What do u think of his readings so far? Looks flat. No nadir. Is this how lantus works?Good morning.
He’s pretty flat. That’s only 1 cycle. He’s dropped down a bit with most other cycles. PMPS yesterday you had to stall before shooting.What do u think of his readings so far? Looks flat. No nadir. Is this how lantus works?
Is flat good? We did have some gentle curves last few cycles. At least I could see a nadir of 120-140. But I read that if nadir is at that level, then no increase of dose. I would think if we increase a bit, he could drop to green ?He’s pretty flat. That’s only 1 cycle. He’s dropped down a bit with most other cycles. PMPS yesterday you had to stall before shooting.
once they are regulated in green numbers the cycles can be flat.
Can I switch back n forth between SLGS and TR? I look at the numbers and it’s going upwards. I’m sure if I increase to 0.5u I may get some greens? I’m afraid to be too aggressive in case I have to be away and can’t test him. I do have 2 other senior cats who are not 100% well. But if I let his bg climbs higher, chances of getting neuropathy will increase and I will see more pronounced diabetic symptoms. This is my worry.As you are doing the SLGS method that is correct. If you changed to TR you could increase.
You are just used to caninsulin. Once you get used to Lantus you will find it much better and longer lasting.
Thanks. I’m thinking more of how high bg will affect jebat. When he first had it, he became moody and hid all the time. Couldn’t control his pee and we had to put diaper on him. It affected him really bad. Became skinny with weak hind legs. I really need to control his bg at current level at least.I think you need to wait for the 7 days before you do anything anyway.You can’t switch back and forth but you can switch over to TR but I would not be in a great hurry.
I will talk to a couple of experienced people and see what they think of swapping.
Thanks @carfurby and Bron! I can be patient and go slow. But u know how every cat is different. When jebat feels lousy, he will hide all the time and seems to give up on life. He became a different cat. Very different from the other 2.He’s only been back on insulin 5 days so I think you need to be patient and wait and see how he goes a bit longer. His numbers are not horribly high. But I do understand you concerns.
Hi!While it is your decision whether to do SLGS or TR, just keep in mind that getting them into remission a second time usually takes being a bit more aggressive. By that, I don’t mean shooting numbers below 50 on a human meter but I mean not holding doses so long.
Often when cats are coming back from remission, even cats on TR, we don’t hold the dose as long as when they are newly diagnosed. That is because the assumption is the caregiver has been down this path already and knows how to deal with lower numbers.
If you want to get him back into remission, his best chance is through TR. If you want to stick with SLGS, that’s fine but remember that the guidelines are just that and are there for members with newly diagnosed cats. Once you’ve danced this dance, you have a bit more leeway if you want to get him back into remission.
An example would be to hold the dose for seven days and do a curve but instead of increasing the dose if nadirs are above 150, you might consider increasing the dose if nadirs are above 100 or 120, for instance. Does that make sense?
Bron is correct that you don’t want to mix approaches.
Finally, his SS is a bit of a mess and an old version. If you PM me and grant editing rights, I can get it all set up for you and add tabs for 2020.
Hi Marje,While it is your decision whether to do SLGS or TR, just keep in mind that getting them into remission a second time usually takes being a bit more aggressive. By that, I don’t mean shooting numbers below 50 on a human meter but I mean not holding doses so long.
Often when cats are coming back from remission, even cats on TR, we don’t hold the dose as long as when they are newly diagnosed. That is because the assumption is the caregiver has been down this path already and knows how to deal with lower numbers.
If you want to get him back into remission, his best chance is through TR. If you want to stick with SLGS, that’s fine but remember that the guidelines are just that and are there for members with newly diagnosed cats. Once you’ve danced this dance, you have a bit more leeway if you want to get him back into remission.
An example would be to hold the dose for seven days and do a curve but instead of increasing the dose if nadirs are above 150, you might consider increasing the dose if nadirs are above 100 or 120, for instance. Does that make sense?
Bron is correct that you don’t want to mix approaches.
Finally, his SS is a bit of a mess and an old version. If you PM me and grant editing rights, I can get it all set up for you and add tabs for 2020.
Looks like I have to change to TR. A jump in bg and he had peed on the mat and jumping into the sink. This boy is very sensitive.Patience is a virtue with Lantus - I'd wait the full 7 days before increasing myself. Those numbers aren't really that bad. It's those blacks/reds that scare me.
Hope you can settle on a protocol and go with it.
At the risk of being stoned because I’m about to advise you to be a bit more aggressive than SLGS usually is and because you started so low and he’s not done much, I would go ahead and increase to 0.5u but after that, if you stick with SLGS, hold for a week and run a curve.Hi Marje,
As I have expected, his amps went up. I really would want to increase his dose to 0.5u at pmps. I know I’m short of 1 day before the 7 days but I did start at 0.25u instead of the recommended 0.5u. Seeing his bg creeping up is really worrying me and I would want to control it.
Thanks so much Marje for your voice of reason. I’ve already been flacked for being impatient but honestly I just want to do what’s best for my boy. And it’s obvious 0.25u is not working out for him. And I don’t see why I need to run a full curve on this before I increase. The past few days of data already is conclusive. I’ll give him 0.5u at pmps and take readings every 2 hours.At the risk of being stoned because I’m about to advise you to be a bit more aggressive than SLGS usually is and because you started so low and he’s not done much, I would go ahead and increase to 0.5u but after that, if you stick with SLGS, hold for a week and run a curve.
Good luck with the increase. Really, you’ve been getting enough data to make a decision.....more than most doing SLGS and even some doing TR.Thanks so much Marje for your voice of reason. I’ve already been flacked for being impatient but honestly I just want to do what’s best for my boy. And it’s obvious 0.25u is not working out for him. And I don’t see why I need to run a full curve on this before I increase. The past few days of data already is conclusive. I’ll give him 0.5u at pmps and take readings every 2 hours.
I was very aggressive the first time on vetsulin with guidance from @JanetNJ and @Yong and I’m not sure I can handle the level of stress now. That’s why I thought SLGS will give me some breathing space. Thanks again and I’ll post readings promptly. Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA) for your help too. Let’s see how he does at a higher dose. Thanks to everyone who cares to read my post and give your advice. This is a tough road to travel and I know I need all the moral support I can get. Now I need to get a feeding tube for the other boy with pancreatitis.