12/11 Mango amps 294 @+10.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesliejm

Member Since 2017
I don't like not giving a pm injection. Maybe I should give 1 unit and see where that gets him in the morning?
 
I will only be able to check him at +1 and +4 this morning. I will come home from work to check but then wont be home again until +10
 
Lantus works best on consistency, so it is best to not skip a shot, as you are seeing. Have you decided on a protocol to follow yet? See the stickies on SLGS or TR for descriptions of the two protocols. Depending on which protocol you follow you might take different actions.
 
Changing the dose that frequently: 3 units, 2 units, 1 unit in the span of 3 days is just going to mess with the depot and drive you nuts trying to figure out what a particular dose is doing. Like Alicia said, this type of insulin needs consistency, best to find a dose you can shoot the same, both am & pm, and you can hold it for several cycles and see where to go from there. I know it seems like a lot of pressure to pick SLGS or TR, but what you do, especially where you're at right now, is quite different depending on which of those you choose. You can always switch later if you want to, but the guidance here comes from the guidelines of following TR or SLGS and the experience of others who follow them.

Since we know 3 units is too much and you shot 2 units this morning and seem to be able to get some good tests in between cycles, it might be a good idea to stick with the 2 units for now. See what other more experienced members have to say about that.
 
If you could put some info in your signature, that would be very helpful to others to help you. Put info like:

What brand of meter you are using, what food you feed Mango, any other health challenges Mango may have, any other medications Mango might be on, and a rough location of where you are so people know which time zone you are in.

I know you're freaking out a little bit because of the low numbers and not knowing where to start. Try a different perspective, Mango seems very responsive to insulin right off the bat (while maddening when trying to dose or wondering if you should skip a shot or not, this is a very good thing)! Have you had any major diet change since diagnosis? For example, switched from an all kibble diet to a low carb wet food diet? Sometimes that is all a kitty needs and can be a diet controlled diabetic. Sometimes, a little bit of insulin will help get a cat in remission, quickly. Check out Paw's spreadsheet and you'll see an example of this:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...xpxg6pzZcBXiR346Q0gNhaXQnRkjLDU1P6JHe/pubhtml

I'm going to tag some very experienced people to check out your situation and help you figure out a dose you can try to shoot consistently, but they are going to ask you all of the questions I've mentioned to put in your signature, so if you can do that, or at the very least post it in a response here, that will help them help you much quicker (hopefully before shot time). ;)

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Chris & China
 
Well, I'm not Wendy, Marje, or Chris, but I'm a pretty experienced Lantus person.

Let's be a little more systematic here. The initial dose of Lantus (if following Tight Regulation) is based on weight: initial dose = ideal weight in kilograms x 0.25. If your cat is pretty average weight, this is typically in the neighborhood of 1.0u. With the Start Low Go Slow approach, the starting dose is 0.25u.

Given that 3u was way too much, lowering the dose to 1.0u for now seems prudent. You've just started using Lantus and it takes approximately 5 - 7 days for the depot to become established. You want to be consistent with your dosing in order for the depot to form since every time you change a dose, it has an effect on the depot. The one thing that using Lantus will teach you is patience. It doesn't "yank" down high numbers. It's a gentle insulin due to it's length of action.

Since it looks like Mango's numbers are dropping, could you get a test at +11.5 and post? You may need to stall a bit (if possible given your schedule) if numbers continue to drop.

Probably, it's even more important to indicate in your signature when Mango was diagnosed and when you started Lantus. I always had a section on Gabby's SS that had information about food, medications, etc.
 
Just talked with vet and he will get 1u for a few days. Giving it tonight. His numbers are going up.
 
If you could put some info in your signature, that would be very helpful to others to help you. Put info like:

What brand of meter you are using, what food you feed Mango, any other health challenges Mango may have, any other medications Mango might be on, and a rough location of where you are so people know which time zone you are in.

I know you're freaking out a little bit because of the low numbers and not knowing where to start. Try a different perspective, Mango seems very responsive to insulin right off the bat (while maddening when trying to dose or wondering if you should skip a shot or not, this is a very good thing)! Have you had any major diet change since diagnosis? For example, switched from an all kibble diet to a low carb wet food diet? Sometimes that is all a kitty needs and can be a diet controlled diabetic. Sometimes, a little bit of insulin will help get a cat in remission, quickly. Check out Paw's spreadsheet and you'll see an example of this:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...xpxg6pzZcBXiR346Q0gNhaXQnRkjLDU1P6JHe/pubhtml

I'm going to tag some very experienced people to check out your situation and help you figure out a dose you can try to shoot consistently, but they are going to ask you all of the questions I've mentioned to put in your signature, so if you can do that, or at the very least post it in a response here, that will help them help you much quicker (hopefully before shot time). ;)

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Chris & China
THX!!
 
Great job! Seeing that the numbers are rising makes it safer to shoot. You were at the end of the cycle with the insulin beginning to wear off. You also have approximately 2 hrs before onset of the PM shot. And, you're feeding. All of that contributes to giving a shot. That said, if it were me, I'd get at least a +2 to make sure you have a handle on what's going on with Mango's numbers early in the cycle.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top