12/11 - Gen, AMPS >400, +3 392, +5 359, +7 >400 Libre

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Last post (Tuesday)

Gen was fine yesterday, but I had a really rough day (work mostly, and dealing with some building manager/apartment repair work shenanigans), and I didn't have the capacity (or attention to spare) for posting. I guess I worried a couple of people; my apologies!

There was one other thing that may have contributed, which is (god I'm so mortified, but there's no sense dissembling) that I was reading my syringes wrong again. The new ones, with the half-measures. This wasn't nearly as dramatic as the mistake I made a few weeks ago, nothing to harm Gen, but it means I've been misreporting and it also means his dosing had some inconsistencies I wasn't aware of. I've adjusted my spreadsheet to show what I'm pretty sure he's actually been getting ... I know for sure that since the decrease, it's been 1u. The normal starting dose for SLGS. I think it's okay.

(Also ... the way my syringe markings are printed, the first half-unit mark is often almost overlapping with that "zero" line. So while I feel stupid, I could feel more stupid? They're UltiCare; I might try a different brand next time, and you had better believe I'll be even more cautious about drawing doses in the meantime.)

Ugh. Anyway! So we're into the 10th cycle of the current dose. I am not thrilled with his numbers overall, though I have started keeping a separate record of his nadirs (it has its own tab in the ss if you'd like a look), and they seem to be slowly shifting from pinks to yellows. I still think we're going to wind up needing an increase in a couple of days, but I guess we'll see.

I'm juggling so many things right now; it's been not quite a month since Gen's re-diagnosis, and the overwhelm is real. Much as I'm a bit nervous about taking him on a holiday visit soon, I am looking forward to the break from at least some of what I'm dealing with so much. (I might even be able to get a little help with him from my brother & SIL! What a luxury that will be.)

I hope all of you, and your kitties, had a pleasant Wednesday and are on track for an even better (and safe-surfing) Thursday! Thank you for all the support and kindness while I've been muddling along.
 
pxl_20251209_235522050-jpg.75684
PXL_20251209_235526537.jpg
PXL_20251209_235523390.jpg
 

Attachments

  • PXL_20251209_235522050.jpg
    PXL_20251209_235522050.jpg
    977.7 KB · Views: 54
I think I would do the same thing. He's really not liking the yellow at all much 😕
I hope he comes down, slowly, and evenly for you this weekend when you have a chance to be with him.
 
The second time around can be harder to get regulated, but this time you aren't new so know what to do. And look at Nestle today - second remissions are possible. Just try to get him regulated as quickly as you safely can, that increases the odds. I agree that increase looks like it's needed. Hoping that if I mention an increase, he's respond.
 
Back
Top