12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 +2 133 +4 86 +6 148-Good, right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
Note to Mikey: This is it. We really can't lower your dose any more. Tell your pancreas to cooperate and not drop you off the table, please. It will be easier on it in the long run. Really.

Let's see how this reduction goes. I also top-dressed breakfast with a little gravy food, we'll see what that does. Paws crossed for a decent curve today.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189

+1: 219. I'm pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot...but isn't a small rise at +1 normal on a correct Lantus curve? We'll see where we are at +2. Hopefully adjusting the food will improve the curve. I guess we'll see!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +1 219

Yes, +1 is usually a bit higher than the preshot. Here's hoping for a gentle cycle for Mikey today.

Steady as she goes, Miss Pancreas. No need for dramatics!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +1 219 +2 144 +4 98 Now we're talki

looking pretty good there - a nice "normal" curve! whatever normal is . . . the +1 usually reflects a food spike, and especially since you gave gravy with the shot i would certainly expect a spike. i think now you're seeing the extra carbs wearing off. did you give a little more food in the first few hours after the shot?

let's hope mikey lets you give him that tiny bit of insulin for a few days. hopefully mr pancreas is just about ready to go back to full-time work!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +1 219 +2 144 +4 98 Now we're talki

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: YES! Beautiful cycle for Mikey!

Sorry I missed yesterday, I just sort of collapsed last night. Here's your condo link from yesterday. Really interesting on the meter info. I'm glad that all got figured out. I wonder if the Alpha Track compensated for the anti-coagulant and that is why it is so much more expensive.

You asked about higher calorie foods to get a little weight back on Mikey. The higher quality foods are also usually higher calorie, less fillers, FF about 32kcal/oz., Wellness about 40. The way around it is to buy larger cans. A lot of the cost is in the packaging for the small cans. I usually pay $2.19 for the big 12.5oz. cans. That breaks down to 53¢ for 3oz. Pretty equivalent to FF. Depending on how much he eats a large can may last 2 days or more. Wellness is the only high quality food I can find here in the large cans, but I'm in a rural area without much choice. Buying online helps there, I've found the best prices at MrChewey.com. Be careful , their "extra 15% off" promo is if you sign up for auto ship.

One other thing to consider on foods. Calories only come from protein, fat and carbohydrates. We need to keep carbs low so any increase in the amount of protein or fat. Protein is more expensive and fat has twice the calories of protein or carbs. Guess what often gets increased?!!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +1 219 +2 144 +4 98 Now we're talki

+6 123. Not quite as low as I'd hoped he would stay, but perhaps tonight I'll give just a LITTLE less of the HC topper and see how it goes. At this point, I'd rather have this type of curve than what we were getting before. I like all those greens, but not the ones in the 40's at +2! I think the numbers are good enough that it's safe to hold this dose for a few days, no?

He had 1/2 can of FF + a large spoon of gravy at PS, the other half of the can at +1, and a tablespoon or so of 9 Lives LC variety at +2.

Thanks for the top on the Wellness. I will see if anyone carries it in the large cans.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +2 144 +4 98 +6 123 Now we're talki

+9 200 Again, not quite the curve I was hoping for in terms of numbers, but it looked more like a normal curve! It would be nice to get the greens we were getting without the sub-50's, but baby steps, right? We will give the .1 dose a few days and see what we get. I know we can't go by the first cycle, but I'm encouraged so far!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +2 144 +4 98 +6 123 +9 200..Normal-

Mikey is looking good today! Nice numbers but high enough that you don't need to worry. Great job!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +2 144 +4 98 +6 123 +9 200..Normal-

+11 174. I'll see what that does in the next hour. Given Mikey's sensitivity, I'm a bit scared to shoot under 180 yet (working down from 200!), but I also know he needs to have some regular cycles to let the juice do its stuff. I just don't want a bad cycle after a decent one today! I can't really reduce his dose any more than .1, so...what to do, what to do?
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +6 123 +9 200 +11 174-Shoot or no?

If you consider that there's 20% variance in the number, I think you're fine to shoot. However, I'd see what your PMPS is and then decide.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey AMPS 189 +6 123 +9 200 +11 174-Shoot or no?

PMPS at 171...Eek, what do I do now? That's steady from +11, but scary. 20% variance could also go the other way. I have just a few minutes to decide...
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 Knowing, Mikey,Shoot or no?HELP, p

I would go ahead and shoot. Mikey did great today. Get a +1 so you know where #s are heading and you can always steer the cycle with HC.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 Knowing, Mikey,Shoot or no?HELP, p

True. I'll add a blop if HC to his PS meal, which helped this morning. Please keep all paws and fingers crossed for another nice gentle curve!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 Paws and fingers crossed!

Good job today Mikey and Amy! I'm glad the feeding times and amounts seem to be working. Our paws and fingers are crossed for a good evening cycle, too!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 +1 180 +2 133 Paws and fingers cros

+2 133. Still on the table! I'll grab another at +4.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 +1 180 +2 133 Paws and fingers cros

I split his dinner into three feedings...which seems to help.
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 +1 180 +2 133 Paws and fingers cros

+4 86 So far it's looking a lot like this morning's curve. It's funny, because after the last few nights, I should be relaxed...I'm trying to not be a nervous wreck testing every half hour! 86 is a good number! And from every curve so far, he should start going up. He's relaxed, I'm a wreck!
 
Re: 12/11 Mikey PMPS 171 +2 133 +4 86-Good, right?

+6 148. Again, was hoping for green, but this isn't bad, and we can get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top