12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 +4.5 100 Anti-bounce pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Last Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129703

I'm off to work shortly after an interrupted night. Our boy seems to be bouncing again after and evening in blue. The plan right now is to increase his dose on Friday night, but how will we deal with the bouncing? Ideas? Suggestions? Large quantities of coffee? Oh wait, the coffee is for today.

I'll try to check in at school, if I have a minute. Otherwise, I'll be back after I pick Tobey up at the airport. He's coming to visit the softest cat ever! :lol:
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 418 Bouncing RB

but how will we deal with the bouncing? Ideas? Suggestions.

First I tried patience pants (found some really sexy yellow ones) and that didn't work. Then I tried chocolate but all that did was make me gain weight so I couldn't fit into those sexy yellow patience pants. Now I just work out like a fiend and try to ignore it :lol: :lol:

News flash: Tobey missed the flight. He said it was too cold up there AND he wants to stay here with the softest cat furever and ever. I believe Ev said LBGs coat was so soft it was "to die for". Ask her. ;-)
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 418 Bouncing RB

Come on down Mikey - gently please. Bean is talking about more juice soon.

A couple of days ago I said:
Evening Mary - love your virtual conversation with Marje. :lol: BTW: she claims Gracie has the softest fur - so the two of you can duke that one out too. ;-)
So happy to see my work is done here. :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW: here are the patience pants that Marje used to lend around:

file.php
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 418 Bouncing RB

Wow, Wendy, Mikey listens to you! He came down from 266 at +9.5 to 211 at PMPS. We might get some decent numbers tonight. Now if we can avoid bouncing. I'm so not wearing those patience pants! Yellow is not my color. However, Marje might need them when Mikey heads out for that visit.

Speaking of visiting, Tobey and I decided to have Lupita fly out with him tomorrow. My house needs her! :lol:

Ev (breeder) did say that LBG's fur is to die for, but she wasn't comparing a shorthair like Gracie with a luscious soft longhair like Mikey!

On a more serious note, I'm a touch nervous about shooting a number that was going down, but it's still in yellow, so I didn't want to let it go. Stalling would've meant even less sleep, so I went for it. I hope I did the right thing! I think I'll get a +1 for my sake if not for his. I'll never survive when the Borg Queen comes around.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76

76 at 1.5. Giving some gravy. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey! You were supposed to get an increase tomorrow!

Do psych wards allow cats?
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51

you're doing the right thing, mary. Keep it up. I'll check in with you again in a few minutes.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54

you can just wait and see how he is in another 20-30 minutes. you don't want to send him soaring, just keep him over 50.

you could give 1 tsp of the 8% if you want to see if it helps him surf.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54

OK, I'm not giving him anything. Setting the timer, then grabbing a quick shower. What a stinker.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54 +3 89

89 at +3. Should I give him some 3%. When should I test again? Now I'm nervous about shooting and leaving tomorrow morning. He was supposed to get an increase tomorrow night!!!! Marje warned me about this! She may not know which cat is the softest, but she knows FD! :lol:
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54 +3 89

i wouldn't keep feeding him at this point.

I'd retest in another half hour still - i think you last gave him carbs at +2, is that right? if so, I'd want to see +3.5-4 either still rising or at least flat before stopping testing him.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54 +3 89

Yes, I gave 8% with honey at +2. I'm not feeding him at all now. I'll test again at +3.5. If any of this is wrong, just let me know.

Mike, I hope Webster and Mikey are not in contact tonight. :lol:
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +1 99 +1.5 76 +2 51 +2.5 54 +3 89

Dear Mikey,

These are rubber balls. Or at least balls. Do you see the difference between you and them? Balls are supposed to bounce. Cats are not. You are a cat. Do I make myself purrfectly clear? Cat. Ball. You are the cat. Okey dokey?

xxxooo,
Mommy
 

Attachments

  • RB Small.jpg
    RB Small.jpg
    20.1 KB · Views: 327
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +2.5 54 +3 89 +3.5 91 Anti-bounce p

I most certainly will, Julie. He seems to have some learning disabilities, though, so I'm not very hopeful. :-D
Meanwhile, he's 91 at +3.5. It seems like I should test again at +4. Hopefully, he'll be flat or rising, so I can sleep for a couple of hours. My alarm is getting a workout lately.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +2.5 54 +3 89 +3.5 91 Anti-bounce p

