just know that you are thought of often, and wished peace and comfort.

Christi
 
Christi
that's great that Noodle is so flat and really i would love to have those numbers. Nice.
Come on Noodle- you are doing great !!!!!
 
Hi Christi,

Aside from the BG numbers is Noodle fully recovered now? I felt so sorry for you both that he had to go to hospital, but I was thrilled to read that he got through the crisis OK.

:YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Thanks, Nadine :smile: I hold my breath every time I test Noodle. He seems to be responding to the Levemir, at least it seems so. Makes me wish maybe I had tried it first :? How is sweet Tibbsy doing? Fingers crossed that you will reach his ideal dose soon. He has gotten a lot of blues in the past month; Noodle is the opposite--he seems stuck in the yellows, but that's better than the tutus he wore for months. Hope both our boys surf into the new year ;-) Give Tibbs and your whole gang a pat from me.


Christi
 
Hi Aine,
Thanks so much for asking after Noodle :smile: He seems to be fully recovered from his hospital experience. It was so scary how quickly he crashed. Makes me a nervous wreck, worrying about the ketones. If he doesn't have any more complications, he is scheduled for a dental next week. His teeth really need attention and I'm hoping once that is done, maybe it will impact his BGs in a positive way. Of course I always worry when anesthetic is involved so the bean will be a basket case till I know all is well.
How is your sweet girl now? I haven't had much time lately to keep up on the condos but I believe Saoirse is OTJ now? That must be a real thrill for you. I can only dream of such a thing :smile: Are you all settled in your new home? Moving is SUCH a stressful experience and such a relief to have behind you. Here's hoping you are Saoirse are all snuggled and cozy together. Give her a loving pat from me and a hug for yourself :YMHUG:

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top