12/11 Henry AMPS 89 +3.5 72 +5.5 78 PMPS 99 +3.5 83

Golf2015

Member Since 2020
I'm going to set up an appointment for professional dental cleaning for Henry. He's has never had a cleaning and being a diabetic I thought this should be part of his routine. I will post his BG results after his cleaning for several cycles to see if the cleaning has some influence on his sugar.

The Vet is going to show us how to brush his teeth.

Previous Thread
 
Hope the cleaning shows some results, Robert. It's amazing how much inflammation in a cat's mouth can lead to higher BGs.
Katherine, What should expect in terms of the day of cleaning? (Not eating before the cleaning will this set up a hypo situation? these sort of questions, Henry will be drowsy for several hours maybe not eating then the PM preshot comes into play, in otherwords how should I prepare for the day

Thanks
 
That's about Henry age.
Oh, his signature says "9 YO"!

Budge (my civvie) recovered much faster from the anethaesia. Was ready to eat almost as soon as we got home. She was wobbly and disoriented for the rest of the day.

I skipped Bandit's shot in the morning since I was told she needed to be fasted for at least 10 hours before the dental. I think some vets in the US ask you to give half the AM dose and some breakfast. She took longer to recover - she usually does - it took her almost 2 weeks to recover her appetite. I think her gums were sore from the cleaning and the vet didn't give me anthing for pain since there were no extractions.
 
photo.JPG


This photo was taken on 02/13/2014

We adopted Henry at the local Humane Society in November 2013 and he was 15 months old at that time
 

Attachments

  • photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    101.8 KB · Views: 69
Back
Top