In the craziness of the night, I forgot to post the good news. Civvie DK is now off all dry food! He was on Hill's CD, as was Mikey. After noticing how many cats on this food end up with diabetes, I said no way! I was going to put him on CD canned, but it's no better carb-wise, so I put him on Friskies Special Diet, which is about 5%. It took him a little bit to get used to the texture, but he was much faster about it than Mikey. Don wasn't too thrilled about switching him, given his FLTD history, but when I informed him that if DK becomes diabetic from the food, he would be doing 100% of the testing and shooting, he relented. :lol:
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 Anti-bounce pic

+5 is 86. Is that considered flat? Should I feed him a bit of 3% to hold him? How long can I wait to test again. I was going to go to bed and set the alarm for +6, but now I'm not so sure.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 Anti-bounce pic

i think it's ok to feed him another tsp of food - i'm not sure which %. Try one and take notes on it so you can look back later and see if it helped or not for the next time.

would you mark your feeding schedule on his ss? some people put * in the cells where they feed the cat. that would be helpful as we're trying to figure out ideas to help mikey. I think timing, volume and % carbs would be helpful - maybe you could write those in the comments section and add the * into the cells.

This is all going to be trial and error to see what works for mikey. Just thinking out loud - hopefully others will add their ideas.

One option might be to feed him more carbs around his pmps. The idea would be to have more carbs on board so that he doesn't do these drops after pmps. So you could either feed a bit at am+11 or +11.5, more volume or carbs at pmps, or a bit of food at pm+0.5.

how does that sound to you? Whatever you try, i think i'd give it a few days to see how it works.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 Anti-bounce pic

OK, I will do that. I'm not so hot with spreadsheets, so I'll have to figure it out over the weekend. Meanwhile, in case you need to know tonight, he gets a total of 1 can of Friskies 8% per day. He gets a quarter of a can at PS and an eighth at +2 and +4, although at night the +4 is sometimes +3, if I'm actually going to go to bed. I'm going to try to get some sleep now. I'll be getting up to test, but I won't post until morning, unless he drops again. In the morning, I'll check on here before shooting. I won't be home at all during the day tomorrow, so let me know if I should change anything to keep him safe. I'm figuring that he'll bounce, so it will be ok to shoot. Good grief! He was supposed to go up on insulin, and now he's one point from a reduction and I'm afraid to shoot? Geez, Mikey! Brat!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 +4.5 100 Anti-bounce

he is making it challenging, isn't he!

I'd be tempted to tinker with that +2 1/8 can. I'd say the +4 meal, except then he'd have to go a really long time without eating til the next preshot, so maybe I'd tinker with the +2 one first.

I think I'd try putting it at am +11.5. Give that a few days and see if frontloading the carbs in that particular pattern makes a difference.

If it doesn't, then maybe try moving the 1/4 can to am+11.5 and giving 1/8 can at pmps and 1/8 can at +4 for a few days and see if that makes a difference.

If it turns out that adding food before the pmps only makes him higher at pmps, then we need a different strategy. We don't want him higher.

Jill wrote a post a while ago about feeding the curve. You might find something useful in it.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 +4.5 100 Anti-bounce

Wow, I go away for a couple hours and look what Mikey did! :shock: Mikey - you were supposed to come down gently. I like Julie's idea of the +11.5. It'll give you a good idea whether he's bouncing and will be safe tomorrow.

Julie - FLUTD (feline lower urinary tract disease) is one of many possible things. My civie also has FLUTD, or idiopathic cystitis. He too was on C/D, but now just eats the same as Neko (low carb, low phosphorus raw food or wet) with lots of water added. We can't get the Friskies special diet formulas in Canada. Mary, congrats on getting DK onto the good stuff. :-D It's so much easier when all cats eat the same food.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 211 +3.5 91 +4 86 +4.5 100 Anti-bounce

Mary

It's hard for us to tell you whether you should shoot or not in the morning. We "think" he goes lower at night and bounces during the day but with your schedule, it's hard for us to tell exactly if he comes down during the day and then zooms back up. I rather doubt it.

What we are thinking is to try and keep the dose as consistent as possible and feed a higher low carb food. There isn't much difference between an 8 and 10% but it's more the food and what's in it. The Trader Joe's turkey is a 10% food and pretty helpful for controlling numbers. .....ECID.

Following along Julie's thinking, if you really front load the cycle with a ahigher low carb food, be consistent, feed it per Jill's discussion on Tashie's condo, adjusting to know that you might have to feed a large helping at PS and +0.5, maybe we can figure this out and flatten the numbers.

If he bouces way up tomorrow morning, if you want to shoot, you could put him in a room with his feeder and leave him some high LC food available for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top